支持 Google Play 免安装体验的游戏的用户体验最佳做法

支持 Google Play 免安装体验的游戏是为玩家消除阻力并扩大游戏覆盖面的理想方式。本指南进一步说明了支持 Google Play 免安装体验的应用的用户体验最佳做法,并介绍了专门针对游戏的最佳做法。

确定目标用户体验

在使用 Google Play 免安装体验技术设计游戏体验时,请考虑您希望玩家如何与之互动。

您可以在免安装的情况下提供整个游戏。要想让玩家以最少的阻力畅玩您的游戏,这种方式就很不错。如果您无法提供整个游戏,您也可以创建此部分所述的其中一种体验。

打造免安装体验时应深思熟虑。这样,您就可以为玩家提供价值,从而扩大覆盖面。

预注册

您可以在即将推出的版本的预注册广告系列中部署 Google Play 免安装体验。您可以利用这种体验来帮助促成注册,对功能执行 A/B 测试以及与潜在玩家分享宣传语内容。

玩家从 Play 商店详情页面开启这种体验,也是在这里预注册游戏。

入门游戏内容

Google Play 免安装体验围绕游戏的前几个关卡或游戏教程构建,对玩家体验的改变微乎其微。当玩家通过体验免安装进而安装游戏时,您可以转移他们当前的游戏进度。

核心游戏内容

Google Play 免安装体验支持预览玩家在完成教程和入门关卡后看到的界面。如果同时采取了在玩家安装完整游戏后保存玩家进度的最佳做法,这种模式尤其有效。

新的游戏内容类型或关卡

随着游戏的发展不断成熟,它们可能会遭到玩家抛弃。这些玩家可能已经完成了当前的游戏,用完了目前所有的功能,或者由于各种其他原因而退出。Google Play 免安装体验可以向这些玩家展示游戏的更多体验,从而很好地重新吸引他们。这些新体验可能包括新的关卡或游戏玩法的改变。

迷你游戏

Google Play 免安装游戏体验是游戏安装版本的补充。这种体验通常包含不同的游戏内容元素,而且可能更为简单。

交叉推介和广告

有几种类型的广告系列(包括一般广告系列和交叉推介广告系列)可以直接将玩家引导至 Google Play 免安装体验,而非静态的 Google Play 商店详情页面。

这些体验包括以下几种:

  • 一般广告系列
  • 交叉推介广告系列:在您的其他游戏中推广您的某款游戏。
  • 重新互动广告系列:以流失的游戏玩家为目标的广告。

优化端到端体验

针对如何在玩家与支持 Google Play 免安装体验的游戏互动时优化他们的端到端体验,本部分提供了一些建议。您应该确保玩家能够从各种入口点快速开始免安装体验,并且应该鼓励玩家结束该体验,转而安装游戏的完整版本。

为玩家提供多个入口点

玩家可能通过以下任何方式找到您的游戏:

  • 某个广告。
  • 网站上的链接。
  • 来自好友的消息。
  • Google Play 游戏应用。
  • Play 商店中的立即体验按钮。
  • 二维码。

请至少提供这些方法中的其中几种来吸引玩家去玩您的游戏。

图 1 中的屏幕截图例举了这些游戏发现方法:

图 1. 玩家找到您的游戏的几种可能方式(从左到右,从上到下:广告系列,Hangouts 消息,Google Play 游戏应用,Play 商店)

快速开始体验

设备上显示游戏正在加载
图 2. 支持 Google Play 免安装体验的游戏加载时显示的动画

支持 Google Play 免安装体验的游戏会使用类似于街机的沉浸式动画作为加载屏幕,让玩家在游戏加载时保持互动,如图 2 所示:

如果您必须在游戏中显示额外的加载屏幕,请尝试尽可能缩短显示时间。

使返回按钮保持启用状态

图 3. 返回按钮警告对话框(泡泡女巫传奇 3)

由于支持 Google Play 免安装体验的游戏只需点按链接就能运行,因此有些玩家可能会无意中运行游戏。您需要为这些玩家提供退出游戏的方式。

请勿停用屏幕底部的 Android 返回按钮,而应该在玩家按下该按钮时显示警告,提醒他们即将退出游戏(如图 3 所示)。最好不要破坏既定的导航模式。

提供安装提示

您应该为玩家提供安装游戏的方式,以备他们决定想要继续在本地玩游戏。通常,您可以使用安装按钮。您可以在多个位置显示此按钮:

  • 永久显示在屏幕上。
  • 在关卡之间。
  • 在主菜单中。

图 4 中的屏幕截图例举了安装按钮的可能位置。图 5 中的屏幕截图演示了用户点按特定的安装按钮后所发生的应用内安装体验。

图 4. 邀请玩家安装游戏的几种可能方式(部落冲突:皇室战争,左;泡泡女巫传奇 3,右)
图 5. 内嵌应用安装体验 (Panda Pop)

安装后保留用户状态

确保玩家的进度和成就在安装后保存下来并仍然可用。他们应该能够从决定安装时退出的位置继续玩游戏。

推广您的游戏

一些最佳玩家是通过现有玩家的推荐逐渐获取的。Google Play 免安装体验可以在推荐游戏的朋友和首次尝试该游戏的朋友之间搭起安装的桥梁。

邀请

在支持多人游戏内容的游戏中,现有玩家会希望能够向朋友发送链接。通过该链接,这些朋友就可以加入玩家的战队或参与比赛。

以下列出了几种邀请方式示例:

  • 多人游戏邀请:玩家点按朋友发送的社交邀请链接。玩家无需等待游戏安装,即可开启 Google Play 免安装体验,并可立即开始与朋友一起玩游戏。一轮游戏结束后,朋友会看到安装游戏的提示。
  • 战队或部落邀请:玩家与朋友分享加入他们战队或部落的邀请。朋友点按邀请,专为邀请打造的 Google Play 免安装体验便开始了。接受邀请后,朋友会收到安装游戏的提示。
图 6. 基于奖杯的分享屏幕(泡泡女巫传奇 3)

游戏内容分享

现有玩家可能还希望向朋友发送链接以展示他们在游戏中的成就。常见的成就类型包括以下几种:

  • 分享游戏重放:玩家可以通过链接与朋友分享重大胜利。朋友点按该链接并启动 Google Play 免安装体验,系统会重放胜利过程,然后提示他们安装游戏。
  • 奖杯:一位玩家获得了新的游戏内资产或奖杯,想要向朋友展示,那么他们可以使用类似于图 6 所示的屏幕来展示。当朋友点按奖杯链接时,系统会启动 Google Play 免安装体验,让他们可以详细了解游戏奖励。当朋友查看奖励时,系统会提示他们安装游戏。

The second Android 11 Developer Preview is now available, test it out and share your feedback.

UX best practices for games on Google Play Instant

Games on Google Play Instant are a great way to remove friction for your players and increase your reach. This guide expands upon the UX best practices for apps on Google Play Instant and presents best practices specific to games.

Identify your target user experience

When designing your gaming experience using Google Play Instant, consider how you'd like players to interact with it.

You can make your entire game available without installation, which is a great way for players to enjoy your game with the least amount of friction. These types of full instant experience games are called Instant play and are eligible for featuring on the homepage of the Google Play Games app.

If you aren't able to make the entire game available, you can also create one of the types of trial experiences described in this section.

Be deliberate when building out your instant experience. In doing so, you'll increase your reach by providing value to your gamers.

Preregistration

You can deploy a Google Play Instant experience as part of a preregistration campaign for an upcoming release. You can use this experience to help generate signups, perform A/B testing of features, and share teaser content to prospective players.

Players launch this experience from the Play Store details page, which is also where they preregister for the game.

Introductory gameplay

This type of Google Play Instant experience is built around the first few levels of the game, or the game's tutorial, with minimal changes to the player's experience. When players install the game from the instant experience, you can transfer their current progression.

Core gameplay

This type of Google Play Instant experience provides a preview of what players see after they complete the tutorial and introductory levels. This pattern is particularly effective when combined with the best practice of saving players' progress after they install the full game.

New gameplay types or levels

Games can experience player abandonment as they mature. These players may have either finished the current game, exhausted all the current features, or dropped off for a variety of other reasons. Google Play Instant is a great way to re-engage these players by showing them what more they can experience with your game. These new experiences might include new levels or changed game mechanics.

Minigame

The Google Play Instant experience complements the installed version of your game. This experience often contains different gameplay elements and might be more simplistic.

Cross-promotion and ads

Several types of campaigns—including ad campaigns and cross-promotional ad campaigns—can launch players directly into the Google Play Instant experience instead of the static Google Play Store details page.

These experiences include the following:

  • Ad campaigns.
  • Cross-promotional ad campaigns: Advertising one of your games within one of your other games.
  • Re-engagement ad campaigns: Ads that target churned players of your game.

Polish the end-to-end experience

This section provides some suggestions for optimizing the end-to-end experience for players who interact with your game on Google Play Instant. You should make sure that your instant experience starts quickly from a variety of entry points, and if you have built a trial experience, you should encourage players to graduate out of the experience by installing a full version of your game.

Give players several entry points

Players may find your game using any of the following methods:

Provide at least a few of these methods for bringing players into your game.

The screenshots in Figure 1 show examples of these game discovery methods:

Figure 1. Several possible ways players might find your game (left to right, from top: ad campaign, Google Play Games app, Play Store)

Start the experience quickly

Device showing a game loading
Figure 2. Animation shown when a game loads on Google Play Instant

Games on Google Play Instant use an immersive, arcade-like animation as a loading screen to keep players engaged while the game loads, as shown in Figure 2:

If you must display an additional loading screen in the game, try to show it for as short a time period as possible.

Keep the back button enabled

Figure 3. Back button warning dialog (Bubble Witch 3 Saga)

Don't disable the Android back button at the bottom of the screen. Instead, show a warning when it's pressed to alert players they're about to exit the game, as shown in Figure 3. It's a good practice to not disrupt established navigational patterns.

Provide an installation prompt

If you have built a trial experience, you should provide a way for players to install the full game. Note that this isn't required for Instant play games that are featured in the Google Play Games app.

For trial Google Play Instant experiences, you would typically use an Install button. You can show this button in a variety of locations:

  • On screen permanently.
  • Between levels.
  • As part of the main menu.

The screenshots in Figure 4 present examples of possible Install button locations. The screenshot in Figure 5 demonstrates the in-app installation experience that occurs after players tap a given Install button.

Figure 4. Several possible ways of inviting players to install a game (Clash Royale, left; Bubble Witch 3 Saga, right)
Figure 5. Inline app installation experience (Panda Pop)

Preserve user state after installation

Ensure players' progress and achievements are saved and available after installation. They should be able to continue playing where they left off when they decided to install.

Make your game viral

Some of the best players are acquired organically through recommendations from existing players. Google Play Instant can bridge the installation gap between one friend recommending a game and another friend trying it out for the first time.