Google 致力于为黑人社区推动种族平等。查看具体举措

权限概览

权限的作用是保护 Android 用户的隐私。Android 应用必须请求权限才能访问敏感的用户数据(例如联系人和短信)以及某些系统功能(例如相机和互联网)。系统可能会自动授予权限,也可能会提示用户批准请求,具体取决于访问的功能。

Android 安全架构的设计主旨是:在默认情况下,任何应用都没有权限执行会对其他应用、操作系统或用户带来不利影响的任何操作。这包括读取或写入用户的私有数据(例如联系人或电子邮件)、读取或写入其他应用的文件、执行网络访问、使设备保持唤醒状态等。

本页概述了 Android 权限的工作原理,包括:如何向用户提供权限、安装时权限请求和运行时权限请求之间的区别、如何强制执行权限,以及权限类型和权限组。如果您只需要关于如何使用应用权限的方法指南,请参阅请求应用权限

权限审批

应用必须通过在应用清单中添加 <uses-permission> 标记来公开所需的权限。例如,需要发送短信的应用会在清单中添加以下代码行:

<manifest xmlns:android="http://schemas.android.com/apk/res/android"
          package="com.example.snazzyapp">

    <uses-permission android:name="android.permission.SEND_SMS"/>

    <application ...>
        ...
    </application>
</manifest>

如果您的应用在清单中列出普通权限(即不会给用户隐私或设备操作带来太大风险的权限),系统会自动将这些权限授予应用。

如果您的应用在清单中列出危险权限(即可能影响用户隐私或设备正常操作的权限),如上面的 SEND_SMS 权限,必须由用户明确同意授予这些权限。

如需详细了解普通权限和危险权限,请参阅保护级别

危险权限的请求提示

仅危险权限需要用户同意。Android 请求用户授予危险权限的方式取决于用户设备上搭载的 Android 版本和应用的目标系统版本。

运行时请求(Android 6.0 及更高版本)

如果设备搭载的是 Android 6.0(API 级别 23)或更高版本,并且应用的 targetSdkVersion 是 23 或更高版本,用户在安装时不会收到任何应用权限的通知。您的应用必须在运行时请求用户授予危险权限。当应用请求权限时,用户会看到一个系统对话框(如图 1 左图所示),告知用户应用正在尝试访问的权限组。该对话框包括拒绝允许按钮。

如果用户拒绝权限请求,当应用下次请求该权限时,该对话框将包含一个复选框,选中它即表示用户不想再收到权限提示(请参阅图 1 右图)。

图 1. 初始权限对话框(左)和包含关闭进一步请求的选项的二次权限请求(右)

如果用户选中不再询问复选框并点按拒绝,当您以后尝试请求相同权限时,系统不会再提示用户。

即使用户授予应用所请求的权限,您也不能指望始终拥有该权限。用户也可以选择在系统设置中逐一启用和停用权限。您应始终在运行时检查并请求权限,以防发生运行时错误 (SecurityException)。

如需详细了解如何处理运行时权限请求,请参阅请求应用权限

安装时请求(Android 5.1.1 及更低版本)

如果设备搭载的是 Android 5.1.1(API 级别 22)或更低版本,或者应用在任何版本的 Android 上运行时其 targetSdkVersion 是 22 或更低版本,系统将在安装时自动请求用户向应用授予所有危险权限(请参见图 2)。

图 2. 安装时权限对话框

如果用户点击接受,系统将授予应用请求的所有权限。如果用户拒绝权限请求,系统将取消安装应用。

如果应用更新包括额外权限需求,系统会在更新应用之前提示用户接受这些新权限。

有关请求权限的建议用户体验模式概览,请参阅应用权限最佳做法

如需了解如何检查并向用户请求权限,请参阅请求应用权限

访问敏感用户信息的请求提示

有些应用依赖于访问与通话记录和短信有关的敏感用户信息。如果您想请求特定于通话记录和短信的权限,并将应用发布到 Play 商店,您必须在请求这些运行时权限之前,提示用户将应用设置为核心系统功能的默认处理程序。

如需详细了解默认处理程序,包括有关如何向用户显示默认处理程序提示的指南,请参阅有关仅在默认处理程序中使用的权限的指南

可选硬件功能的权限

访问某些硬件功能(如蓝牙或相机)需要应用权限。但是,实际上并非所有 Android 设备都具备这些硬件功能。因此,如果您的应用请求 CAMERA 权限,请务必还要在清单中添加 <uses-feature> 标记,用于声明是否确实需要此功能。例如:

<uses-feature android:name="android.hardware.camera" android:required="false" />

如果您对该功能声明 android:required="false",那么 Google Play 就会允许将您的应用安装在没有该功能的设备上。然后,您必须在运行时通过调用 PackageManager.hasSystemFeature() 检查当前设备是否具备该功能,并在没有该功能的情况下将其妥善停用。

如果您未提供 <uses-feature> 标记,那么当 Google Play 发现您的应用请求相应权限时,就会假定您的应用需要此功能。因此,它会从没有该功能的设备中过滤掉您的应用,就像您在 <uses-feature> 标记中声明了 android:required="true" 一样。

如需了解详情,请参阅 Google Play 和根据功能进行过滤

权限强制执行

权限不仅仅用于请求系统功能。应用提供的服务可强制执行自定义权限以限制谁能使用它们。如需详细了解如何声明自定义权限,请参阅定义自定义应用权限

Activity 权限强制执行

使用 android:permission 属性应用于清单中 <activity> 标记的权限可限制谁能启动该 Activity。系统会在 Context.startActivity()Activity.startActivityForResult() 期间检查权限。如果调用方没有所需的权限,则调用会抛出 SecurityException

服务权限强制执行

使用 android:permission 属性应用于清单中 <service> 标记的权限可限制谁能启动或绑定到关联的 Service。系统会在 Context.startService()Context.stopService()Context.bindService() 期间检查权限。如果调用方没有所需的权限,则调用会抛出 SecurityException

广播权限强制执行

使用 android:permission 属性应用于 <receiver> 标记的权限可限制谁能向关联的 BroadcastReceiver 发送广播。系统会在 Context.sendBroadcast() 返回后检查权限,因为系统会尝试将提交的广播传递到指定的接收器。因此,权限失效不会导致向调用方抛回异常;只是不会传递该 Intent

同样,可以向 Context.registerReceiver() 提供权限,用于控制谁能向以编程方式注册的接收器发送广播。另一方面,可以在调用 Context.sendBroadcast() 时提供权限来限制允许哪些广播接收器接收广播。

请注意,接收器和广播者可能都需要权限。发生这种情况时,两项权限检查都必须通过后方可将 intent 传递到关联的目标。如需了解详情,请参阅通过权限限制广播

内容提供程序权限强制执行

使用 android:permission 属性应用于 <provider> 标记的权限可限制谁能访问 ContentProvider 中的数据。(内容提供程序有重要的附加安全工具可供其使用,称为 URI 权限,将在后面介绍。)与其他组件不同,您可以设置两个单独的权限属性:android:readPermission 限制谁可以读取提供程序,android:writePermission 限制谁可以写入提供程序。请注意,如果提供程序有读取和写入权限保护,仅拥有写入权限并不表示您可以读取提供程序。

第一次检索提供程序时将会检查权限(如果没有任何权限,将会抛出 SecurityException),对提供程序执行操作时也会检查权限。使用 ContentResolver.query() 需要拥有读取权限;使用 ContentResolver.insert()ContentResolver.update()ContentResolver.delete() 需要写入权限。在所有这些情况下,没有所需的权限将导致调用抛出 SecurityException

URI 权限

内容提供程序仅仅使用到目前为止介绍的标准权限系统往往是不够的。内容提供程序可能需要通过读取和写入权限保护自己,而其直接客户端也需要将特定 URI 传给其他应用以便于它们运行。

电子邮件应用中的附件就是一个典型的示例。对电子邮件的访问应通过权限加以保护,因为这是敏感的用户数据。但是,如果将图像附件的 URI 提供给图像查看器,该图像查看器就不再有打开附件的权限,因为它没有理由拥有访问所有电子邮件的权限。

此问题的解决方法是采用按 URI 的权限机制:在启动 Activity 或返回结果给 Activity 时,调用方可以设置 Intent.FLAG_GRANT_READ_URI_PERMISSION 和/或 Intent.FLAG_GRANT_WRITE_URI_PERMISSION。这将向接收 Activity 授予访问 intent 中特定数据 URI 的权限,而不管它是否具有任何权限可访问 intent 对应的内容提供程序中的数据。

此机制支持常见的能力式模型,其中用户互动(如打开附件、从列表中选择联系人等)推动临时授予细化的权限。这是一项关键功能,可将应用所需的权限缩小至只与其行为直接相关的权限。

如需构建最安全的实现,使其他应用对其在您的应用中的操作负责,您应该以这种方式使用细化的权限,并使用 android:grantUriPermissions 属性或 <grant-uri-permissions> 标记声明您的应用对它的支持。

如需了解详情,请参阅 Context.grantUriPermission()Context.revokeUriPermission()Context.checkUriPermission() 方法。

其他权限强制执行

您可对任何服务调用强制执行任意细化的权限。这可通过 Context.checkCallingPermission() 方法完成。使用所需的权限字符串调用,它将返回一个整数,表示是否已向当前的调用进程授予权限。请注意,仅在执行从另一个进程传入的调用(通常是通过从服务发布的 IDL 接口或者指定给另一进程的某种其他方式完成)时才可使用此方法。

检查权限还有许多其他有用的方法。如果您有另一个进程的进程 ID (PID),您可以使用 Context.checkPermission() 方法检查针对该 PID 的权限。如果您有另一个应用的软件包名称,您可以使用 PackageManager.checkPermission() 方法了解是否已为该软件包授予特定权限。

自动权限调整

随着时间的推移,平台中可能会加入新的限制,以致您的应用为了使用特定 API,必须请求之前不需要的权限。因为现有应用假设可随意获取这些 API 的访问权限,所以 Android 可能会将新的权限请求应用到应用清单,以免在新平台版本上中断应用(从而将应用包括在“祖父豁免原则”中以获取权限)。Android 将根据为 targetSdkVersion 属性提供的值决定应用是否需要权限。如果该值低于在其中添加权限的版本,Android 就会添加该权限。

例如,READ_EXTERNAL_STORAGE 权限从 API 级别 19 开始强制执行,用于限制对共享存储空间的访问。如果您的 targetSdkVersion 为 18 或更低版本,系统就会向更高版本的 Android 中运行的应用添加此权限。

警告:如果某权限自动添加到应用,即使您的应用可能实际并不需要这些附加权限,Google Play 上的应用详情也会列出它们。为避免这种情况并移除您不需要的默认权限,请始终将 targetSdkVersion 尽可能更新至最高版本。您可在 Build.VERSION_CODES 文档中查看各版本添加的权限。

保护级别

权限分为几个保护级别。保护级别影响着是否需要运行时权限请求。

有三种保护级别会影响第三方应用:普通、签名和危险权限。如需查看特定权限所拥有的保护级别,请访问权限 API 参考页面

普通权限

普通权限涵盖以下情况:应用需要访问其沙盒外部的数据或资源,但对用户隐私或其他应用的操作带来的风险很小。例如,设置时区的权限就是普通权限。

如果应用在清单中声明需要普通权限,系统会在安装时自动向应用授予该权限。系统不会提示用户授予普通权限,用户也无法撤消这些权限。

签名权限

系统在安装时授予这些应用权限,但仅会在尝试使用某权限的应用签名证书为定义该权限的同一证书时才会授予。

危险权限

危险权限涵盖以下情况:应用需要的数据或资源涉及用户隐私信息,或者可能对用户存储的数据或其他应用的操作产生影响。例如,能够读取用户的联系人属于危险权限。如果应用声明其需要危险权限,必须由用户向应用明确授予该权限。在用户批准该权限之前,应用无法提供依赖于该权限的功能。

为了使用危险权限,应用必须在运行时提示用户授予权限。如需详细了解如何提示用户,请参阅危险权限的请求提示

特殊权限

有几项权限的行为与普通权限及危险权限都不同。SYSTEM_ALERT_WINDOWWRITE_SETTINGS 特别敏感,因此大多数应用不应该使用它们。如果应用需要其中一种权限,必须在清单中声明该权限,并发送请求用户授权的 intent。系统将向用户显示详细管理屏幕,以响应该 intent。

如需详细了解如何请求这些权限,请参阅 SYSTEM_ALERT_WINDOWWRITE_SETTINGS 参考条目。

如需了解 Android 系统提供的所有权限,请参阅 Manifest.permission

权限组

权限根据设备的功能或特性分为多个组。在这一体系中,权限请求在组级别进行处理,一个权限组对应于应用清单中的多个权限声明。例如,短信组同时包括 READ_SMSRECEIVE_SMS 声明。通过这种方式对权限分组,用户就能做出更有意义和明智的选择,而不会对复杂和技术性权限请求感到无所适从。

所有危险的 Android 权限都属于权限组。任何权限都可以属于某个权限组,不管保护级别如何。但是,权限组仅当权限危险时才影响用户体验。

如果设备搭载的是 Android 6.0(API 级别 23),并且应用的 targetSdkVersion 是 23 或更高版本,系统会在应用请求危险权限时发生以下行为:

  • 如果应用当前在权限组中没有任何权限,系统会向用户显示权限请求对话框,描述应用要访问的权限组。对话框不描述该组内的具体权限。例如,如果应用请求 READ_CONTACTS 权限,系统对话框只会说明应用需要访问设备的联系人。如果用户批准,系统只会向应用授予其请求的权限。
  • 如果应用已在相同权限组中被授予另一危险权限,系统将立即授予该权限,不会与用户进行任何互动。例如,如果某应用之前已请求并且被授予了 READ_CONTACTS 权限,然后它又请求 WRITE_CONTACTS,系统将立即授予该权限,不向用户显示权限对话框。

注意:将来版本的 Android SDK 可能可以将特定权限从一个组移到另一个组。因此,不要根据这些权限组的结构设置应用的逻辑。

例如,自 Android 8.1(API 级别 27)起,READ_CONTACTS 位于与 WRITE_CONTACTS 相同的权限组中。如果您的应用请求 READ_CONTACTS 权限,然后请求 WRITE_CONTACTS 权限,不要假定系统可以自动授予 WRITE_CONTACTS 权限。

如果设备搭载的是 Android 5.1(API 级别 22)或更低版本,或者应用的 targetSdkVersion 是 22 或更低版本,系统会在安装时要求用户授予权限。再次强调,系统只会向用户告知应用需要的权限组,而不告知具体权限。例如,当应用请求 READ_CONTACTS 时,安装对话框会列出“联系人”组。当用户接受后,系统仅向应用授予 READ_CONTACTS 权限。

注意:您的应用仍需要明确请求其需要的每项权限,即使用户已授予同一组中的其他权限。此外,权限分组在将来的 Android 版本中可能会发生变化。代码的逻辑不应依赖于同一组中的一组特定权限。

查看应用的权限

您可以使用“设置”应用和 shell 命令 adb shell pm list permissions 查看系统中当前定义的所有权限。如需使用“设置”应用,请依次转至设置 > 应用。选择一个应用并向下滚动查看该应用使用的权限。对于开发者,adb '-s' 选项以类似于用户所见内容的形式显示权限:

$ adb shell pm list permissions -s
All Permissions:

Network communication: view Wi-Fi state, create Bluetooth connections, full
internet access, view network state

Your location: access extra location provider commands, fine (GPS) location,
mock location sources for testing, coarse (network-based) location

Services that cost you money: send SMS messages, directly call phone numbers

...

在模拟器中或测试设备上安装应用时,您也可以使用 adb -g 选项自动授予所有权限:

$ adb shell install -g MyApp.apk

其他资源

  • 请求应用权限:有关请求应用权限的方法指南。
  • 隐含功能要求的权限:介绍请求某些权限如何隐式将您的应用限制于包含相应硬件或软件功能的设备。
  • <uses-permission>:声明应用所需权限的清单标记的 API 参考文档。
  • 设备兼容性:介绍 Android 如何在不同类型的设备上工作,以及如何针对各种设备优化您的应用,或如何限制您的应用在不同设备上的可用性。
  • Android 安全性概览:详细介绍 Android 平台的安全模型。
  • “妈妈,我可以吗?”请求权限:2015 年 Android 开发者峰会上的这个视频介绍了请求权限的最佳做法。
  • Android M 权限:2015 年 Google I/O 大会上的这个视频说明了 Android 6.0 中对权限模型进行的更改。

Save the date! Android Dev Summit is coming to Mountain View, CA on November 7-8, 2018.

Permissions overview

The purpose of a permission is to protect the privacy of an Android user. Android apps must request permission to access sensitive user data (such as contacts and SMS), as well as certain system features (such as camera and internet). Depending on the feature, the system might grant the permission automatically or might prompt the user to approve the request.

This page provides an overview to how Android permissions work, including: how permissions are presented to the user, the difference between install-time and runtime permission requests, how permissions are enforced, and the types of permissions and their groups. If you just want a how-to guide for using app permissions, instead see Request App Permissions.

Permission approval

An app must publicize the permissions it requires by including <uses-permission> tags in the app manifest. For example, an app that needs to send SMS messages would have this line in the manifest:

<manifest xmlns:android="http://schemas.android.com/apk/res/android"
          package="com.example.snazzyapp">

    <uses-permission android:name="android.permission.SEND_SMS"/>

    <application ...>
        ...
    </application>
</manifest>

If your app lists normal permissions in its manifest (that is, permissions that don't pose much risk to the user's privacy or the device's operation), the system automatically grants those permissions to your app.

If your app lists dangerous permissions in its manifest (that is, permissions that could potentially affect the user's privacy or the device's normal operation), such as the SEND_SMS permission above, the user must explicitly agree to grant those permissions.

For more information about normal and dangerous permissions, see Protection levels.

Request prompts for dangerous permissions

Only dangerous permissions require user agreement. The way Android asks the user to grant dangerous permissions depends on the version of Android running on the user's device, and the system version targeted by your app.

Runtime requests (Android 6.0 and higher)

If the device is running Android 6.0 (API level 23) or higher, and the app's targetSdkVersion is 23 or higher, the user isn't notified of any app permissions at install time. Your app must ask the user to grant the dangerous permissions at runtime. When your app requests permission, the user sees a system dialog (as shown in figure 1, left) telling the user which permission group your app is trying to access. The dialog includes a Deny and Allow button.

If the user denies the permission request, the next time your app requests the permission, the dialog contains a checkbox that, when checked, indicates the user doesn't want to be prompted for the permission again (see figure 1, right).

Figure 1. Initial permission dialog (left) and secondary permission request with option to turn off further requests (right)

If the user checks the Never ask again box and taps Deny, the system no longer prompts the user if you later attempt to requests the same permission.

Even if the user grants your app the permission it requested you cannot always rely on having it. Users also have the option to enable and disable permissions one-by-one in system settings. You should always check for and request permissions at runtime to guard against runtime errors (SecurityException).

For details about how to handle runtime permission requests, see Request App Permissions.

Install-time requests (Android 5.1.1 and below)

If the device is running Android 5.1.1 (API level 22) or lower, or the app's targetSdkVersion is 22 or lower while running on any version of Android, the system automatically asks the user to grant all dangerous permissions for your app at install-time (see figure 2).

Figure 2. Install-time permission dialog

If the user clicks Accept, all permissions the app requests are granted. If the user denies the permissions request, the system cancels the installation of the app.

If an app update includes the need for additional permissions the user is prompted to accept those new permissions before updating the app.

For an overview of the recommended user experience patterns for requesting permissions, see App Permissions Best Practices.

To learn how to check for and request permissions from the user, see Request App Permissions.

Permissions for optional hardware features

Access to some hardware features (such as Bluetooth or the camera) require an app permission. However, not all Android devices actually have these hardware features. So if your app requests the CAMERA permission, it's important that you also include the <uses-feature> tag in your manifest to declare whether or not this feature is actually required. For example:

<uses-feature android:name="android.hardware.camera" android:required="false" />

If you declare android:required="false" for the feature, then Google Play allows your app to be installed on devices that don't have the feature. You then must check if the current device has the feature at runtime by calling PackageManager.hasSystemFeature(), and gracefully disable that feature if it's not available.

If you don't provide the <uses-feature> tag, then when Google Play sees that your app requests the corresponding permission, it assumes your app requires this feature. So it filters your app from devices without the feature, as if you declared android:required="true" in the <uses-feature> tag.

For more information, see Google Play and feature-based filtering

Permission enforcement

Permissions aren't only for requesting system functionality. Services provided by apps can enforce custom permissions to restrict who can use them. For more information on declaring custom permissions, see Define a Custom App Permission.

Activity permission enforcement

Permissions applied using the android:permission attribute to the <activity> tag in the manifest restrict who can start that Activity. The permission is checked during Context.startActivity() and Activity.startActivityForResult(). If the caller doesn't have the required permission then SecurityException is thrown from the call.

Service permission enforcement

Permissions applied using the android:permission attribute to the <service> tag in the manifest restrict who can start or bind to the associated Service. The permission is checked during Context.startService(), Context.stopService() and Context.bindService(). If the caller doesn't have the required permission then SecurityException is thrown from the call.

Broadcast permission enforcement

Permissions applied using the android:permission attribute to the <receiver> tag restrict who can send broadcasts to the associated BroadcastReceiver. The permission is checked after Context.sendBroadcast() returns, as the system tries to deliver the submitted broadcast to the given receiver. As a result, a permission failure doesn't result in an exception being thrown back to the caller; it just doesn't deliver the Intent.

In the same way, a permission can be supplied to Context.registerReceiver() to control who can broadcast to a programmatically registered receiver. Going the other way, a permission can be supplied when calling Context.sendBroadcast() to restrict which broadcast receivers are allowed to receive the broadcast.

Note that both a receiver and a broadcaster can require a permission. When this happens, both permission checks must pass for the intent to be delivered to the associated target. For more information, see Restricting broadcasts with permissions.

Content Provider permission enforcement

Permissions applied using the android:permission attribute to the <provider> tag restrict who can access the data in a ContentProvider. (Content providers have an important additional security facility available to them called URI permissions which is described next.) Unlike the other components, there are two separate permission attributes you can set: android:readPermission restricts who can read from the provider, and android:writePermission restricts who can write to it. Note that if a provider is protected with both a read and write permission, holding only the write permission doesn't mean you can read from a provider.

The permissions are checked when you first retrieve a provider (if you don't have either permission, a SecurityException is thrown), and as you perform operations on the provider. Using ContentResolver.query() requires holding the read permission; using ContentResolver.insert(), ContentResolver.update(), ContentResolver.delete() requires the write permission. In all of these cases, not holding the required permission results in a SecurityException being thrown from the call.

URI permissions

The standard permission system described so far is often not sufficient when used with content providers. A content provider may want to protect itself with read and write permissions, while its direct clients also need to hand specific URIs to other apps for them to operate on.

A typical example is attachments in a email app. Access to the emails should be protected by permissions, since this is sensitive user data. However, if a URI to an image attachment is given to an image viewer, that image viewer no longer has permission to open the attachment since it has no reason to hold a permission to access all email.

The solution to this problem is per-URI permissions: when starting an activity or returning a result to an activity, the caller can set Intent.FLAG_GRANT_READ_URI_PERMISSION and/or Intent.FLAG_GRANT_WRITE_URI_PERMISSION. This grants the receiving activity permission access the specific data URI in the intent, regardless of whether it has any permission to access data in the content provider corresponding to the intent.

This mechanism allows a common capability-style model where user interaction (such as opening an attachment or selecting a contact from a list) drives ad-hoc granting of fine-grained permission. This can be a key facility for reducing the permissions needed by apps to only those directly related to their behavior.

To build the most secure implementation that makes other apps accountable for their actions within yor app, you should use fine-grained permissions in this manner and declare your app's support for it with the android:grantUriPermissions attribute or <grant-uri-permissions> tag.

More information can be found in the Context.grantUriPermission(), Context.revokeUriPermission(), and Context.checkUriPermission() methods.

Other permission enforcement

Arbitrarily fine-grained permissions can be enforced at any call into a service. This is accomplished with the Context.checkCallingPermission() method. Call with a desired permission string and it returns an integer indicating whether that permission has been granted to the current calling process. Note that this can only be used when you are executing a call coming in from another process, usually through an IDL interface published from a service or in some other way given to another process.

There are a number of other useful ways to check permissions. If you have the process ID (PID) of another process, you can use the Context.checkPermission() method to check a permission against that PID. If you have the package name of another app, you can use the PackageManager.checkPermission() method to find out whether that particular package has been granted a specific permission.

Automatic permission adjustments

Over time, new restrictions may be added to the platform such that, in order to use certain APIs, your app must request a permission that it previously did not need. Because existing apps assume access to those APIs is freely available, Android may apply the new permission request to the app's manifest to avoid breaking the app on the new platform version (thereby, "grandfathering" your app for the permission). Android makes the decision as to whether an app might need the permission based on the value provided for the targetSdkVersion attribute. If the value is lower than the version in which the permission was added, then Android adds the permission.

For example, the READ_EXTERNAL_STORAGE permission is enforced beginning with API level 19 to restrict access to the shared storage space. If your targetSdkVersion is 18 or lower, this permission is added to your app on newer versions of Android.

Caution: If a permission is automatically added to your app, your app listing on Google Play lists these additional permissions even though your app might not actually require them. To avoid this and remove the default permissions you don't need, always update your targetSdkVersion to be as high as possible. You can see which permissions were added with each release in the Build.VERSION_CODES documentation.

Protection levels

Permissions are divided into several protection levels. The protection level affects whether runtime permission requests are required.

There are three protection levels that affect third-party apps: normal, signature, and dangerous permissions.

Normal permissions

Normal permissions cover areas where your app needs to access data or resources outside the app's sandbox, but where there's very little risk to the user's privacy or the operation of other apps. For example, permission to set the time zone is a normal permission.

If an app declares in its manifest that it needs a normal permission, the system automatically grants the app that permission at install time. The system doesn't prompt the user to grant normal permissions, and users cannot revoke these permissions.

As of Android 9 (API level 28), the following permissions are classified as PROTECTION_NORMAL:

Signature permissions

The system grants these app permissions at install time, but only when the app that attempts to use a permission is signed by the same certificate as the app that defines the permission.

As of Android 8.1 (API level 27), the following permissions that third-party apps can use are classified as PROTECTION_SIGNATURE:

Dangerous permissions

Dangerous permissions cover areas where the app wants data or resources that involve the user's private information, or could potentially affect the user's stored data or the operation of other apps. For example, the ability to read the user's contacts is a dangerous permission. If an app declares that it needs a dangerous permission, the user has to explicitly grant the permission to the app. Until the user approves the permission, your app cannot provide functionality that depends on that permission.

To use a dangerous permission, your app must prompt the user to grant permission at runtime. For more details about how the user is prompted, see Request prompt for dangerous permission.

For a list of dangerous permissions, see table 1 below.

Special permissions

There are a couple of permissions that don't behave like normal and dangerous permissions. SYSTEM_ALERT_WINDOW and WRITE_SETTINGS are particularly sensitive, so most apps should not use them. If an app needs one of these permissions, it must declare the permission in the manifest, and send an intent requesting the user's authorization. The system responds to the intent by showing a detailed management screen to the user.

For details on how to request these permissions, see the SYSTEM_ALERT_WINDOW and WRITE_SETTINGS reference entries.

All permissions provided by the Android system can be found at Manifest.permission.

Permission groups

Permissions are organized into groups related to a device's capabilities or features. Under this system, permission requests are handled at the group level and a single permission group corresponds to several permission declarations in the app manifest. For example, the SMS group includes both the READ_SMS and the RECEIVE_SMS declarations. Grouping permissions in this way enables the user to make more meaningful and informed choices, without being overwhelmed by complex and technical permission requests.

All dangerous Android permissions belong to permission groups. Any permission can belong to a permission group regardless of protection level. However, a permission's group only affects the user experience if the permission is dangerous.

If the device is running Android 6.0 (API level 23) and the app's targetSdkVersion is 23 or higher, the following system behavior applies when your app requests a dangerous permission:

  • If the app doesn't currently have any permissions in the permission group, the system shows the permission request dialog to the user describing the permission group that the app wants access to. The dialog doesn't describe the specific permission within that group. For example, if an app requests the READ_CONTACTS permission, the system dialog just says the app needs access to the device's contacts. If the user grants approval, the system gives the app just the permission it requested.
  • If the app has already been granted another dangerous permission in the same permission group, the system immediately grants the permission without any interaction with the user. For example, if an app had previously requested and been granted the READ_CONTACTS permission, and it then requests WRITE_CONTACTS, the system immediately grants that permission without showing the permissions dialog to the user.

Caution: Future versions of the Android SDK might move a particular permission from one group to another. Therefore, don't base your app's logic on the structure of these permission groups.

For example, READ_CONTACTS is in the same permission group as WRITE_CONTACTS as of Android 8.1 (API level 27). If your app requests the READ_CONTACTS permission, and then requests the WRITE_CONTACTS permission, don't assume that the system can automatically grant the WRITE_CONTACTS permission.

If the device is running Android 5.1 (API level 22) or lower, or the app's targetSdkVersion is 22 or lower, the system asks the user to grant the permissions at install time. Once again, the system just tells the user what permission groups the app needs, not the individual permissions. For example, when an app requests READ_CONTACTS the install dialog lists the Contacts group. When the user accepts, only the READ_CONTACTS permission is granted to the app.

Note: Your app still needs to explicitly request every permission it needs, even if the user has already granted another permission in the same group. In addition, the grouping of permissions into groups may change in future Android releases. Your code shouldn't have logic that depends on a set of particular permissions being in the same group.

Table 1. Dangerous permissions and permission groups.

Permission Group Permissions
CALENDAR
CALL_LOG
CAMERA
CONTACTS
LOCATION
MICROPHONE
PHONE
SENSORS
SMS
STORAGE

Viewing an app's permissions

You can view all the permissions currently defined in the system using the Settings app and the shell command adb shell pm list permissions. To use the Settings app, go to Settings > Apps. Pick an app and scroll down to see the permissions that the app uses. For developers, the adb '-s' option displays the permissions in a form similar to how the user sees them:

$ adb shell pm list permissions -s
All Permissions:

Network communication: view Wi-Fi state, create Bluetooth connections, full
internet access, view network state

Your location: access extra location provider commands, fine (GPS) location,
mock location sources for testing, coarse (network-based) location

Services that cost you money: send SMS messages, directly call phone numbers

...

You can also use the adb -g option to grant all permissions automatically when installing an app on an emulator or test device:

$ adb shell install -g MyApp.apk

Additional resources