Skip to content

Most visited

Recently visited

navigation

使用 Image Asset Studio 创建应用图标

视频

密度无关像素

Android Studio 中包含一个名为 Image Asset Studio 的工具,此工具可以帮助您从 Material 图标、自定义图像和文本字符串生成自己的应用图标。它可以为您的应用支持的每个通用屏幕密度生成一组具有相应分辨率的图标。Image Asset Studio 会将新生成的图标放置在项目中 res/ 目录下的密度特定的文件夹中。运行时,Android 将根据您的应用运行所在设备的屏幕密度使用相应资源。

Image Asset Studio 可以帮助您生成以下图标类型:

关于 Image Asset Studio

Image Asset Studio 可以帮助您以不同密度创建各种类型的图标,并且可以显示这些图标在项目中的确切放置位置。它包含用于调整图标和添加背景的工具,还可以在预览窗格中显示结果,以便这些对象完全按您预想的方式显示。这些工具可以显著简化图标设计和导入过程。下面几部分将说明您可以创建的图标类型以及您可以使用的图像和文本输入。

启动器图标

启动器图标是一个将您的应用呈现给用户的图形。它可以:

Image Asset Studio 可以为推荐的通用屏幕密度(包括 mdpi、hdpi、xhdpi、xxhdpi 和 xxxhdpi)自动创建单独的图标。这样可以确保您的图标在各种屏幕和设备上都能正常显示。它会将图标放置在 res/mipmap-density/ 目录中的适当位置。Image Asset Studio 还可以创建一个 512 x 512 像素的图像,适合在 Google Play 商店中使用。

我们建议您为启动器图标使用 Material Design 风格,即使您的应用支持较旧的 Android 版本。

如需了解详细信息,请参阅启动器图标产品图标 - Material Design

操作栏和标签图标

操作栏图标是置于操作栏中的图形元素,表示各个操作项。如需了解详细信息,请参阅添加和处理操作应用栏 - Material Design操作栏设计

标签图标是用于在多标签界面中表示各个标签的图形元素。每个标签图标都有两种状态:未选中和选中。如需了解详细信息,请参阅使用标签创建滑动视图标签 - Material Design

Image Asset Studio 可以为推荐的通用屏幕密度(包括 mdpi、hdpi、xhdpi 和 xxhdpi)自动创建单独的图标。它会将图标放置在 res/drawable-density/ 目录中的适当位置。

我们建议您为操作栏和标签图标使用 Material Design 风格,即使您的应用支持较旧的 Android 版本。使用 appcompat 和其他支持库可以向较旧的平台版本提供您的 Material Design UI。

作为 Image Asset Studio 的替代,您还可以使用 Vector Asset Studio 创建操作栏和标签图标。矢量图片非常适合简单图标,并且可以减小您的 APK 大小。

通知图标

通知是您可以在应用的常规 UI 外部向用户显示的消息。当您指示系统发出通知时,它将先以图标的形式显示在通知区域中。要查看通知的详细信息,用户可以打开通知抽屉式导航栏。通知区域和通知抽屉式导航栏均是由系统控制的区域,用户可以随时查看。

Image Asset Studio 可以为推荐的通用屏幕密度(包括 mdpi、hdpi、xhdpi 和 xxhdpi)自动创建单独的图标。它会将图标放置在 res/drawable-density/ 目录中的适当位置:

如果您的应用支持 Android 2.3 至 2.3.7(API 级别 9 至 10),Image Asset Studio 将生成灰色版本的图标。更新的 Android 版本使用 Image Asset Studio 生成的白色图标。

如需了解详细信息,请参阅通知通知 Material DesignAndroid 5.0 中的通知变更Android 4.4 及更低版本中的通知Android 3.0 及更低版本中的状态栏图标

剪贴画

利用 Image Asset Studio,您可以轻松地导入 PNG 格式的 Google Material 图标:只需从对话框中选择一个图标即可。如需了解详细信息,请参阅 Material 图标

图像

您可以导入自己的图像并针对图标类型进行调整。Image Asset Studio 支持以下文件类型:PNG(首选)、JPG(可接受)和 GIF(不鼓励)。

文本字符串

Image Asset Studio 允许您键入各种字体的文本字符串,并将其放置在图标上。它可以将文本式图标转换成 PNG 文件,并生成不同的密度。您可以使用计算机上安装的字体。

运行 Image Asset Studio

要启动 Image Asset Studio,请按以下步骤操作:

  1. 在 Android Studio 中,打开 Android 应用项目。
  2. Project 窗口中,选择 Android 视图
  3. 选择 res 文件夹,然后选择 File > New > Image Asset
  4. 或者,右键点击 res 文件夹,然后选择 New > Image Asset

    一些其他项目视图和文件夹也具有此菜单项。

    将出现 Image Asset Studio。

  5. 继续创建启动器图标创建操作栏或标签图标创建通知图标

创建启动器图标

打开 Image Asset Studio 后,您可以按照下列步骤添加启动器图标:

  1. Icon Type 字段中,选择 Launcher Icons
  2. 选择 Asset Type,然后在下面的字段中指定资产:
    • Clip Art 字段中,点击按钮。
    • Select Icon 对话框中,选择一个 Material 图标,然后点击 OK

    • Path 字段中,指定图像的路径和文件名。点击 ... 显示对话框。
    • Text 字段中,键入文本字符串,然后选择字体。

    图标会显示在右侧的 Source Asset 区域以及向导底部的预览区域中。

  3. (可选)更改名称和显示设置:
    • Name - 如果您不想使用默认名称,可以键入一个新名称。如果资源名称已在项目中存在(向导底部出现错误提示),它将被覆盖。名称只能包含小写字符、下划线和数字。
    • Trim - 要调整源资产中图标图形与边框之间的边距,请选择 Yes。此操作将移除透明空间,同时保留纵横比。要保持源资产不变,请选择 No。默认值为:No
    • Padding - 如果您想要调整全部四侧的源资产内边距,请移动滑块。选择 -10% 和 50% 之间的值。如果您也选择了 Trim,则首先会进行剪裁。默认值为:0%
    • Foreground - 要更改 Clip ArtText 图标的前景色,请点击字段。在 Select Color 对话框中,指定颜色,然后点击 Choose。字段中会显示新值。默认值为:000000
    • Background - 要更改背景色,请点击字段。在 Select Color 对话框中,指定颜色,然后点击 Choose。字段中会显示新值。默认值为:FFFFFF
    • Scaling - 要适合图标大小,请选择 CropShrink to Fit。选择裁剪,图像边缘会被剪切;选择缩减,图像边缘不会被剪切。源资产仍然不合适时,如果需要,您可以调整内边距。默认值为:Shrink to Fit
    • Shape - 要为您的源资产添加背景,请选择形状,选项包括圆、正方形、竖直矩形或水平矩形。要想使用透明的背景,请选择 None。默认值为:Square
    • Effect - 如果您想要为正方形或矩形的右上角添加折角效果,请选择 DogEar。如果不需要,请选择 None。默认值为:None

    Image Asset Studio 会将图标放置在透明的正方形内,所以边缘上有一些内边距。内边距为标准的下拉阴影图标效果提供了充足的空间。

  4. 点击 Next
  5. 可以选择更改资源目录:
    • Res Directory - 选择您想要在其中添加图像资产的资源源集:src/main/ressrc/debug/ressrc/release/res 或用户定义的源集。主源集适用于包括调试和发行源集在内的所有构建变体。调试和发行源集将替换主源集,并应用于某个构建版本。调试源集仅适用于调试。要定义新源集,请选择 File > Project Structure > app > Build Types。例如,您可以定义测试版源集,创建一种在右下角包含文本“BETA”的图标。如需了解详细信息,请参阅配置构建变体

    Output Directories 区域显示的图像和文件夹将出现在 Project 窗口的项目文件视图中。

  6. 点击 Finish
  7. Image Asset Studio 会针对不同的密度向 mipmap 文件夹添加图像。

创建操作栏或标签图标

打开 Image Asset Studio 后,您可以按照下列步骤添加操作栏或标签图标:

  1. Icon Type 字段中,选择 Action Bar and Tab Icons
  2. 选择 Asset Type,然后在下面的字段中指定资产:
    • Clip Art 字段中,点击按钮。
    • Select Icon 对话框中,选择一个 Material 图标,然后点击 OK

    • Path 字段中,指定图像的路径和文件名。点击 ... 显示对话框。
    • Text 字段中,键入文本字符串,然后选择字体。

    图标会显示在右侧的 Source Asset 区域以及向导底部的预览区域中。

  3. (可选)更改名称和显示选项:
    • Name - 如果您不想使用默认名称,可以键入一个新名称。如果资源名称已在项目中存在(向导底部出现错误提示),它将被覆盖。名称只能包含小写字符、下划线和数字。
    • Trim - 要调整源资产中图标图形与边框之间的边距,请选择 Yes。此操作将移除透明空间,同时保留纵横比。要保持源资产不变,请选择 No。默认值为:No
    • Padding - 如果您想要调整全部四侧的源资产内边距,请移动滑块。选择 -10% 和 50% 之间的值。如果您也选择了 Trim,则首先会进行剪裁。默认值为:0%
    • Theme - 选择 HOLO_LIGHTHOLO_DARK。或者,在 Select Color 对话框中指定颜色,选择 CUSTOM,然后点击 Custom color 字段。默认值为:None

    Image Asset Studio 会在透明的正方形内创建图标,所以边缘上有一些内边距。内边距为标准的下拉阴影图标效果提供了充足的空间。

  4. 点击 Next
  5. 可以选择更改资源目录:
    • Res Directory - 选择您想要在其中添加图像资产的资源源集:src/main/ressrc/debug/ressrc/release/res 或用户定义的源集。主源集适用于包括调试和发行源集在内的所有构建变体。调试和发行源集将替换主源集,并应用于某个构建版本。调试源集仅适用于调试。要定义新源集,请选择 File > Project Structure > app > Build Types。例如,您可以定义测试版源集,创建一种在右下角包含文本“BETA”的图标。如需了解详细信息,请参阅配置构建变体

    Output Directories 区域显示的图像和文件夹将出现在 Project 窗口的项目文件视图中。

  6. 点击 Finish
  7. Image Asset Studio 会针对不同的密度向 drawable 文件夹添加图像。

创建通知图标

打开 Image Asset Studio 后,可以按照下列步骤添加通知图标:

  1. Icon Type 字段中,选择 Notification Icons
  2. 选择 Asset Type,然后在下面的字段中指定资产:
    • Clip Art 字段中,点击按钮。
    • Select Icon 对话框中,选择一个 Material 图标,然后点击 OK

    • Path 字段中,指定图像的路径和文件名。点击 ... 显示对话框。
    • Text 字段中,键入文本字符串,然后选择字体。

    图标会显示在右侧的 Source Asset 区域以及向导底部的预览区域中。

  3. (可选)更改名称和显示选项:
    • Name - 如果您不想使用默认名称,可以键入一个新名称。如果资源名称已在项目中存在(向导底部出现错误提示),它将被覆盖。名称只能包含小写字符、下划线和数字。
    • Trim - 要调整源资产中图标图形与边框之间的边距,请选择 Yes。此操作将移除透明空间,同时保留纵横比。要保持源资产不变,请选择 No。默认值为:No
    • Padding - 如果您想要调整全部四侧的源资产内边距,请移动滑块。选择 -10% 和 50% 之间的值。如果您也选择了 Trim,则首先会进行剪裁。默认值为:0%

    Image Asset Studio 会在透明的正方形内创建图标,所以边缘上有一些内边距。内边距为标准的下拉阴影图标效果提供了充足的空间。

  4. 点击 Next
  5. 可以选择更改资源目录:
    • Res Directory - 选择您想要在其中添加图像资产的资源源集:src/main/ressrc/debug/ressrc/release/res 或用户定义的源集。主源集适用于包括调试和发行源集在内的所有构建变体。调试和发行源集将替换主源集,并应用于某个构建版本。调试源集仅适用于调试。要定义新源集,请选择 File > Project Structure > app > Build Types。例如,您可以定义测试版源集,创建一种在右下角包含文本“BETA”的图标。如需了解详细信息,请参阅配置构建变体

    Output Directories 区域显示的图像和文件夹将出现在 Project 窗口的项目文件视图中。

  6. 点击 Finish
  7. Image Asset Studio 会针对不同的密度和版本向 drawable 文件夹添加图像。

在代码中引用图像资源

通常情况下,您可以在代码中以通用的方式引用图像资源,当您的应用运行时,相应的图像会根据设备自动显示:

您可以仅从主线程访问图像资源。

在项目的 res/ 目录下添加图像资源后,可以使用其资源 ID 从您的 Java 代码或 XML 布局引用这一图像资源。以下 Java 代码会将 ImageView 设置为使用 drawable/myimage.png 资源:

ImageView imageView = (ImageView) findViewById(R.id.myimageview);
imageView.setImageResource(R.drawable.myimage);

如需了解详细信息,请参阅访问资源

对于启动器图标,AndroidManifest.xml 文件必须引用 mipmap/ 位置。Image Asset Studio 会自动添加此代码。下面的清单文件代码引用了 mipmap/ 目录中的 ic_launcher 图标:

<application android:name="ApplicationTitle"
         android:label="@string/app_label"
         android:icon="@mipmap/ic_launcher" >

从项目删除图标

要从项目删除图标,请执行以下操作:

  1. Project 窗口中,选择 Android 视图
  2. 展开 res/mipmap 文件夹找到启动器图标,或展开 res/drawable 文件夹找到其他类型图标。
  3. 找到具有您想要删除的图标名称的子文件夹。
  4. 此文件夹包含不同密度的图标。

  5. 选择文件夹并按 Delete 键。
  6. 或者,选择 Edit > Delete。或右键点击文件,然后选择 Delete

    此时将显示 Safe Delete 对话框。

  7. (可选)选择选项来查找图标在项目中的使用位置,然后点击 OK
  8. Android Studio 会从项目和驱动器中删除文件。不过,如果您选择搜索项目中使用文件且找到一些用例的位置,则可以查看这些引用并决定是否将其删除。您必须删除或者替换这些引用才能成功编译项目。

  9. 选择 Build > Clean Project
  10. Android Studio 会移除与已删除图像资源对应的任何生成的图像文件。它会将这些文件从项目和驱动器中删除。

  11. 如果需要,请更正由引用资源的代码部分引起的任何错误。
  12. Android Studio 会在您的代码中突出显示这些错误。从代码中删除所有引用后,您将可以成功地重新构建项目。

This site uses cookies to store your preferences for site-specific language and display options.

Get the latest Android developer news and tips that will help you find success on Google Play.

* Required Fields

Hooray!

Browse this site in ?

You requested a page in , but your language preference for this site is .

Would you like to change your language preference and browse this site in ? If you want to change your language preference later, use the language menu at the bottom of each page.

This class requires API level or higher

This doc is hidden because your selected API level for the documentation is . You can change the documentation API level with the selector above the left navigation.

For more information about specifying the API level your app requires, read Supporting Different Platform Versions.

Take a one-minute survey?
Help us improve Android tools and documentation.

Skip to content

Most visited

Recently visited

navigation

Create App Icons with Image Asset Studio

Video

Density-independent Pixels

Android Studio includes a tool called Image Asset Studio that helps you generate your own app icons from material icons, custom images, and text strings. It generates a set of icons at the appropriate resolution for each generalized screen density that your app supports. Image Asset Studio places the newly generated icons in density-specific folders under the res/ directory in your project. At runtime, Android uses the appropriate resource based on the screen density of the device your app is running on.

Image Asset Studio helps you generate the following icon types:

About Image Asset Studio

Image Asset Studio helps you create various types of icons at different densities and shows you exactly where they'll be placed in your project. It includes tools for adjusting your icons and adding backdrops, all while displaying the result in a preview pane, so they appear exactly as you intended. These tools can dramatically streamline the icon design and import process. The following sections describe the icon types that you can create and the image and text inputs that you can use.

Launcher icons

A launcher icon is a graphic that represents your app to users. It can:

Image Asset Studio automatically creates separate icons for the recommended generalized screen densities, including mdpi, hdpi, xhdpi, xxhdpi, and xxxhdpi. This ensures that your icon displays well on a variety of screens and devices. It places the icons in the proper locations in the res/mipmap-density/ directories. It also creates a 512 x 512 pixel image that's appropriate for the Google Play Store.

We recommend that you use the material design style for launcher icons, even if you support older Android versions.

See Launcher Icons and Product Icons - Material Design for more information.

Action bar and tab icons

Action Bar icons are graphical elements placed in the Action Bar and that represent individual action items. See Adding and Handling Actions, App Bar - Material Design, and Action Bar Design for more information.

Tab icons are graphical elements used to represent individual tabs in a multi-tab interface. Each tab icon has two states: unselected and selected. See Creating Swipe Views with Tabs and Tabs - Material Design for more information.

Image Asset Studio automatically creates separate icons for the recommended generalized screen densities, including mdpi, hdpi, xhdpi, and xxhdpi. It places the icons in the proper locations in the res/drawable-density/ directories.

We recommend that you use the material design style for action bar and tab icons, even if you support older Android versions. Use appcompat and other support libraries to deliver your material design UI to older platform versions.

As an alternative to Image Asset Studio, you can use Vector Asset Studio to create action bar and tab icons. Vector drawables are appropriate for simple icons and can reduce the size of your APK.

Notification icons

A notification is a message that you can display to the user outside of the normal UI of your app. When you tell the system to issue a notification, it first appears as an icon in the notification area. To see the details of the notification, the user opens the notification drawer. Both the notification area and the notification drawer are system-controlled areas that the user can view at any time.

Image Asset Studio automatically creates separate icons for the recommended generalized screen densities, including mdpi, hdpi, xhdpi, and xxhdpi. It places the icons in the proper locations in the res/drawable-density/ directories:

If your app supports Android 2.3 to 2.3.7 (API level 9 to 10), Image Asset Studio generates a gray version of your icon. Later Android versions use the white icon that Image Asset Studio generates.

See Notifications; Notifications Material Design; Notifications, Android 5.0 Changes; Notifications, Android 4.4 and Lower; and Status Bar Icons, Android 3.0 and Lower for more information.

Clip art

Image Asset Studio makes it easy for you to import Google material icons in PNG form: simply select an icon from a dialog. For more information, see Material Icons.

Images

You can import your own images and adjust them for the icon type. Image Asset Studio supports the following file types: PNG (preferred), JPG (acceptable), and GIF (discouraged).

Text strings

Image Asset Studio lets you type a text string in a variety of fonts, and places it on an icon. It converts the text-based icon into PNG files for different densities. You can use the fonts that are installed on your computer.

Running Image Asset Studio

To start Image Asset Studio, follow these steps:

  1. In the Project window, select the Android view.
  2. Right-click the res folder and select New > Image Asset.

  3. Continue by following the steps to create a launcher icon, an action bar or tab icon, or a notification icon.

Creating a Launcher Icon

After you open Image Asset Studio, you can add a launcher icon by following these steps:

  1. In the Icon Type field, select Launcher Icons.
  2. Select an Asset Type, and then specify the asset in the field underneath:
    • In the Clip Art field, click the button.
    • In the Select Icon dialog, select a material icon and then click OK.

    • In the Path field, specify the path and file name of the image. Click ... to use a dialog.
    • In the Text field, type a text string and select a font.

    The icon appears in the Source Asset area on the right side, and in the preview area at the bottom of the wizard.

  3. Optionally change the name and display settings:
    • Name - If you don’t want to use the default name, type a new name. If that resource name already exists in the project, as indicated by an error at the bottom of the wizard, it's overwritten. The name can contain lowercase characters, underscores, and digits only.
    • Trim - To adjust the margin between the icon graphic and border in the source asset, select Yes. This operation removes transparent space, while preserving the aspect ratio. To leave the source asset unchanged, select No. Default: No
    • Padding - If you want to adjust the source asset padding on all four sides, move the slider. Select a value between -10% and 50%. If you also select Trim, the trimming happens first. Default: 0%
    • Foreground - To change the foreground color for a Clip Art or Text icon, click the field. In the Select Color dialog, specify a color and then click Choose. The new value appears in the field. Default: 000000
    • Background - To change the background color, click the field. In the Select Color dialog, specify a color and then click Choose. The new value appears in the field. Default: FFFFFF
    • Scaling - To fit the icon size, select Crop or Shrink to Fit. With crop, the image edges can be cut off, and with shrink, they aren't. You can adjust the padding, if needed, if the source asset still doesn't fit well. Default: Shrink to Fit
    • Shape - To place a backdrop behind your source asset, select a shape, one of circle, square, vertical rectangle, or horizontal rectangle. For a transparent backdrop, select None. Default: Square
    • Effect - If you want to add a dog-ear effect to the upper right of a square or rectangle shape, select DogEar. Otherwise, select None. Default: None

    Image Asset Studio places the icon within a transparent square so there's some padding on the edges. The padding provides adequate space for the standard drop-shadow icon effect.

  4. Click Next.
  5. Optionally change the resource directory:
    • Res Directory - Select the resource source set where you want to add the image asset: src/main/res, src/debug/res, src/release/res, or a user-defined source set. The main source set applies to all build variants, including debug and release. The debug and release source sets override the main source set and apply to one version of a build. The debug source set is for debugging only. To define a new source set, select File > Project Structure > app > Build Types. For example, you could define a beta source set and create a version of an icon that includes the text "BETA” in the bottom right corner. For more information, see Configure Build Variants.

    The Output Directories area displays the images and the folders where they will appear in Project Files view of the Project window.

  6. Click Finish.
  7. Image Asset Studio adds the images to the mipmap folders for the different densities.

Creating an Action Bar or Tab Icon

After you open Image Asset Studio, you can add an action bar or tab icon by following these steps:

  1. In the Icon Type field, select Action Bar and Tab Icons.
  2. Select an Asset Type, and then specify the asset in the field underneath:
    • In the Clip Art field, click the button.
    • In the Select Icon dialog, select a material icon and then click OK.

    • In the Path field, specify the path and file name of the image. Click ... to use a dialog.
    • In the Text field, type a text string and select a font.

    The icon appears in the Source Asset area on the right side, and in the preview area at the bottom of the wizard.

  3. Optionally change the name and display options:
    • Name - If you don’t want to use the default name, type a new name. If that resource name already exists in the project, as indicated by an error at the bottom of the wizard, it's overwritten. The name can contain lowercase characters, underscores, and digits only.
    • Trim - To adjust the margin between the icon graphic and border in the source asset, select Yes. This operation removes transparent space, while preserving the aspect ratio. To leave the source asset unchanged, select No. Default: No
    • Padding - If you want to adjust the source asset padding on all four sides, move the slider. Select a value between -10% and 50%. If you also select Trim, the trimming happens first. Default: 0%
    • Theme - Select HOLO_LIGHT or HOLO_DARK. Or, to specify a color in the Select Color dialog, select CUSTOM and then click the Custom color field. Default: None

    Image Asset Studio creates the icon within a transparent square so there's some padding on the edges. The padding provides adequate space for the standard drop-shadow icon effect.

  4. Click Next.
  5. Optionally change the resource directory:
    • Res Directory - Select the resource source set where you want to add the image asset: src/main/res, src/debug/res, src/release/res, or a user-defined source set. The main source set applies to all build variants, including debug and release. The debug and release source sets override the main source set and apply to one version of a build. The debug source set is for debugging only. To define a new source set, select File > Project Structure > app > Build Types. For example, you could define a beta source set and create a version of an icon that includes the text "BETA” in the bottom right corner. For more information, see Configure Build Variants.

    The Output Directories area displays the images and the folders where they will appear in Project Files view of the Project window.

  6. Click Finish.
  7. Image Asset Studio adds the images in the drawable folders for the different densities.

Creating a Notification Icon

After you open Image Asset Studio, you can add a notification icon by following these steps:

  1. In the Icon Type field, select Notification Icons.
  2. Select an Asset Type, and then specify the asset in the field underneath:
    • In the Clip Art field, click the button.
    • In the Select Icon dialog, select a material icon and then click OK.

    • In the Path field, specify the path and file name of the image. Click ... to use a dialog.
    • In the Text field, type a text string and select a font.

    The icon appears in the Source Asset area on the right side, and in the preview area at the bottom of the wizard.

  3. Optionally change the name and display options:
    • Name - If you don’t want to use the default name, type a new name. If that resource name already exists in the project, as indicated by an error at the bottom of the wizard, it's overwritten. The name can contain lowercase characters, underscores, and digits only.
    • Trim - To adjust the margin between the icon graphic and border in the source asset, select Yes. This operation removes transparent space, while preserving the aspect ratio. To leave the source asset unchanged, select No. Default: No
    • Padding - If you want to adjust the source asset padding on all four sides, move the slider. Select a value between -10% and 50%. If you also select Trim, the trimming happens first. Default: 0%

    Image Asset Studio creates the icon within a transparent square so there's some padding on the edges. The padding provides adequate space for the standard drop-shadow icon effect.

  4. Click Next.
  5. Optionally change the resource directory:
    • Res Directory - Select the resource source set where you want to add the image asset: src/main/res, src/debug/res, src/release/res, or a user-defined source set. The main source set applies to all build variants, including debug and release. The debug and release source sets override the main source set and apply to one version of a build. The debug source set is for debugging only. To define a new source set, select File > Project Structure > app > Build Types. For example, you could define a beta source set and create a version of an icon that includes the text "BETA” in the bottom right corner. For more information, see Configure Build Variants.

    The Output Directories area displays the images and the folders where they will appear in Project Files view of the Project window.

  6. Click Finish.
  7. Image Asset Studio adds the images in the drawable folders for the different densities and versions.

Referring to an Image Resource in Code

You can normally refer to an image resource in a generic way in your code, and when your app runs, the corresponding image displays automatically depending on the device:

You can access image resources from the main thread only.

After you have an image resource in the res/ directory of your project, you can reference it from your Java code or your XML layout using its resource ID. The following Java code sets an ImageView to use the drawable/myimage.png resource:

ImageView imageView = (ImageView) findViewById(R.id.myimageview);
imageView.setImageResource(R.drawable.myimage);

See Accessing Resources for more information.

For launcher icons, the AndroidManifest.xml file must reference the mipmap/ location. Image Asset Studio adds this code automatically. The following manifest file code references the ic_launcher icon in the mipmap/ directory:

<application android:name="ApplicationTitle"
         android:label="@string/app_label"
         android:icon="@mipmap/ic_launcher" >

Deleting an Icon from a Project

To remove an icon from a project:

  1. In the Project window, select the Android view.
  2. Expand the res/mipmap folder for a launcher icon, or the res/drawable folder for other types of icons.
  3. Locate a subfolder that has the name of the icon you want to delete.
  4. This folder contains the icon in different densities.

  5. Select the folder and press the Delete key.
  6. Alternatively, select Edit > Delete. Or right-click the file and select Delete.

    The Safe Delete dialog appears.

  7. Optionally select options to find where the icon is used in the project, and click OK.
  8. Android Studio deletes the files from the project and the drive. However, if you chose to search for places in the project where the files are used and some usages are found, you can view them and decide whether to delete them. You must delete or replace these references to be able to successfully compile your project.

  9. Select Build > Clean Project.
  10. Android Studio removes any generated image files corresponding to the deleted image resource. It removes them from the project and the drive.

  11. If needed, correct any remaining errors due to portions of the code that reference the resource.
  12. Android Studio highlights these errors in your code. When you've removed all references from your code, you can successfully build your project again.

This site uses cookies to store your preferences for site-specific language and display options.

Hooray!

This class requires API level or higher

This doc is hidden because your selected API level for the documentation is . You can change the documentation API level with the selector above the left navigation.

For more information about specifying the API level your app requires, read Supporting Different Platform Versions.

Take a one-minute survey?
Help us improve Android tools and documentation.