Google 致力于为黑人社区推动种族平等。查看具体举措

开发适用于所有屏幕的游戏

开发 Android 版游戏时,务必要预测各种可能的玩家体验,并一直适应玩家的实时互动需求。通过支持不同的玩家体验,您可以提高游戏的灵活性,从而帮助您扩大游戏的用户群。

玩家体验的具体区别包括以下几点:

  • 设备类型:虽然手机提供了传统的 Android 设备体验,但可以在其他类型的设备上与游戏互动。Chrome 操作系统设备可以运行一个显示游戏的 Android 容器。可以运行 Android 系统的平板电脑支持几个不同级别的保真度。Android TV 设备支持细节更丰富且沉浸感更强的体验。玩家可以使用显示扩展工具来模拟多窗口环境。此外,在使用可折叠设备时,玩家可以在游戏过程中改变屏幕的尺寸。
  • 互动方法:玩家可以通过轻触设备的屏幕进行输入,还可以使用鼠标、触控板、键盘或控制器进行输入。此外,通过使用显示扩展工具和可折叠设备,玩家能够在更大的屏幕上体验游戏,从而实现更长的游戏会话和更复杂的界面。
  • 硬件支持:某些 Android 设备不具备手持设备中比较典型的硬件,如后置摄像头、GPS 和网络连接。游戏应适应可用的硬件并妥善处理某些功能不可用的情况。

本指南介绍了针对不同类型的屏幕和用户互动开发游戏的最佳做法。本指南还提供了有关设计游戏和制定有效测试策略的建议。

游戏设计最佳做法

在规划游戏的设计和架构时,请遵循下面几部分中所述的最佳做法。

手动响应配置更改

当 Android 系统检测到配置更改(如屏幕尺寸、屏幕方向或输入法的更改)时,默认情况下,系统会重新开始当前的 Activity。为了保留应用或游戏中的状态,默认情况下,该 Activity 会在重新开始之前调用 onSaveInstanceState(),在重新开始之后调用 onRestoreInstanceState()。不过,此过程要求该 Activity 重新加载所有关联的服务和资源。如需详细了解这种默认行为,请参阅有关处理配置更改的指南

典型的游戏会话会经历几项配置更改。如果游戏让系统处理每项配置更改,那么游戏的场景就会被破坏并一遍又一遍地重新开始,降低了游戏的性能。因此,我们强烈建议您在游戏中自行处理这些配置更改。

如需了解如何将此配置更改逻辑添加到游戏中,请参阅有关如何创建自定义配置更改处理程序的部分

创建灵活的架构

如需在尽可能多的设备上添加对您游戏的支持,请遵循以下最佳做法:

  • 部署 Android App Bundle 而不是单独的 APK。Android App Bundle 使您能够将不同分辨率和不同架构模型(如 x86 和 ARM)的工件打包到单个工件中。更好的是,Android App Bundle 支持更高的游戏大小上限;每个基本 APK 的大小可以高达 150 MB,而软件包本身的大小可以为数 GB。
  • 添加对 x86 架构的支持。这种做法可提高游戏在不支持 ARM 的设备上的性能,因为此类设备现在可以执行指令,而不必先转换它们。

添加对 Vulkan 的支持

通过支持 Vulkan,游戏可以实现更高的图形性能。大多数设备都支持此图形 API。

创建自定义配置更改处理程序

如需声明游戏自行处理的配置更改类型,请向清单中表示屏幕或复杂界面的每个 <activity> 元素添加 android:configChanges 属性。

以下代码段演示了如何声明您的游戏会处理屏幕尺寸、屏幕方向和输入法更改:

<activity ...
    android:configChanges="screenSize|orientation|keyboard|keyboardHidden">
</activity>

当发生声明的配置更改时,系统现在会调用另一种方法,即 onConfigurationChanged()。请在此方法中添加用于更新游戏界面的逻辑:

处理屏幕配置更改

只要您在 android:configChanges 属性中分别添加 screenSizeorientation 值,您的游戏就会自行处理屏幕尺寸和屏幕方向更改。您可以使用这些新值更新场景的内容和玩家输入区域。如需了解如何设计游戏的布局以使其更容易更新,请参阅有关支持不同屏幕尺寸的指南

在游戏的 onConfigurationChanged() 实现中,分别使用传入的 Configuration 对象和窗口管理器的 Display 对象确定更新后的屏幕尺寸和屏幕方向值。

以下代码段展示了如何获取游戏更新后的屏幕尺寸和方向:

Kotlin

override fun onConfigurationChanged(newConfig: Configuration) {
    super.onConfigurationChanged(newConfig)
    val density: Float = resources.displayMetrics.density
    val newScreenWidthPixels = (newConfig.screenWidthDp * density).toInt()
    val newScreenHeightPixels = (newConfig.screenHeightDp * density).toInt()

    // Get general orientation; either Configuration.ORIENTATION_PORTRAIT or
    // Configuration.ORIENTATION_LANDSCAPE.
    val newScreenOrientation: Int = newConfig.orientation

    // Get general rotation; one of: ROTATION_0, ROTATION_90, ROTATION_180,
    // or ROTATION_270.
    val newScreenRotation: Int = windowManager.defaultDisplay.rotation
}

Java

@Override
public void onConfigurationChanged(Configuration newConfig) {
    super.onConfigurationChanged(newConfig);
    float density = getResources().getDisplayMetrics().density;
    int newScreenWidthPixels = (int) (newConfig.screenWidthDp * density);
    int newScreenHeightPixels = (int) (newConfig.screenHeightDp * density);

    // Get general orientation; either Configuration.ORIENTATION_PORTRAIT or
    // Configuration.ORIENTATION_LANDSCAPE.
    int newScreenOrientation = newConfig.orientation;

    // Get general rotation; one of: ROTATION_0, ROTATION_90, ROTATION_180,
    // or ROTATION_270.
    int newScreenRotation = getWindowManager().getDefaultDisplay()
            .getRotation();
}

特定于游戏的屏幕质量

下面几部分介绍了如何根据游戏的质量来调整游戏对屏幕尺寸或屏幕方向变化的响应:

全屏模式

在某些平台(如 Chrome 操作系统)上,默认情况下,Android 应用和游戏可以窗口化并调整大小。如果您的游戏应始终在全屏模式下运行,您可以在某个 <activity> 元素中将 android:resizeableActivity 属性设为 false,如以下代码段所示:

<activity ...
    android:resizeableActivity="false">
</activity>

您还可以将 android:resizeableActivity 属性设为 false,以防止发生基于大小的配置更改。不过,除非您的游戏始终在全屏模式下运行,否则您应仅出于测试目的添加此属性作为临时修正措施。

屏幕方向

如果游戏需要设备的传感器朝向特定的方向,请在游戏的 Activity 中指定 android:screenOrientation 的值,如以下代码段所示。此设置有助于防止游戏中的场景意外上下颠倒。

<activity ...
    android:screenOrientation="landscape">
</activity>

特定于设备的屏幕质量

下面几部分介绍了在某些设备具有特定质量的情况下如何处理基于屏幕的配置更改。

宽高比

某些设备支持不同的宽高比。例如,可折叠设备在处于折叠状态时支持 21:9 的宽高比。要处理这种潜在的宽高比变化,请至少执行以下一项操作:

  • 以 Android 8.0(API 级别 26)或更高版本为目标平台。
  • 使游戏的场景和界面可调整大小。在搭载 Android 7.0(API 级别 24)及更高版本的设备上,将 android:resizeableActivity 设为 true
  • 声明支持的最大宽高比。在与游戏关联的 <meta-data> 属性中,将 android.max_aspect 设为 2.4,如以下代码段所示。不过请注意,如果宽高比大于您指定的值,会导致游戏在显示屏中出现黑边

    <application>
    <meta-data android:name="android.max_aspect"
               android:value="2.4" />
    </application>
    

多个 Activity 同时可见

许多现代设备都支持多种屏幕布局,包括分屏、画中画和大显示区域。使用其中某种布局时,系统可使多个 Activity 同时可见。

在搭载 Android 9(API 级别 28)或更高版本的设备上,有可能同时恢复所有顶层的可见 Activity。不过,为使此行为正常发挥作用,游戏和设备 OEM 都需要选择使用相应的功能。您可以通过在游戏的清单中将 android.allow_multiple_resumed_activities 设为 true,在游戏中添加支持,如以下代码段所示:

<application>
    <meta-data android:name="android.allow_multiple_resumed_activities"
               android:value="true" />
</application>

然后,您可以在不同的设备上测试游戏,看看哪种设备提供了多项恢复功能正常运行所需的 OEM 支持。

如需详细了解如何配置游戏以使其显示为多窗口显示屏的一部分,请参阅有关如何添加多窗口支持的指南

处理不同类型的互动模式

只要您在 android:configChanges 属性中分别添加 keyboardkeyboardHidden 值,您的游戏就会自行处理键盘的出现情况和可用性。您可以使用这些新值更新游戏的主要输入法。

在配置游戏以支持多种类型的用户输入时,请注意以下几点:

  • 检测输入法而不是各个设备。这种思维模式使您能够更轻松地改善玩家体验,而不必过多地关注玩家可能使用的特定设备。
  • 在自行处理的配置更改列表中添加 keyboardHidden 属性。这样一来,游戏就可以跟踪键盘何时实际连接到了设备但无法使用。
  • 确定当前可用的输入法。为此,请在游戏启动时以及每次更改配置后调用 getInputDeviceIds()

    您通常可以根据玩家喜欢的输入设备确定他们打算如何与游戏进行互动:

    • 玩家通常使用键盘或游戏控制器执行快速的按钮操作。
    • 玩家通常使用触摸屏或触控板执行比较复杂的手势。
    • 玩家通常使用鼠标执行精度较高的输入。

下面几部分介绍了特定类型输入设备的最佳做法。

键盘

为游戏创建键盘布局时,应考虑玩家如何在给定场景中导航,以及他们如何与游戏的设置进行互动。

WASD 键或箭头键通常最适合控制角色运动。此外,最好为可控制的角色可以在游戏中执行的每个重要动作或技能分配一个特定的键。为了最大限度地提升玩家体验,不妨考虑在游戏中支持自定义快捷键组合键。

玩家还应该能够打开游戏菜单,并使用键盘进行浏览。Esc 键是暂停场景并显示游戏菜单的常见快捷键。

如需详细了解如何在游戏中支持键盘输入,请参阅有关如何支持键盘导航的指南以及有关如何处理键盘操作的指南

游戏控制器

连接到 Android 设备时,游戏控制器可充当具有专用布局的键盘。您可以使用 InputDeviceKeyEventMotionEvent API 传递设备事件和名称、查看按键映射,以及控制触感反馈。

如需详细了解如何在游戏中处理控制器输入,请参阅有关如何支持游戏控制器的指南

鼠标或触控板

如果您的游戏支持玩家通过鼠标或触控板输入,请注意,玩家与设备进行互动的方式不同于玩游戏。务必了解,通过请求指针捕获,所有鼠标输入都会定向到您的游戏。因此,在游戏获得所需的信息后,应释放指针捕获,以便玩家重新获得对设备的标准鼠标控制。

在搭载 Android 8.0(API 级别 26)及更高版本的设备上,您可以使用 Mouse Capture API 协助完成指针捕获过程。在对高精度输入做出反应的游戏中,您可以通过调用 getX()getY() 方法获取指针的当前坐标。

如需详细了解如何在游戏中添加对鼠标输入和触控板输入的支持,请参阅有关如何跟踪轻触和指针移动的指南以及有关如何处理多点触控手势的指南

测试游戏

在发布游戏之前,请完成下面几部分中所述的步骤,测试您的游戏如何响应配置更改。

更新测试计划

验证游戏的功能时,请包括以下测试用例:

  • 最小化和最大化游戏所在的窗口。(如果游戏始终在全屏模式下,则不适用。)
  • 更改屏幕尺寸。
  • 更改屏幕方向。(如果游戏的方向固定,则不适用。)
  • 连接和断开输入设备,如键盘和鼠标。
  • 执行多项恢复操作(如果游戏支持此功能)。

此外,不妨考虑更新游戏的质量控制系统,以便针对更广泛的玩家体验进行优化。

如需了解与测试游戏有关的最佳做法,请参阅《测试基础知识》指南

使用测试和调试工具

您可以使用平台支持的各种工具执行测试:

The Android Developer Challenge is back! Submit your idea before December 2.

Develop games for all screens

When developing a game for Android, it's important to anticipate the variety of possible player experiences and remain adaptive to a player's real-time interaction needs. By supporting different player experiences, you increase gameplay flexibility, helping you expand your game's reach.

Specific differences in player experience include the following:

  • Device form factors: Although phones provide the traditional Android device experience, it's possible to interact with games on other form factors. Chrome OS devices can run an Android container that displays your game. Tablets that can run Android support several different levels of fidelity. Android TV devices support more detail-rich and more immersive experiences. Players can simulate a multi-window environment by using a display extension tool. And when using foldables, players can change the size of the screen during a gameplay session.
  • Interaction methods: Players can provide input by touching a device's screen, but they can also use a mouse, touchpad, keyboard, or controller instead. In addition, the availability of display extension tools and foldable devices allows players to experience your game on a larger screen, making longer gameplay sessions and more complex interfaces more feasible.
  • Hardware support: Some Android-powered devices don't have hardware that is more typical in a handheld device, such as a rear-facing camera, a GPS, and network connectivity. Your game should adapt to the hardware that's available and gracefully handle situations where certain features aren't available.

This guide presents best practices related to developing your game for different types of screens and user interactions. This guide also provides suggestions on designing your game and developing an effective testing strategy.

Game design best practices

When planning your game's design and architecture, follow the best practices described in the following sections.

Respond to configuration changes manually

When the Android system detects a configuration change, such as a change in screen size, screen orientation, or input method, the system by default restarts the current activity. To preserve state within an app or game, the activity by default calls onSaveInstanceState() before it restarts and onRestoreInstanceState() after it restarts. This process, however, requires the activity to reload all associated services and resources. To learn more about this default behavior, see the guide on handling configuration changes.

A typical gameplay session undergoes several configuration changes. If your game lets the system handle each configuration change, your game's scene is destroyed and restarted over and over, reducing your game's performance. For this reason, we highly encourage you to handle these configuration changes yourself in your game.

To learn how to add this configuration change logic to your game, see the section on how to create custom configuration change handlers.

Create a flexible architecture

To add support for your game on as many devices as possible, follow these best practices:

  • Deploy Android App Bundles instead of individual APKs. Android App Bundles allow you to package artifacts of different resolutions and different architecture models, such as x86, ARM, into a single artifact. Better still, Android App Bundles support higher size limits for your game; each base APK can be as large as 150 MB, and the bundle itself can be many gigabytes in size.
  • Add support for x86 architectures. This step improves your game's performance on devices that don't support ARM, because these devices can now execute instructions without having to translate them first.

Add support for Vulkan

By supporting Vulkan, your game can achieve higher graphics performance. Most devices support this graphics API.

Create custom configuration change handlers

To declare the types of configuration changes that your game handles itself, add the android:configChanges attribute to each <activity> element in your manifest that represents a screen or complex interface.

The following code snippet demonstrates how to declare that your game takes care of screen size, screen orientation, and input method changes:

<activity ...
    android:configChanges="screenSize|orientation|keyboard|keyboardHidden">
</activity>

When the declared configuration changes occur, the system now invokes a different method, onConfigurationChanged(). Within this method, add logic to update your game's UI:

  • Update the scale factor and orientation of the screen. Keep in mind that, for performance purposes, it's sometimes better to scale your game's UI along only one dimension.
  • Identify the optimal input method for the player to use.

Handle screen configuration changes

Your game handles screen size and screen orientation changes manually whenever you include the screenSize and orientation values, respectively, in an android:configChanges attribute. You can use these new values to update your scene's content and player input areas. For guidance on how to design your game's layout to make it easier to update, see the guide on supporting different screen sizes.

In your game's implementation of onConfigurationChanged(), use the passed-in Configuration object and the window manager's Display object to determine the updated values for screen size and screen orientation, respectively.

The following code snippet shows how to obtain your game's updated screen size and orientation:

Kotlin

override fun onConfigurationChanged(newConfig: Configuration) {
    super.onConfigurationChanged(newConfig)
    val density: Float = resources.displayMetrics.density
    val newScreenWidthPixels = (newConfig.screenWidthDp * density).toInt()
    val newScreenHeightPixels = (newConfig.screenHeightDp * density).toInt()

    // Get general orientation; either Configuration.ORIENTATION_PORTRAIT or
    // Configuration.ORIENTATION_LANDSCAPE.
    val newScreenOrientation: Int = newConfig.orientation

    // Get general rotation; one of: ROTATION_0, ROTATION_90, ROTATION_180,
    // or ROTATION_270.
    val newScreenRotation: Int = windowManager.defaultDisplay.rotation
}

Java

@Override
public void onConfigurationChanged(Configuration newConfig) {
    super.onConfigurationChanged(newConfig);
    float density = getResources().getDisplayMetrics().density;
    int newScreenWidthPixels = (int) (newConfig.screenWidthDp * density);
    int newScreenHeightPixels = (int) (newConfig.screenHeightDp * density);

    // Get general orientation; either Configuration.ORIENTATION_PORTRAIT or
    // Configuration.ORIENTATION_LANDSCAPE.
    int newScreenOrientation = newConfig.orientation;

    // Get general rotation; one of: ROTATION_0, ROTATION_90, ROTATION_180,
    // or ROTATION_270.
    int newScreenRotation = getWindowManager().getDefaultDisplay()
            .getRotation();
}

Game-specific screen qualities

The following sections describe how to adjust how your game reacts to screen size or screen orientation changes, depending on your game's qualities:

Fullscreen mode

On some platforms, such as Chrome OS, Android apps and games can be windowed and resizeable by default. If your game should always run in fullscreen mode, you can set the android:resizeableActivity attribute to false in one of your <activity> elements, as shown in the following code snippet:

<activity ...
    android:resizeableActivity="false">
</activity>

You can also set android:resizeableActivity attribute to false to prevent size-based configuration changes from occurring. Unless your game always runs in fullscreen mode, however, you should add this attribute only as a temporary fix for testing purposes.

Screen orientation

If your game depends on a device's sensors having a specific orientation, specify a value for android:screenOrientation in your game's activity, as shown in the following code snippet. This setting helps prevent a scene in your game from flipping upside down unexpectedly.

<activity ...
    android:screenOrientation="landscape">
</activity>

Device-specific screen qualities

The following sections describe how to handle screen-based configuration changes given specific qualities that some devices have.

Aspect ratio

Some devices support different aspect ratios. For example, foldable devices are designed to support an aspect ratio of 21:9 when in the folded state. To handle this potential variety in aspect ratio, do at least one of the following:

  • Target Android 8.0 (API level 26) or higher.
  • Make your game's scene and interface resizeable. Set android:resizeableActivity to true on devices running Android 7.0 (API level 24) and higher.
  • Declare a maximum supported aspect ratio. In a <meta-data> attribute associated with your game, set android.max_aspect to 2.4, as shown in the following code snippet. Keep in mind, however, that aspect ratios larger than the one you've specified cause the game to appear letterboxed within a display.

    <application>
    <meta-data android:name="android.max_aspect"
               android:value="2.4" />
    </application>
    

Multiple activities visible simultaneously

Many modern devices support a variety of screen layouts, including split-screen, picture-in-picture, and large display areas. When using one of these layouts, the system can make multiple activities visible at the same time.

On devices running Android 9 (API level 28) or higher, it's possible for all top visible activities to be resumed at the same time. In order for this behavior to work, however, both your game and the device's OEM need to opt into the functionality. You can add support within your game by setting android.allow_multiple_resumed_activities to true in your game's manifest, as shown in the following snippet:

<application>
    <meta-data android:name="android.allow_multiple_resumed_activities"
               android:value="true" />
</application>

You can then test your game on different devices to see which of them provide the OEM support necessary for multi-resume to function properly.

For more information on configuring your game to appear as part of a multi-window display, see the guide on how to add multi-window support.

Handle different types of interaction models

Your game handles keyboard presence and keyboard availability manually whenever you include the keyboard and keyboardHidden values, respectively, in an android:configChanges attribute. You can use these new values to update your game's primary input method.

When configuring your game for supporting multiple types of user input, keep the following in mind:

  • Detect input methods rather than individual devices. This mindset makes it easier to improve the player experience without focusing too much on the specific device that the player might have.
  • Include the keyboardHidden attribute in your list of manually-handled configuration changes. That way, your game can keep track of when a keyboard is physically attached to the device but unusable.
  • Determine input methods that are currently available. To do so, call getInputDeviceIds() on game startup and after each configuration change.

    You can often determine how the player plans to interact with your game based on their preferred input device:

    • Players typically use a keyboard or game controller to perform rapid button sequences.
    • Players typically use a touchscreen or touchpad to perform more complex gestures.
    • Players typically use a mouse to perform higher-precision input.

The following sections provide best practices for specific types of input devices.

Keyboard

When creating a keyboard layout for your game, consider how the player navigates through a given scene as well as how they interact with your game's settings.

The WASD keys or arrow keys are usually best for controlling character movement. It's also best to assign a particular key for each important action or skill that a controllable character can perform within your game. To maximize the player experience, consider adding support for custom key bindings in your game.

Players should also be able to open your game's menus and navigate through them using the keyboard. The Esc key is a common mapping for pausing a scene and showing the game's menu.

For more information on supporting keyboard input in your game, see the guide on how to support keyboard navigation as well as the guide on how to handle keyboard actions.

Game controller

When connected to Android devices, game controllers serve as keyboards with a specialized layout. Use the InputDevice, KeyEvent, and MotionEvent APIs to pass device events and names, view key mappings, and control haptic feedback.

For more information on handling controller input in your game, see the guide on how to support game controllers.

Mouse or touchpad

If your game supports player input from a mouse or touchpad, keep in mind that players interact with the device in ways other than playing your game. It's important to be aware that, by requesting pointer capture, all mouse input is directed to your game. Therefore, after your game has the information it needs, release pointer capture so that players regain standard mouse control of their device.

On devices running Android 8.0 (API level 26) and higher, you can use the Mouse Capture API to assist with the pointer capture process. In games that react to high-precision input, you can get the pointer's current coordinates by calling the getX() and getY() methods.

For additional information on adding support for mouse input and touchpad input in your game, see the guide on how to track touch and pointer movements as well as the guide on how to handle multi-touch gestures.

Test your game

Before launching your game, test how it responds to configuration changes by completing the steps described in the following sections.

Update your test plan

When validating your game's functionality, include the following test cases:

  • Minimize and maximize the window that contains your game. (Doesn't apply if your game is always in fullscreen mode.)
  • Change screen size.
  • Change screen orientation. (Doesn't apply if your game has a fixed orientation.)
  • Connect and disconnect input devices, such as keyboards and mice.
  • Perform multi-resume, if your game supports it.

Also, consider updating your game's quality control system so that you can optimize for a wider variety of player experiences.

For best practices related to testing your game, see the Fundamentals of Testing guide.

Use testing and debugging tools

You can perform tests using a variety of tools that the platform supports: