12L 功能和变更

12L 功能投放让 Android 12 在大屏设备上表现更出色

12L 是一次特殊的功能投放,可让 Android 12 在大屏设备上表现更出色。我们针对大屏设备优化了系统界面,使多任务处理更强大、更直观,并改进了对应用的兼容性支持,使应用在默认情况下看起来更美观。我们还新增了少量开发者 API。

我们计划在 2022 年初的功能投放波次中发布 12L,以此争取在下一波 Android 12 平板电脑、Chromebook 和可折叠设备中搭载。未来几个月,这些功能将陆续应用于各种设备,为您的应用做好准备现正当时。您可以下载 12L 模拟器来开始使用。

下面我们来看看有哪些新变化。

针对大屏设备优化了操作系统

12L 优化了系统界面,使通知、快捷设置、锁屏、概览、主屏幕等元素在大屏设备上看起来更美观,使用起来更便捷。

在大屏设备上,通知栏以新的两列布局显示快捷设置和通知,以此充分利用空间。锁屏也使用更大的两列布局来突出显示通知和时钟,此外还优化了“设置”等系统应用。

大屏幕布局采用两列布局显示更多内容。

在优化后的操作系统中,大屏设备上的按键交互更加容易。例如,平板电脑的锁屏图案和 PIN 码控件现在显示在屏幕的一侧,更容易操控。用户只需点按屏幕另一侧,PIN 码/图案控件便会移至该侧。

对于可折叠设备,我们优化了主屏幕网格以及折叠-展开的转换效果,现在用户能够从单个外部屏幕无缝切换到更大的展开屏幕,增强连贯性的同时保留了他们的选择。

面向开发者:媒体投影的变化

从 12L 开始,当在 Surface 上呈现虚拟屏幕时,系统会根据 Surface 的大小缩放虚拟屏幕,其过程类似于使用 ImageViewcenterInside 选项。

这种新的缩放方法可最大限度地增加 Surface 图像的大小,同时确保适当的宽高比,提升了将屏幕投射到电视和其他大屏幕上的效果。

如需了解详情,请参阅大屏设备上的媒体投影

强大直观的多任务处理功能

用户经常会在使用屏幕较大的平板电脑、Chromebook 和可折叠设备时执行多任务处理。12L 中新增的生产力功能使多任务处理变得更强大、更直观。

12L 添加了新的任务栏,让您可以更轻松地即时启动和切换应用。手势更是提升了任务栏的使用速度,您可以通过拖放进入分屏模式,向上滑动进入主屏幕。在手势导航中,快速切换手势可让用户浏览最近使用的应用。用户可以通过长按随时显示或隐藏任务栏。

通过任务栏,用户可以更快地启动和切换应用,通过拖放进入分屏模式,向上滑动返回主屏幕。

在分屏模式下运行应用是一种常见的多任务处理方式。在 12L 中,分屏模式比以往更容易阅读和使用。现在,用户可以直接从任务栏将他们最常用的应用拖放到分屏中,也可以使用概览中的新“拆分”操作通过点按来启动分屏模式。

为了给用户提供更一致的分屏体验,Android 12 及更高版本允许所有应用进入多窗口模式,无论它们是否可调整大小。

面向开发者:在分屏模式下测试应用

由于分屏模式的使用越来越普遍,以及 Android 12 中引入的变更允许用户将所有应用启动到分屏模式,我们强烈建议您在分屏模式下测试应用。

改善了兼容性体验

许多应用已经针对大屏设备进行了优化,现在可通过自适应布局、多窗口模式支持、跨屏幕尺寸的连贯性和设备折叠状态变化等功能提供出色的体验。

对于尚未优化的应用,我们对兼容模式进行了视觉和稳定性方面的改进,以便为用户提供更好的体验,同时使这些应用在默认情况下看起来更美观。

兼容模式的改进可为未针对大屏设备进行优化的应用提供更好的用户体验。

现在设备制造商可通过叠加层配置来自定义一些选项,改进了信箱模式的界面。例如,设备制造商现在可以配置应用宽高比、对应用窗口应用圆角,以及设置状态栏透明度。

面向开发者:在兼容模式下检查应用

如果您的应用尚未优化,无法适应屏幕尺寸和设备折叠状态变化,您的应用可能会在兼容模式下启动。我们建议您使用 12L 兼容模式来测试应用,以确保您的应用外观和功能正常。

如需了解详情,请参阅增强的信箱模式

针对大屏设备的更多更新和资源

大屏设备上 Google Play 的变化

为了让用户更轻松地在平板电脑、可折叠设备和 Chrome 操作系统设备上找到最佳应用体验,我们正在对 Play 进行调整,以突出显示针对用户设备进行了优化的应用。

我们添加了新的检查服务,以按照大屏设备应用质量指南评估每个应用的质量,确保我们在这些设备上呈现尽可能最出色的应用。对于未针对大屏设备进行优化的应用,我们将在相应应用的 Play 商店的商品详情页上发布通知,提醒大屏设备用户。

我们还将引入大屏设备专用应用评分机制(正如 2021 年初公布的那样),以便用户可以对您的应用在其大屏设备上的运行状况进行评分。

这些变更将于 2022 年推出,因此您还有足够时间为您的应用做好准备。

使用 Jetpack WindowManager 嵌入 activity

利用 activity 嵌入功能,您可以一次显示多个 activity(例如,在列表-详情模式下),以便充分利用大屏设备的额外显示区域,并且只需对应用进行少量重构,甚至无需重构。您可以通过创建 XML 配置文件或进行 Jetpack WindowManager API 调用,确定应用如何显示其 activity(并排或堆叠)。系统处理其余的工作,根据您创建的配置确定呈现方式。如果您的应用使用多个 activity,建议您尝试嵌入 activity。如需了解详情,请参阅 activity 嵌入

设备屏幕方向请求

与标准手机不同,可折叠设备和平板电脑经常在横屏和竖屏模式下切换使用。平板电脑通常横向放置,而可折叠设备可根据其折叠状态确定放置方向。

有些应用会请求固定的屏幕方向(横屏或竖屏),并且希望无论设备的屏幕方向如何,都保持首选屏幕方向(请参阅 screenOrientation 清单属性)。尽管在 12L 中仍支持此功能,但现在我们允许设备制造商覆盖应用的首选屏幕方向请求。

在 Android 12(API 级别 31)及更高版本中,设备制造商可以将个别设备屏幕(例如,可折叠设备的平板电脑大小的屏幕)配置为忽略屏幕方向指定,并强制应用在竖屏模式下垂直展示,在横屏模式下以信箱模式展示。通过忽略屏幕方向指定,Android 可以更好地满足开发者始终以固定宽高比展示应用的意图,同时将应用保持在最易使用的方向。

不过,为了提供最佳用户体验,请在设计应用时采用自适应布局。在尺寸大于 600dp 的屏幕上,无论是竖屏模式还是横屏模式,这种布局都能充分利用可用的屏幕空间。

让您的应用做好准备

12L 功能投放将于 2022 年初面向大屏设备推出,在您的应用中试用这些新功能并向我们提供反馈时不我待。

您可以先设置 12L 模拟器。您将能够看到针对大屏设备所做的最新系统界面更改,在您的应用中试用任务栏和分屏模式,在兼容模式下测试您的应用,甚至还可以尝试使用 Jetpack WindowManager API 嵌入 activity。

使用 Android 模拟器新增的可调整大小设备定义,在各种大屏设备场景下测试 12L。

如果您刚开始进行大屏设备开发,请参阅大屏设备和可折叠设备指南,阅读有关如何在这些设备上打造出色体验的最新指南和技术。12L 开发者预览版将定期更新,敬请关注。

您可以在计划概览和时间轴页面上查看时间轴,详细了解预览版计划。

要测试的内容

为 12L 创建虚拟设备后,您需要使用一些常见的大屏设备用例测试您的应用,以确保应用按预期响应。下面列出了几项建议的测试内容,并提供了指向有关相关资源的详细信息的链接,这些资源可以帮助您针对大屏设备优化应用:

要测试的内容 资源
屏幕尺寸、设备折叠状态和旋转

检查当屏幕尺寸因设备折叠状态变化(例如展开可折叠设备或将可折叠设备置于桌面模式)而变化时,应用如何响应。此外,尝试在处于上述各状态时旋转设备,确保应用以最佳方式响应。

文档 示例 Codelab 技术讲座
任务栏交互和分屏模式

检查在大屏设备上使用任务栏查看应用时,应用如何响应。检查应用界面是否被任务栏截断或阻止,尝试使用任务栏进入和退出分屏和多窗口模式,并使用任务栏测试在您的应用与其他应用之间快速切换。

如果应用的屏幕方向固定且不可调整,请检查应用如何响应兼容模式调整(例如信箱模式)。

文档 示例 技术讲座
多窗口模式

检查您的应用在大屏设备 (sw >= 600dp) 上以多窗口模式运行时如何响应,尤其是当应用设置 resizeableActivity="false" 时。

如果您的应用设置 resizeableActivity="true",还需检查应用在小屏设备 (sw < 600dp) 上以多窗口模式运行时如何响应。

如果您的应用使用 Display API(如 Display.getRealSize()Display.getRealMetrics()),请改为使用 Jetpack WindowManager 库中的 WindowMetrics API。

文档 示例 技术讲座
媒体投影

如果您的应用使用媒体投影,检查您的应用在大屏设备上播放、流式传输或投射媒体时如何响应。此外,请务必考虑可折叠设备上的设备折叠状态变化。

文档 示例 技术讲座
相机预览

对于相机应用,检查当您的应用在多窗口模式或分屏模式下被限制在屏幕某个区域时,相机预览界面在大屏设备上如何响应。此外,还要检查应用在可折叠设备的折叠状态发生变化时如何响应。

文档

12L features and changes

The 12L feature drop makes Android 12 even better on large
screens

12L is a special feature drop that makes Android 12 even better on large screens. We've optimized and polished the system UI for large screens, made multitasking more powerful and intuitive, and improved our compatibility support for apps so they look better by default. We've also added a handful of developer APIs.

We plan to release 12L in a feature drop in early 2022, in time for the next wave of Android 12 tablets, Chromebooks, and foldables. With these features coming to devices in the months ahead, now is a great time to get your apps ready. You can get started by downloading the 12L emulator or by getting 12L on a partner device.

Here's a look at what's new.

An OS optimized for large screens

12L refines the system UI to make it more beautiful and easier to use on large screens—across notifications, quick settings, lockscreen, overview, the home screen, and more.

On large screens, the notification shade takes advantage of the space by showing Quick Settings and notifications in a new two-column layout. The lock screen also uses a larger two-column layout to highlight notifications and clock, and system apps like Settings are also optimized.

Large screen layouts display more content in a two-column layout.

We also focused on making key interactions easier on larger screens. For example, the lock screen pattern and PIN controls on tablets are now displayed at the side of the screen for easier reach, and users can simply tap the other side of the screen to bring the pin/pattern controls over to that side.

For foldables, we optimized the home screen grid and polished the fold-unfold transition, so that users move seamlessly from a single exterior screen to the larger unfolded screen, reinforcing continuity while preserving their choices.

For developers: Change in media projection

Starting in 12L, when the virtual display is rendered on the surface, the virtual display is scaled to fit the surface using a process similar to the centerInside option of ImageView.

The new scaling approach improves screen casting to televisions and other large displays by maximizing the size of the surface image while ensuring the proper aspect ratio.

For more details, see Media projection on large screens.

Powerful and intuitive multitasking

Users often multitask when using the larger screens of tablets, Chromebooks, and foldables. In 12L, new productivity features make multitasking even more powerful and intuitive.

12L adds a new taskbar that makes it easier to launch and switch apps on the fly. Gestures make using the taskbar even faster, with drag and drop to enter split-screen mode and swipe up to go home. In gesture navigation, a quick-switch gesture lets users flip through recent apps. Users can reveal or hide the taskbar at any time with a long press.

The taskbar lets users launch and switch apps faster, drag and drop to enter split-screen mode, and swipe up to go back home.

Running apps in split-screen mode is a popular way of multitasking, and in 12L we've made split screen easier than ever to discover and use. Users can now drag and drop their favorite apps into split screen directly from the taskbar, or they can also use a new "Split" action in the overview to start split-screen mode with a tap.

To make split screen a more consistent experience for users, Android 12 and higher allows all apps to enter multi-window mode, regardless of whether they are resizable.

For developers: Test your apps in split-screen mode

With split-screen mode becoming more accessible, and with the change in Android 12 that lets users launch all apps into split-screen, we strongly recommend that you test your apps in split-screen mode.

Improved compatibility experience

Many apps are already optimized for large screen devices and offer great experiences through responsive layouts, support for multi-window mode, continuity across screen size and device posture changes, and more.

For apps that are not yet optimized, we've made visual and stability improvements to our compatibility mode to provide a better experience for users and make those apps look better by default.

Compatibility mode improvements provide a better user experience for apps that are not optimized for large screens.

We improved the UI for letterboxing by making a number of options customizable by device manufacturers through overlay configurations. For example, device manufacturers can now configure the app aspect ratio, apply rounded corners to the app window, and set the status bar transparency.

For developers: Check your apps in compatibility mode

If your app isn't yet optimized to adapt to screen size and device posture changes, your app may be launched in compatibility mode. We recommend testing your app with 12L compatibility modes to make sure your app looks and functions properly.

For more details, see Enhanced letterboxing.

More updates and resources for large screens

Changes to Google Play on large screens

To make it easier for people to find the best app experiences on their tablets, foldables, and Chrome OS devices, we're making changes in Play to highlight apps that are optimized for their devices.

We’re adding new checks to assess each app’s quality against our large screen app quality guidelines to ensure that we surface the best possible apps on those devices. For apps that are not optimized for large screens, we’ll start warning large screen users with a notice on the app’s Play Store listing page.

We'll also be introducing large-screen-specific app ratings, as announced earlier in 2021, so users will be able to rate how your app works on their large screen devices.

These changes are coming in 2022, so we're giving you time to get your apps ready.

Activity embedding with Jetpack WindowManager

Activity embedding lets you take advantage of the extra display area of large screens by showing multiple activities at once, such as for the List-Detail pattern, and it requires little or no refactoring of your app. You determine how your app displays its activities—side by side or stacked—by creating an XML configuration file or making Jetpack WindowManager API calls. The system handles the rest, determining the presentation based on the configuration you’ve created. If your app uses multiple activities, we recommend giving activity embedding a try. To learn more, see Activity embedding.

Device orientation request

Unlike standard phones, foldables and tablets are frequently used in both landscape and portrait orientations. Tablets are often docked in landscape position, while foldables can be oriented based on their fold.

Some apps request a fixed orientation in portrait or landscape and expect to remain in their preferred orientation regardless of the orientation of the device (see the screenOrientation manifest attribute). While this is still supported in 12L, we’re now giving device manufacturers the option of overriding the app’s request for a preferred orientation.

In Android 12 (API level 31) and higher, device manufacturers can configure individual device screens (such as the tablet-size screen of a foldable) to ignore the orientation specification and force an app in portrait mode to be presented upright but letterboxed on landscape displays. By ignoring the specification, Android can better serve the developer’s intention of always presenting an app in a fixed aspect ratio while keeping the app oriented for optimal usability.

However, for the best user experience, design your apps with responsive layouts that make full use of the screen space available in both portrait and landscape orientations on screens larger than 600dp.

Get your apps ready

With the 12L feature drop coming to large screen devices in early 2022, now is the time to try your apps for the new features and give us feedback.

You can get started by setting up the 12L emulator. You'll be able to see the latest system UI changes for large screens, try your apps with the taskbar and split screen mode, test your app in compatibility mode, and even try activity embedding with the Jetpack WindowManager APIs.

Use the new resizable device definition for the Android Emulator to test 12L with variety of large screen scenarios.

If you're just getting started with large screens development, check out Large Screens and Foldables guides to read the latest guidance and techniques for building great experiences on these devices. Watch for regular updates coming your way throughout the 12L Developer Preview.

You can check out the timeline and learn more about the Preview program on the Program overview and timeline page.

What to test

After creating virtual devices for 12L, you'll want to test your app with some common large screen use cases to make sure that your app responds how you want. Here are a few recommended areas, with links to more details about related resources that can help you optimize your app for large screens:

What to test Resources
Screen sizes, device posture, and rotation

Check how your app responds when the size of the screen changes due to device posture changes (such as unfolding a foldable device or putting a foldable device in tabletop mode). Also try rotating the device in each of these states to ensure that your app responds optimally.

Documentation Samples Codelabs Technical talks
Taskbar interaction and split-screen mode

Check how your app responds when viewed with the taskbar on large screens. Check that your app's UI isn't cut off or blocked by the taskbar, try entering and exiting split-screen and multi-window modes using the taskbar, and test quickly switching between your app and other apps using the taskbar.

If your app has a fixed orientation and is not resizable, check how your app responds to compatibility mode adjustments such as letterboxing.

Documentation Samples Technical talks
Multi-window mode

Check how your app responds when running in multi-window mode on large screens (sw >= 600dp), especially if your app sets resizeableActivity="false".

If your app sets resizeableActivity="true", also be sure to check how your app responds when running in multi-window mode on small screens (sw < 600dp).

If your app uses Display APIs such as Display.getRealSize() and Display.getRealMetrics(), use the WindowMetrics APIs in the Jetpack WindowManager library instead.

Documentation Samples Technical talks
Media projection

If your app uses media projection, check how your app responds while playing back, streaming, or casting media on large screen devices. Be sure to account for device posture changes on foldable devices as well.

Documentation Samples Technical talks
Camera preview

For camera apps, check how your camera preview UI responds on large screens when your app is constrained to a portion of the screen in multi-window or split-screen mode. Also check how your app responds when a foldable device's posture changes.

Documentation