特性指引最佳化

特性指引最佳化 (PGO) 是廣為人知的編譯器最佳化技術。在 PGO 中,編譯器會使用來自程式執行作業的執行階段設定檔,針對內嵌和程式碼配置做出最佳化選擇,這有助於改善效能並縮減程式碼大小。

您可以按照下列步驟將 PGO 部署至應用程式或程式庫: 1. 確定一個具代表性的工作負載。 2. 收集設定檔。 3. 在發布子版本中使用設定檔。

步驟 1:確定一個具代表性的工作負載

首先,為您的應用程式確定一個具代表性的基準或工作負載。 這一步非常關鍵,因為從工作負載收集的設定檔將用於識別程式碼中的熱區域和冷區域。使用這些設定檔時,編譯器會在熱區域中執行積極最佳化和內嵌。編譯器也可能會選擇縮減冷區域的程式碼大小,但將因此導致效能下降。

總體而言,工作負載選擇得當也有利於追蹤效能。

步驟 2:收集設定檔

設定檔收集包含三個步驟:使用檢測設備建構原生程式碼;在裝置上執行檢測應用程式並產生設定檔;在主機上合併/後置處理設定檔。

建立檢測建構

在應用程式的檢測建構中,透過執行步驟 1 中確定的工作負載來收集設定檔。如要產生檢測建構,請將 -fprofile-generate 新增至編譯器和連結器標記。這個標記應由單獨的建構變數控制,因為在預設建構期間不需要這個標記。

產生設定檔

接著,在裝置上執行檢測應用程式並產生設定檔。 執行檢測二進位檔,並在結束時寫入檔案,這個過程便會在記憶體中收集設定檔。不過,使用 atexit 註冊的函式無法在 Android 應用程式中呼叫,應用程式會遭到終止。

應用程式/工作負載必須執行額外作業來為設定檔檔案設定路徑,然後顯式觸發設定檔寫入。

  • 如要為設定檔檔案設定路徑,請呼叫 __llvm_profile_set_filename(PROFILE_DIR "/default-%m.profraw。如果有多個共用程式庫,%m 會非常有用。%m 會展開為這個程式庫的唯一模組簽名,進而分別為每個程式庫產生一個設定檔。如需瞭解其他實用的模式說明符,請前往這裡。PROFILE_ Edge 是一個可從應用程式寫入的目錄。如需瞭解如何在執行階段偵測這個目錄,請查看示範
  • 如要顯式觸發設定檔寫入,請呼叫 __llvm_profile_write_file 函式。
extern "C" {
extern int __llvm_profile_set_filename(const char*);
extern int __llvm_profile_write_file(void);
}

#define PROFILE_DIR "<location-writable-from-app>"
void workload() {
  // ...
  // run workload
  // ...

  // set path and write profiles after workload execution
  __llvm_profile_set_filename(PROFILE_DIR "/default-%m.profraw");
  __llvm_profile_write_file();
  return;
}

注意:如果工作負載是獨立二進位檔,則產生設定檔檔案會更為簡單。只要在執行二進位檔之前,將 LLVM_PROFILE_FILE 環境變數設為 %t/default-%m.profraw 即可。

後置處理設定檔

設定檔檔案的格式為 .profraw,必須先使用 adb pull 從裝置中擷取設定檔檔案。接著,使用 NDK 中的 llvm-profdata 公用程式,將擷取到的設定檔檔案從 .profraw 轉換為 .profdata,然後再傳遞給編譯器。

$NDK/toolchains/llvm/prebuilt/linux-x86_64/bin/llvm-profdata \
    merge --output=pgo_profile.profdata \
    <list-of-profraw-files>

請使用相同 NDK 版本中的 llvm-profdataclang,避免設定檔檔案格式出現版本不相符的問題。

步驟 3:使用設定檔建構應用程式

-fprofile-use=<>.profdata 傳遞給編譯器和連接器,以便在應用程式的發布子版本中使用在上一步產生的設定檔。即使程式碼不斷演進,也可以繼續使用這些設定檔。Clang 編譯器能夠容許來源檔案與設定檔之間的細微差異。

注意:一般對大部分程式庫而言,設定檔在各個架構中通常是相同的。例如,透過程式庫 arm64 建構產生的設定檔可用於所有架構。需注意的是,如果程式庫中有架構專屬程式碼路徑 (arm 與 x86 或 32 位元與 64 位元),則應針對每個此類設定使用不同的設定檔。

總結

https://github.com/DanAlbert/ndk-samples/tree/pgo/pgo 示範了在應用程式中使用 PGO 的完整流程,其中提供本文件中省略的額外詳細資料。

  • CMake 建構規則說明了如何設定 CMake 變數,用於透過檢測設備建構原生程式碼。 如未設定建構變數,系統會使用先前產生的 PGO 設定檔來最佳化原生程式碼。
  • 在檢測建構中,pgodemo.cpp 會在執行工作負載期間寫入設定檔。
  • 在執行階段可使用 applicationContext.cacheDir.toString()MainActivity.kt 中取得設定檔的可寫入位置。
  • 如要在不使用 adb root 的情況下擷取裝置中的設定檔,請使用這裡adb 套件。

Profile-guided Optimization

Profile-guided optimization (PGO) is a well known compiler optimization technique. In PGO, runtime profiles from a program’s executions are used by the compiler to make optimal choices about inlining and code layout. This leads to improved performance and reduced code size.

PGO can be deployed to your application or library with the following steps: 1. Identify a representative workload. 2. Collect profiles. 3. Use the profiles in a Release build.

Step 1: Identify a Representative Workload

First, identify a representative benchmark or workload for your application. This is a critical step as the profiles collected from the workload identify the hot and cold regions in the code. When using the profiles, the compiler will perform aggressive optimizations and inlining in the hot regions. The compiler may also choose to reduce the code size of cold regions while trading off performance.

Identifying a good workload is also beneficial to keep track of performance in general.

Step 2: Collect Profiles

Profile collection involves three steps: - building native code with instrumentation, - running the instrumented app on the device and generating profiles, and - merging/post-processing the profiles on the host.

Create Instrumented Build

The profiles are collected by running the workload from step 1 on an instrumented build of the application. To generate an instrumented build, add -fprofile-generate to the compiler and linker flags. This flag should be controlled by a separate build variable since the flag is not needed during a default build.

Generate Profiles

Next, run the instrumented app on the device and generate profiles. Profiles are collected in memory when the instrumented binary is run and get written to a file at exit. However, functions registered with atexit are not called in an Android app — the app just gets killed.

The application/workload has to do extra work to set a path for the profile file and then explicitly trigger a profile write.

  • To set the profile file path, call __llvm_profile_set_filename(PROFILE_DIR "/default-%m.profraw. %m is useful when there are multiple shared libraries. %m` expands to a unique module signature for that library, resulting in a separate profile per library. See here for other useful pattern specifiers. PROFILE_DIR is a directory that is writable from the app. See the demo for detecting this directory at runtime.
  • To explicitly trigger a profile write, call the __llvm_profile_write_file function.
extern "C" {
extern int __llvm_profile_set_filename(const char*);
extern int __llvm_profile_write_file(void);
}

#define PROFILE_DIR "<location-writable-from-app>"
void workload() {
  // ...
  // run workload
  // ...

  // set path and write profiles after workload execution
  __llvm_profile_set_filename(PROFILE_DIR "/default-%m.profraw");
  __llvm_profile_write_file();
  return;
}

NB: Generating the profile file is simpler if the workload is a standalone binary — just set the LLVM_PROFILE_FILE environment variable to %t/default-%m.profraw before running the binary.

Post-process Profiles

The profile files are in the .profraw format. They must first be fetched from the device using adb pull. After fetch, use the llvm-profdata utility in the NDK to convert from .profraw to .profdata, which can then be passed to the compiler.

$NDK/toolchains/llvm/prebuilt/linux-x86_64/bin/llvm-profdata \
    merge --output=pgo_profile.profdata \
    <list-of-profraw-files>

Use the llvm-profdata and clang from the same NDK release to avoid version mismatch of the profile file formats.

Step 3 Use the Profiles to Build Application

Use the profile from the previous step during a release build of your application by passing -fprofile-use=<>.profdata to the compiler and linker. The profiles can be used even as the code evolves — the Clang compiler can tolerate slight mismatch between the source and the profiles.

NB: In general, for most libraries, the profiles are common across architectures. For e.g., profiles generated from arm64 build of the library can be used for all architectures. The caveat being that if there are architecture-specific code paths in the library (arm vs x86 or 32-bit vs 64-bit), separate profiles should be used for each such congiration.

Putting it all together

https://github.com/DanAlbert/ndk-samples/tree/pgo/pgo shows an end-to-end demo for using PGO from an app. It provides additional details that were skimmed over in this doc.

  • The CMake build rules show how to setup a CMake variable that builds native code with instrumentation. When the build variable is not set, native code is optimized using previously generated PGO profiles.
  • In an instrumented build, pgodemo.cpp writes the profiles are workload execution.
  • A writable location for the profiles is obtained at runtime in MainActivity.kt using applicationContext.cacheDir.toString().
  • To pull profiles from the device without requiring adb root, use the adb recipe here.