Skip to content

Most visited

Recently visited

navigation

对低电耗模式和应用待机模式进行针对性优化

从 Android 6.0(API 级别 23)开始,Android 引入了两个省电功能,可通过管理应用在设备未连接至电源时的行为方式为用户延长电池寿命。低电耗模式通过在设备长时间处于闲置状态时推迟应用的后台 CPU 和网络 Activity 来减少电池消耗。应用待机模式可推迟用户近期未与之交互的应用的后台网络 Activity。

低电耗模式和应用待机模式管理在 Android 6.0 或更高版本上运行的所有应用的行为,无论它们是否特别针对 API 级别 23。 为确保用户获得最佳体验,请在低电耗模式和应用待机模式下测试您的应用并对代码进行必要的调整。 以下部分介绍了详细信息。

了解低电耗模式

如果用户设备未插接电源、处于静止状态一段时间且屏幕关闭,设备会进入低电耗模式。 在低电耗模式下,系统会尝试通过限制应用对网络和 CPU 密集型服务的访问来节省电量。 这还可以阻止应用访问网络并推迟其作业、同步和标准闹铃。

系统会定期退出低电耗模式一会儿,好让应用完成其已推迟的 Activity。在此维护时段内,系统会运行所有待定同步、作业和闹铃并允许应用访问网络。

图 1. 低电耗模式提供了定期维护时段,可供应用使用网络并处理待定 Activity。

在每个维护时段结束后,系统会再次进入低电耗模式,暂停网络访问并推迟作业、同步和闹铃。 随着时间的推移,系统安排维护时段的次数越来越少,这有助于在设备未连接至充电器的情况下长期处于不活动状态时降低电池消耗。

一旦用户通过移动设备、打开屏幕或连接到充电器唤醒设备,系统就会立即退出低电耗模式,并且所有应用都将返回到正常 Activity。

低电耗模式限制

在低电耗模式下,您的应用会受到以下限制:

低电耗模式检查清单

将应用调整到低电耗模式

低电耗模式可能会对应用产生不同程度的影响,具体取决于应用提供的功能和使用的服务。 许多应用无需修改即可在低电耗模式周期中正常运行。 在某些情况下,您必须优化应用管理网络、闹铃、作业和同步的方式。 应用应该能够在每个维护时段内高效管理 Activity。

低电耗模式很容易影响 AlarmManager 闹铃和定时器管理的 Activity,因为当系统处于低电耗模式时,不会触发 Android 5.1(API 级别 22)或更低版本中的闹铃。

为了帮助您安排闹铃,Android 6.0(API 级别 23)引入了两种新的 AlarmManager 方法:setAndAllowWhileIdle()setExactAndAllowWhileIdle()。通过这些方法,您可以设置即使设备处于低电耗模式也会触发的闹铃。

:对于每个应用,setAndAllowWhileIdle()setExactAndAllowWhileIdle() 触发闹铃的时间间隔都不能超过 9 分钟。

低电耗模式对网络访问的限制也有可能影响您的应用,特别是当应用依赖于操作消息 (tickle) 或通知等实时消息时更是如此。 如果应用需要持久连接到网络来接收消息,您应尽量使用 Google Cloud Messaging (GCM)

要确认应用在低电耗模式下按照预期运行,您可以使用 adb 命令强制系统进入和退出低电耗模式并观察应用的行为。如需了解详细信息,请参阅在低电耗模式和应用待机模式下进行测试

了解应用待机模式

应用待机模式允许系统判定应用在用户未主动使用它时处于空闲状态。 当用户有一段时间未触摸应用时,系统便会作出此判定,以下条件均不适用:

当用户将设备插入电源时,系统将从待机状态释放应用,从而让它们可以自由访问网络并执行任何待定作业和同步。 如果设备长时间处于空闲状态,系统将按每天大约一次的频率允许空闲应用访问网络。

在设备空闲时使用 GCM 与您的应用交互

Google Cloud Messaging (GCM) 是一项云端至设备的服务,允许您支持在后端服务与 Android 设备上的应用之间实时进行下游消息传递。GCM 提供了单一持久的云连接;所有需要实时传递消息的应用均可共享此连接。此共享连接使多个应用无需消耗电池即可维持自身单独的持久连接,避免快速耗尽电池,从而显著优化电池消耗。 因此,如果应用需要与后端服务进行消息传递集成,我们强烈建议您尽量使用 GCM,而非维持自身持久的网络连接。

GCM 经过优化,可通过高优先级 GCM 消息用于低电耗模式和应用待机模式。GCM 高优先级消息允许您可靠地唤醒应用访问网络,即使用户设备处于低电耗模式或应用处于应用待机模式也不例外。 在低电耗模式或应用待机模式下,系统将传递消息并允许应用临时访问网络服务和部分唤醒锁,然后将设备或应用恢复到空闲状态。

高优先级 GCM 消息不会影响低电耗模式,也不会影响任何其他应用的状态。这意味着您的应用可以使用这些消息进行有效的通信,同时尽可能减少对整个系统和设备的电池影响。

作为一项常规最佳做法,如果您的应用需要下游消息传递,则应使用 GCM。如果您的服务器和客户端已经使用 GCM,请确保服务对关键消息使用高优先级消息,因为即使设备处于低电耗模式,这也会可靠地唤醒应用。

对其他用例的支持

通过妥善管理网络连接、闹铃、作业和同步并使用 GCM 高优先级消息,几乎所有应用都应该能够支持低电耗模式。对于一小部分用例,这可能还不够。 对于此类用例,系统为部分免除低电耗模式和应用待机模式优化的应用提供了一份可配置的白名单。

在低电耗模式和应用待机模式期间,加入白名单的应用可以使用网络并保留部分 wake locks。 不过,正如其他应用一样,其他限制仍然适用于加入白名单的应用。 例如,加入白名单的应用的作业和同步将推迟(在 API 级别 23 及更低级别中),并且其常规 AlarmManager 闹铃不会触发。通过调用 isIgnoringBatteryOptimizations(),应用可以检查自身当前是否位于豁免白名单中。

用户可以在 Settings > Battery > Battery Optimization 中手动配置该白名单。或者,系统会为应用提供请求用户将应用加入白名单的方式。

在请求用户将应用添加到白名单之前,请确保应用符合加入白名单的可接受用例

:除非应用的核心功能受到不利影响,否则 Google Play 政策禁止应用请求直接豁免 Android 6.0+ 中的电源管理功能(低电耗模式和应用待机模式)。

在低电耗模式和应用待机模式下进行测试

为了确保用户获得极佳体验,您应在低电耗模式和应用待机模式下全面测试您的应用。

在低电耗模式下测试您的应用

您可按以下步骤测试低电耗模式:

  1. 使用 Android 6.0(API 级别 23)或更高版本的系统映像配置硬件设备或虚拟设备。
  2. 将设备连接到开发计算机并安装应用
  3. 运行应用并使其保持活动状态
  4. 关闭设备屏幕。(应用保持活动状态。)
  5. 通过运行以下命令强制系统在低电耗模式之间循环切换:
    $ adb shell dumpsys battery unplug
    $ adb shell dumpsys deviceidle step

    您可能需要多次运行第二个命令。不断地重复,直到设备变为空闲状态。

  6. 在重新激活设备后观察应用的行为。确保应用在设备退出低电耗模式时正常恢复。

在应用待机模式下测试您的应用

要在应用待机模式下测试您的应用,请执行以下操作:

  1. 使用 Android 6.0(API 级别 23)或更高版本的系统映像配置硬件设备或虚拟设备。
  2. 将设备连接到开发计算机并安装应用
  3. 运行应用并使其保持活动状态
  4. 通过运行以下命令强制应用进入应用待机模式:
    $ adb shell dumpsys battery unplug
    $ adb shell am set-inactive <packageName> true
  5. 使用以下命令模拟唤醒应用:
    $ adb shell am set-inactive <packageName> false
    $ adb shell am get-inactive <packageName>
  6. 观察唤醒后的应用行为。确保应用从待机模式中正常恢复。 特别地,您应检查应用的通知和后台作业是否按预期继续运行

加入白名单的可接受用例

下表重点介绍了请求加入或目前位于电池优化豁免白名单中的可接受用例。 通常情况下,除非低电耗模式或应用待机模式破坏了应用的核心功能,或者由于技术方面的原因而导致您的应用无法使用 GCM 高优先级消息,否则您的应用不应出现在白名单上。

如需了解详细信息,请参阅对其他用例的支持

类型 用例 是否可以使用 GCM? 是否可接受加入白名单? 备注
即时通讯、聊天或通话应用。 当设备处于低电耗模式或应用处于应用待机模式时,需要将实时消息传递给用户。 是,可以使用 GCM 不可接受 应使用 GCM 高优先级消息唤醒应用并访问网络。
是,但并非使用 GCM 高优先级消息。
即时通讯、聊天或通话应用;企业 VOIP 应用。 否,由于在技术上依赖其他消息传递服务,或者低电耗模式和应用待机模式破坏了应用的核心功能,因此不能使用 GCM。 可接受
任务自动化应用 应用的核心功能是安排自动化操作,例如即时通讯、语音通话、新照片管理或位置操作。 如果适用。 可接受
外围设备协同应用 应用的核心功能是保持与外围设备的持久连接,以便为外围设备提供互联网访问权限。 如果适用。 可接受
应用只需定期连接到外围设备进行同步,或者只需连接到设备,例如通过标准蓝牙配置文件连接的无线耳机。 如果适用。 不可接受
This site uses cookies to store your preferences for site-specific language and display options.

Get the latest Android developer news and tips that will help you find success on Google Play.

* Required Fields

Hooray!

Browse this site in ?

You requested a page in , but your language preference for this site is .

Would you like to change your language preference and browse this site in ? If you want to change your language preference later, use the language menu at the bottom of each page.

This class requires API level or higher

This doc is hidden because your selected API level for the documentation is . You can change the documentation API level with the selector above the left navigation.

For more information about specifying the API level your app requires, read Supporting Different Platform Versions.

Take a one-minute survey?
Help us improve Android tools and documentation.

Skip to content

Most visited

Recently visited

navigation

Optimizing for Doze and App Standby

Starting from Android 6.0 (API level 23), Android introduces two power-saving features that extend battery life for users by managing how apps behave when a device is not connected to a power source. Doze reduces battery consumption by deferring background CPU and network activity for apps when the device is unused for long periods of time. App Standby defers background network activity for apps with which the user has not recently interacted.

Doze and App Standby manage the behavior of all apps running on Android 6.0 or higher, regardless whether they are specifically targeting API level 23. To ensure the best experience for users, test your app in Doze and App Standby modes and make any necessary adjustments to your code. The sections below provide details.

Understanding Doze

If a user leaves a device unplugged and stationary for a period of time, with the screen off, the device enters Doze mode. In Doze mode, the system attempts to conserve battery by restricting apps' access to network and CPU-intensive services. It also prevents apps from accessing the network and defers their jobs, syncs, and standard alarms.

Periodically, the system exits Doze for a brief time to let apps complete their deferred activities. During this maintenance window, the system runs all pending syncs, jobs, and alarms, and lets apps access the network.

Figure 1. Doze provides a recurring maintenance window for apps to use the network and handle pending activities.

At the conclusion of each maintenance window, the system again enters Doze, suspending network access and deferring jobs, syncs, and alarms. Over time, the system schedules maintenance windows less and less frequently, helping to reduce battery consumption in cases of longer-term inactivity when the device is not connected to a charger.

As soon as the user wakes the device by moving it, turning on the screen, or connecting a charger, the system exits Doze and all apps return to normal activity.

Doze restrictions

The following restrictions apply to your apps while in Doze:

Doze checklist

Adapting your app to Doze

Doze can affect apps differently, depending on the capabilities they offer and the services they use. Many apps function normally across Doze cycles without modification. In some cases, you must optimize the way that your app manages network, alarms, jobs, and syncs. Apps should be able to efficiently manage activities during each maintenance window.

Doze is particularly likely to affect activities that AlarmManager alarms and timers manage, because alarms in Android 5.1 (API level 22) or lower do not fire when the system is in Doze.

To help with scheduling alarms, Android 6.0 (API level 23) introduces two new AlarmManager methods: setAndAllowWhileIdle() and setExactAndAllowWhileIdle(). With these methods, you can set alarms that will fire even if the device is in Doze.

Note: Neither setAndAllowWhileIdle() nor setExactAndAllowWhileIdle() can fire alarms more than once per 9 minutes, per app.

The Doze restriction on network access is also likely to affect your app, especially if the app relies on real-time messages such as tickles or notifications. If your app requires a persistent connection to the network to receive messages, you should use Google Cloud Messaging (GCM) if possible.

To confirm that your app behaves as expected with Doze, you can use adb commands to force the system to enter and exit Doze and observe your app’s behavior. For details, see Testing with Doze and App Standby.

Understanding App Standby

App Standby allows the system to determine that an app is idle when the user is not actively using it. The system makes this determination when the user does not touch the app for a certain period of time and none of the following conditions applies:

When the user plugs the device into a power supply, the system releases apps from the standby state, allowing them to freely access the network and to execute any pending jobs and syncs. If the device is idle for long periods of time, the system allows idle apps network access around once a day.

Using GCM to Interact with Your App While the Device is Idle

Google Cloud Messaging (GCM) is a cloud-to-device service that lets you support real-time downstream messaging between backend services and apps on Android devices. GCM provides a single, persistent connection to the cloud; all apps needing real-time messaging can share this connection. This shared connection significantly optimizes battery consumption by making it unnecessary for multiple apps to maintain their own, separate persistent connections, which can deplete the battery rapidly. For this reason, if your app requires messaging integration with a backend service, we strongly recommend that you use GCM if possible, rather than maintaining your own persistent network connection.

GCM is optimized to work with Doze and App Standby idle modes by means of high-priority GCM messages. GCM high-priority messages let you reliably wake your app to access the network, even if the user’s device is in Doze or the app is in App Standby mode. In Doze or App Standby mode, the system delivers the message and gives the app temporary access to network services and partial wakelocks, then returns the device or app to idle state.

High-priority GCM messages do not otherwise affect Doze mode, and they don’t affect the state of any other app. This means that your app can use them to communicate efficiently while minimizing battery impacts across the system and device.

As a general best practice, if your app requires downstream messaging, it should use GCM. If your server and client already uses GCM, make sure that your service uses high-priority messages for critical messages, since this will reliably wake apps even when the device is in Doze.

Support for Other Use Cases

Almost all apps should be able to support Doze by managing network connectivity, alarms, jobs, and syncs properly, and using GCM high-priority messages. For a narrow set of use cases, this might not be sufficient. For such cases, the system provides a configurable whitelist of apps that are partially exempt from Doze and App Standby optimizations.

An app that is whitelisted can use the network and hold partial wake locks during Doze and App Standby. However, other restrictions still apply to the whitelisted app, just as they do to other apps. For example, the whitelisted app’s jobs and syncs are deferred (on API level 23 and below), and its regular AlarmManager alarms do not fire. An app can check whether it is currently on the exemption whitelist by calling isIgnoringBatteryOptimizations().

Users can manually configure the whitelist in Settings > Battery > Battery Optimization. Alternatively, the system provides ways for apps to ask users to whitelist them.

Before asking the user to add your app to the whitelist, make sure the app matches the acceptable use cases for whitelisting.

Note: Google Play policies prohibit apps from requesting direct exemption from Power Management features in Android 6.0+ (Doze and App Standby) unless the core function of the app is adversely affected.

Testing with Doze and App Standby

To ensure a great experience for your users, you should test your app fully in Doze and App Standby.

Testing your app with Doze

You can test Doze mode by following these steps:

  1. Configure a hardware device or virtual device with an Android 6.0 (API level 23) or higher system image.
  2. Connect the device to your development machine and install your app.
  3. Run your app and leave it active.
  4. Force the system into idle mode by running the following command:
    $ adb shell dumpsys deviceidle force-idle
    
  5. Observe the behavior of your app after you reactivate the device. Make sure the app recovers gracefully when the device exits Doze.

Testing your app with App Standby

To test the App Standby mode with your app:

  1. Configure a hardware device or virtual device with an Android 6.0 (API level 23) or higher system image.
  2. Connect the device to your development machine and install your app.
  3. Run your app and leave it active.
  4. Force the app into App Standby mode by running the following commands:
    $ adb shell dumpsys battery unplug
    $ adb shell am set-inactive <packageName> true
  5. Simulate waking your app using the following commands:
    $ adb shell am set-inactive <packageName> false
    $ adb shell am get-inactive <packageName>
  6. Observe the behavior of your app after waking it. Make sure the app recovers gracefully from standby mode. In particular, you should check if your app's Notifications and background jobs continue to function as expected.

Acceptable Use Cases for Whitelisting

The table below highlights the acceptable use cases for requesting or being on the Battery Optimizations exceptions whitelist. In general, your app should not be on the whitelist unless Doze or App Standby break the core function of the app or there is a technical reason why your app cannot use GCM high-priority messages.

For more information, see Support for Other Use Cases .

Type Use-case Can use GCM? Whitelisting acceptable? Notes
Instant messaging, chat, or calling app. Requires delivery of real-time messages to users while device is in Doze or app is in App Standby. Yes, using GCM Not Acceptable Should use GCM high-priority messages to wake the app and access the network.
Yes, but is not using GCM high-priority messages.
Instant messaging, chat, or calling app; enterprise VOIP apps. No, can not use GCM because of technical dependency on another messaging service or Doze and App Standby break the core function of the app. Acceptable
Task automation app App's core function is scheduling automated actions, such as for instant messaging, voice calling, new photo management, or location actions. If applicable. Acceptable
Peripheral device companion app App's core function is maintaining a persistent connection with the peripheral device for the purpose of providing the peripheral device internet access. If applicable. Acceptable
App only needs to connect to a peripheral device periodically to sync, or only needs to connect to devices, such as wireless headphones, connected via standard Bluetooth profiles. If applicable. Not Acceptable
This site uses cookies to store your preferences for site-specific language and display options.

Hooray!

This class requires API level or higher

This doc is hidden because your selected API level for the documentation is . You can change the documentation API level with the selector above the left navigation.

For more information about specifying the API level your app requires, read Supporting Different Platform Versions.

Take a one-minute survey?
Help us improve Android tools and documentation.