Skip to content

Most visited

Recently visited

navigation

压缩代码和资源

要尽可能减小 APK 文件,您应该启用压缩来移除发布构建中未使用的代码和资源。此页面介绍如何执行该操作,以及如何指定要在构建时保留或舍弃的代码和资源。

代码压缩通过 ProGuard 提供,ProGuard 会检测和移除封装应用中未使用的类、字段、方法和属性,包括自带代码库中的未使用项(这使其成为以变通方式解决 64k 引用限制的有用工具)。ProGuard 还可优化字节码,移除未使用的代码指令,以及用短名称混淆其余的类、字段和方法。混淆过的代码可令您的 APK 难以被逆向工程,这在应用使用许可验证等安全敏感性功能时特别有用。

资源压缩通过适用于 Gradle 的 Android 插件提供,该插件会移除封装应用中未使用的资源,包括代码库中未使用的资源。它可与代码压缩发挥协同效应,使得在移除未使用的代码后,任何不再被引用的资源也能安全地移除。

本文介绍的功能依赖下列组件:

压缩代码

要通过 ProGuard 启用代码压缩,请在 build.gradle 文件内相应的构建类型中添加 minifyEnabled true

请注意,代码压缩会拖慢构建速度,因此您应该尽可能避免在调试构建中使用。不过,重要的是您一定要为用于测试的最终 APK 启用代码压缩,因为如果您不能充分地自定义要保留的代码,可能会引入错误。

例如,下面这段来自 build.gradle 文件的代码用于为发布构建启用代码压缩:

android {
    buildTypes {
        release {
            minifyEnabled true
            proguardFiles getDefaultProguardFile('proguard-android.txt'),
                    'proguard-rules.pro'
        }
    }
    ...
}

:Android Studio 会在使用 Instant Run 时停用 ProGuard。如果您需要为增量式构建压缩代码,请尝试试用 Gradle 压缩器

除了 minifyEnabled 属性外,还有用于定义 ProGuard 规则的 proguardFiles 属性:

要添加更多各构建变体专用的 ProGuard 规则,请在相应的 productFlavor 代码块中再添加一个 proguardFiles 属性。例如,以下 Gradle 文件会向 flavor2 产品定制添加 flavor2-rules.pro。现在 flavor2 使用所有三个 ProGuard 规则,因为还应用了来自 release 代码块的规则。

android {
    ...
    buildTypes {
        release {
            minifyEnabled true
            proguardFiles getDefaultProguardFile('proguard-android.txt'),
                   'proguard-rules.pro'
        }
    }
    productFlavors {
        flavor1 {
        }
        flavor2 {
            proguardFile 'flavor2-rules.pro'
        }
    }
}

每次构建时 ProGuard 都会输出下列文件:

dump.txt
说明 APK 中所有类文件的内部结构。
mapping.txt
提供原始与混淆过的类、方法和字段名称之间的转换。
seeds.txt
列出未进行混淆的类和成员。
usage.txt
列出从 APK 移除的代码。

这些文件保存在 <module-name>/build/outputs/mapping/release/ 中。

自定义要保留的代码

对于某些情况,默认 ProGuard 配置文件 (proguard-android.txt) 足以满足需要,ProGuard 会移除所有(并且只会移除)未使用的代码。不过,ProGuard 难以对许多情况进行正确分析,可能会移除应用真正需要的代码。举例来说,它可能错误移除代码的情况包括:

测试应用应该能够发现因不当移除的代码而导致的错误,但您也可以通过查看 <module-name>/build/outputs/mapping/release/ 中保存的 usage.txt 输出文件来检查移除了哪些代码。

要修正错误并强制 ProGuard 保留特定代码,请在 ProGuard 配置文件中添加一行 -keep 代码。例如:

-keep public class MyClass

或者,您可以向您想保留的代码添加 @Keep 注解。在类上添加 @Keep 可原样保留整个类。在方法或字段上添加它可完整保留方法/字段(及其名称)以及类名称。请注意,只有在使用注解支持库时,才能使用此注解。

在使用 -keep 选项时,有许多事项需要考虑;如需了解有关自定义配置文件的详细信息,请阅读 ProGuard 手册问题排查一章概述了您可能会在混淆代码时遇到的其他常见问题。

解码混淆过的堆叠追踪

在 ProGuard 压缩代码后,读取堆叠追踪变得困难(即使并非不可行),因为方法名称经过了混淆处理。幸运的是,ProGuard 每次运行时都会创建一个 mapping.txt 文件,其中显示了与混淆过的名称对应的原始类名称、方法名称和字段名称。ProGuard 将该文件保存在应用的 <module-name>/build/outputs/mapping/release/ 目录中。

请注意,您每次使用 ProGuard 创建发布构建时都会覆盖 mapping.txt 文件,因此您每次发布新版本时都必须小心地保存一个副本。通过为每个发布构建保留一个 mapping.txt 文件副本,您就可以在用户提交的已混淆堆叠追踪来自旧版本应用时对问题进行调试。

在 Google Play 上发布应用时,您可以上传每个 APK 版本的 mapping.txt 文件。Google Play 将根据用户报告的问题对收到的堆叠追踪进行去混淆处理,以便您在 Google Play Developer Console 中进行检查。如需了解详细信息,请参阅帮助中心有关如何对崩溃堆叠追踪进行去混淆处理的文章。

要自行将混淆过的堆叠追踪转换成可读的堆叠追踪,请使用 retrace 脚本(在 Windows 上为 retrace.bat;在 Mac/Linux 上为 retrace.sh)。它位于 <sdk-root>/tools/proguard/ 目录中。该脚本利用 mapping.txt 文件和您的堆叠追踪生成新的可读堆叠追踪。使用 retrace 工具的语法如下:

retrace.bat|retrace.sh [-verbose] mapping.txt [<stacktrace_file>]

例如:

retrace.bat -verbose mapping.txt obfuscated_trace.txt

如果您不指定堆叠追踪文件,retrace 工具会从标准输入读取。

通过 Instant Run 启用代码压缩

如果代码压缩在您增量构建应用时非常重要,请尝试适用于 Gradle 的 Android 插件内置的试用代码压缩器。与 ProGuard 不同,此压缩器支持 Instant Run

您也可以使用与 ProGuard 相同的配置文件来配置 Android 插件压缩器。但是,Android 插件压缩器不会对您的代码进行混淆处理或优化,它只会删除未使用的代码。因此,您应该仅将其用于调试构建,并为发布构建启用 ProGuard,以便对发布 APK 的代码进行混淆处理和优化。

要启用 Android 插件压缩器,只需在 "debug" 构建类型中将 useProguard 设置为 false(并保留 minifyEnabled 设置 true):

android {
    buildTypes {
        debug {
            minifyEnabled true
            useProguard false
            proguardFiles getDefaultProguardFile('proguard-android.txt'),
                    'proguard-rules.pro'
        }
        release {
            minifyEnabled true
            proguardFiles getDefaultProguardFile('proguard-android.txt'),
                    'proguard-rules.pro'
        }
    }
}

:如果 Android 插件压缩器最初删除了某个方法,但您之后更改了代码,使该方法可访问,Instant Run 会将其视为结构代码更改并执行冷交换。

压缩资源

资源压缩只与代码压缩协同工作。代码压缩器移除所有未使用的代码后,资源压缩器便可确定应用仍然使用的资源。这在您添加包含资源的代码库时体现得尤为明显 - 您必须移除未使用的库代码,使库资源变为未引用资源,才能通过资源压缩器将它们移除。

要启用资源压缩,请在 build.gradle 文件中将 shrinkResources 属性设置为 true(在用于代码压缩的 minifyEnabled 旁边)。例如:

android {
    ...
    buildTypes {
        release {
            shrinkResources true
            minifyEnabled true
            proguardFiles getDefaultProguardFile('proguard-android.txt'),
                    'proguard-rules.pro'
        }
    }
}

如果您尚未使用代码压缩用途的 minifyEnabled 构建应用,请先尝试使用它,然后再启用 shrinkResources,因为您可能需要编辑 proguard-rules.pro 文件以保留动态创建或调用的类或方法,然后再开始移除资源。

:资源压缩器目前不会移除 values/ 文件夹中定义的资源(例如字符串、尺寸、样式和颜色)。这是因为 Android 资源打包工具 (AAPT) 不允许 Gradle 插件为资源指定预定义版本。有关详情,请参阅问题 70869

自定义要保留的资源

如果您有想要保留或舍弃的特定资源,请在您的项目中创建一个包含 <resources> 标记的 XML 文件,并在 tools:keep 属性中指定每个要保留的资源,在 tools:discard 属性中指定每个要舍弃的资源。这两个属性都接受逗号分隔的资源名称列表。您可以使用星号字符作为通配符。

例如:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<resources xmlns:tools="http://schemas.android.com/tools"
    tools:keep="@layout/l_used*_c,@layout/l_used_a,@layout/l_used_b*"
    tools:discard="@layout/unused2" />

将该文件保存在项目资源中,例如,保存在 res/raw/keep.xml。构建不会将该文件打包到 APK 之中。

指定要舍弃的资源可能看似愚蠢,因为您本可将它们删除,但在使用构建变体时,这样做可能很有用。例如,如果您明知给定资源表面上会在代码中使用(并因此不会被压缩器移除),但实际不会用于给定构建变体,就可以将所有资源放入公用项目目录,然后为每个构建变体创建一个不同的 keep.xml 文件。构建工具也可能无法根据需要正确识别资源,这是因为编译器会添加内联资源 ID,而资源分析器可能不知道真正引用的资源和恰巧具有相同值的代码中的整数值之间的差别。

启用严格引用检查

正常情况下,资源压缩器可准确判定系统是否使用了资源。不过,如果您的代码调用 Resources.getIdentifier()(或您的任何库进行了这一调用 - AppCompat 库会执行该调用),这就表示您的代码将根据动态生成的字符串查询资源名称。当您执行这一调用时,默认情况下资源压缩器会采取防御性行为,将所有具有匹配名称格式的资源标记为可能已使用,无法移除。

例如,以下代码会使所有带 img_ 前缀的资源标记为已使用。

String name = String.format("img_%1d", angle + 1);
res = getResources().getIdentifier(name, "drawable", getPackageName());

资源压缩器还会浏览代码以及各种 res/raw/ 资源中的所有字符串常量,寻找格式类似于 file:///android_res/drawable//ic_plus_anim_016.png 的资源网址。如果它找到与其类似的字符串,或找到其他看似可用来构建与其类似的网址的字符串,则不会将它们移除。

这些是默认情况下启用的安全压缩模式的示例。但您可以停用这一“有备无患”处理方式,并指定资源压缩器只保留其确定已使用的资源。要执行此操作,请在 keep.xml 文件中将 shrinkMode 设置为 strict,如下所示:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<resources xmlns:tools="http://schemas.android.com/tools"
    tools:shrinkMode="strict" />

如果您确已启用严格压缩模式,并且代码也引用了包含动态生成字符串的资源(如上所示),则必须利用 tools:keep 属性手动保留这些资源。

移除未使用的备用资源

Gradle 资源压缩器只会移除未被您的应用代码引用的资源,这意味着它不会移除用于不同设备配置的备用资源。必要时,您可以使用 Android Gradle 插件的 resConfigs 属性来移除您的应用不需要的备用资源文件。

例如,如果您使用的库包含语言资源(例如使用的是 AppCompat 或 Google Play 服务),则 APK 将包括这些库中消息的所有已翻译语言字符串,无论应用的其余部分是否翻译为同一语言。如果您想只保留应用正式支持的语言,则可以利用 resConfig 属性指定这些语言。系统会移除未指定语言的所有资源。

下面这段代码展示了如何将语言资源限定为仅支持英语和法语:

android {
    defaultConfig {
        ...
        resConfigs "en", "fr"
    }
}

同理,您也可以利用 APK 拆分为不同设备构建不同的 APK,自定义在 APK 中包括的屏幕密度或 ABI 资源。

合并重复资源

默认情况下,Gradle 还会合并同名资源,例如可能位于不同资源文件夹中的同名可绘制对象。这一行为不受 shrinkResources 属性控制,也无法停用,因为在有多个资源匹配代码查询的名称时,有必要利用这一行为来避免错误。

只有在两个或更多个文件具有完全相同的资源名称、类型和限定符时,才会进行资源合并。Gradle 会在重复项中选择其视为最佳选择的文件(根据下述优先顺序),并只将这一个资源传递给 AAPT,以供在 APK 文件中分发。

Gradle 会在下列位置寻找重复资源:

Gradle 会按以下级联优先顺序合并重复资源:

依赖项 → 主资源 → 构建风味 → 构建类型

例如,如果某个重复资源同时出现在主资源和构建风味中,Gradle 会选择构建风味中的重复资源。

如果完全相同的资源出现在同一源集中,Gradle 无法合并它们,并且会发出资源合并错误。如果您在 build.gradle 文件的 sourceSet 属性中定义了多个源集,则可能会发生这种情况,例如,如果 src/main/res/src/main/res2/ 包含完全相同的资源,就可能会发生这种情况。

排查资源压缩问题

当您压缩资源时,Gradle Console 会显示它从应用软件包中移除的资源的摘要。例如:

:android:shrinkDebugResources
Removed unused resources: Binary resource data reduced from 2570KB to 1711KB: Removed 33%
:android:validateDebugSigning

Gradle 还会在 <module-name>/build/outputs/mapping/release/(ProGuard 输出文件所在的文件夹)中创建一个名为 resources.txt 的诊断文件。该文件包括诸如哪些资源引用了其他资源以及使用或移除了哪些资源等详情。

例如,要了解您的 APK 为何仍包含 @drawable/ic_plus_anim_016,请打开 resources.txt 文件并搜索该文件名。您可能会发现,有其他资源引用了它,如下所示:

16:25:48.005 [QUIET] [system.out] @drawable/add_schedule_fab_icon_anim : reachable=true
16:25:48.009 [QUIET] [system.out]     @drawable/ic_plus_anim_016

现在您需要了解为何 @drawable/add_schedule_fab_icon_anim 可以访问 - 如果您向上搜索,就会发现“The root reachable resources are:”之下列有该资源。这意味着存在对 add_schedule_fab_icon_anim 的代码引用(即在可访问代码中找到了其 R.drawable ID)。

如果您使用的不是严格检查,则存在看似可用于为动态加载资源构建资源名称的字符串常量时,可将资源 ID 标记为可访问。在这种情况下,如果您在构建输出中搜索资源名称,可能会找到类似下面这样的消息:

10:32:50.590 [QUIET] [system.out] Marking drawable:ic_plus_anim_016:2130837506
    used because it format-string matches string pool constant ic_plus_anim_%1$d.

如果您看到一个这样的字符串,并且您能确定该字符串未用于动态加载给定资源,就可以按照有关如何自定义要保留的资源部分中所述利用 tools:discard 属性通知构建系统将它移除。

This site uses cookies to store your preferences for site-specific language and display options.

Follow Google Developers on WeChat

Browse this site in ?

You requested a page in , but your language preference for this site is .

Would you like to change your language preference and browse this site in ? If you want to change your language preference later, use the language menu at the bottom of each page.

This class requires API level or higher

This doc is hidden because your selected API level for the documentation is . You can change the documentation API level with the selector above the left navigation.

For more information about specifying the API level your app requires, read Supporting Different Platform Versions.

Take a short survey?
Help us improve the Android developer experience.
(Sep 2017 survey)

Skip to content

Most visited

Recently visited

navigation

Shrink Your Code and Resources

To make your APK file as small as possible, you should enable shrinking to remove unused code and resources in your release build. This page describes how to do that and how to specify what code and resources to keep or discard during the build.

Code shrinking is available with ProGuard, which detects and removes unused classes, fields, methods, and attributes from your packaged app, including those from included code libraries (making it a valuable tool for working around the 64k reference limit). ProGuard also optimizes the bytecode, removes unused code instructions, and obfuscates the remaining classes, fields, and methods with short names. The obfuscated code makes your APK difficult to reverse engineer, which is especially valuable when your app uses security-sensitive features, such as licensing verification.

Resource shrinking is available with the Android plugin for Gradle, which removes unused resources from your packaged app, including unused resources in code libraries. It works in conjunction with code shrinking such that once unused code has been removed, any resources no longer referenced can be safely removed as well.

Features in this document depend on:

Shrink Your Code

To enable code shrinking with ProGuard, add minifyEnabled true to the appropriate build type in your build.gradle file.

Be aware that code shrinking slows down the build time, so you should avoid using it on your debug build if possible. However, it's important that you do enable code shrinking on your final APK used for testing, because it might introduce bugs if you do not sufficiently customize which code to keep.

For example, the following snippet from a build.gradle file enables code shrinking for the release build:

android {
    buildTypes {
        release {
            minifyEnabled true
            proguardFiles getDefaultProguardFile('proguard-android.txt'),
                    'proguard-rules.pro'
        }
    }
    ...
}

Note: Android Studio disables ProGuard when using Instant Run. If you need code shrinking for incremental builds, try the experimental Gradle shrinker.

In addition to the minifyEnabled property, the proguardFiles property defines the ProGuard rules:

To add more ProGuard rules that are specific to each build variant, add another proguardFiles property in the corresponding productFlavor block. For example, the following Gradle file adds flavor2-rules.pro to the flavor2 product flavor. Now flavor2 uses all three ProGuard rules because those from the release block are also applied.

android {
    ...
    buildTypes {
        release {
            minifyEnabled true
            proguardFiles getDefaultProguardFile('proguard-android.txt'),
                   'proguard-rules.pro'
        }
    }
    productFlavors {
        flavor1 {
        }
        flavor2 {
            proguardFile 'flavor2-rules.pro'
        }
    }
}

With each build, ProGuard outputs the following files:

dump.txt
Describes the internal structure of all the class files in the APK.
mapping.txt
Provides a translation between the original and obfuscated class, method, and field names.
seeds.txt
Lists the classes and members that were not obfuscated.
usage.txt
Lists the code that was removed from the APK.

These files are saved at <module-name>/build/outputs/mapping/release/.

Customize which code to keep

For some situations, the default ProGuard configuration file (proguard-android.txt) is sufficient and ProGuard removes all—and only—the unused code. However, many situations are difficult for ProGuard to analyze correctly and it might remove code your app actually needs. Some examples of when it might incorrectly remove code include:

Testing your app should reveal any errors caused by inappropriately removed code, but you can also inspect what code was removed by reviewing the usage.txt output file saved in <module-name>/build/outputs/mapping/release/.

To fix errors and force ProGuard to keep certain code, add a -keep line in the ProGuard configuration file. For example:

-keep public class MyClass

Alternatively, you can add the @Keep annotation to the code you want to keep. Adding @Keep on a class keeps the entire class as-is. Adding it on a method or field will keep the method/field (and it's name) as well as the class name intact. Note that this annotation is available only when using the Annotations Support Library.

There are many considerations you should make when using the -keep option; for more information about customizing your configuration file, read the ProGuard Manual. The Troubleshooting section outlines other common problems you might encounter when your code gets stripped away.

Decode an obfuscated stack trace

After ProGuard shrinks your code, reading a stack trace is difficult (if not impossible) because the method names are obfuscated. Fortunately, ProGuard creates a mapping.txt file each time it runs, which shows the original class, method, and field names mapped to the obfuscated names. ProGuard saves the file in the app <module-name>/build/outputs/mapping/release/ directory.

Be aware that the mapping.txt file is overwritten every time you create a release build with ProGuard, so you must carefully save a copy each time you publish a new release. By retaining a copy of the mapping.txt file for each release build, you'll be able to debug a problem if a user submits an obfuscated stack trace from an older version of your app.

When publishing your app on Google Play, you can upload the mapping.txt file for each version of your APK. Then Google Play will deobfuscate incoming stack traces from user-reported issues so you can review them in the Google Play Developer Console. For more information, see the Help Center article about how to deobfuscate crash stack traces.

To convert an obfuscated stack trace to a readable one yourself, use the retrace script (retrace.bat on Windows; retrace.sh on Mac/Linux). It is located in the <sdk-root>/tools/proguard/ directory. The script takes the mapping.txt file and your stack trace, producing a new, readable stack trace. The syntax for using the retrace tool is:

retrace.bat|retrace.sh [-verbose] mapping.txt [<stacktrace_file>]

For example:

retrace.bat -verbose mapping.txt obfuscated_trace.txt

If you do not specify the stack trace file, the retrace tool reads from standard input.

Enable code shrinking with Instant Run

If code shrinking is important to you while incrementally building your app, try the experimental code shrinker that's built into the Android plugin for Gradle. This shrinker supports Instant Run, unlike ProGuard.

You can configure the Android plugin shrinker using the same configuration files as ProGuard. However, the Android plugin shrinker does not obfuscate or optimize your code—it only removes unused code. So you should use it for your debug builds only, and enable ProGuard for your release builds so your release APK's code is obfuscated and optimized.

To enable the Android plugin shrinker, simply set useProguard to false in your "debug" build type (and keep minifyEnabled set true):

android {
    buildTypes {
        debug {
            minifyEnabled true
            useProguard false
            proguardFiles getDefaultProguardFile('proguard-android.txt'),
                    'proguard-rules.pro'
        }
        release {
            minifyEnabled true
            proguardFiles getDefaultProguardFile('proguard-android.txt'),
                    'proguard-rules.pro'
        }
    }
}

Note: If the Android plugin shrinker initially removes a method, but you then make a code change to make the method reachable, Instant Run treats it as a structural code change and performs a cold swap.

Shrink Your Resources

Resource shrinking works only in conjunction with code shrinking. After the code shrinker removes all unused code, the resource shrinker can identify which resources the app still uses. This is especially true when you add code libraries that include resources—you must remove unused library code so the library resources become unreferenced and, thus, removable by the resource shrinker.

To enable resource shrinking, set the shrinkResources property to true in your build.gradle file (alongside minifyEnabled for code shrinking). For example:

android {
    ...
    buildTypes {
        release {
            shrinkResources true
            minifyEnabled true
            proguardFiles getDefaultProguardFile('proguard-android.txt'),
                    'proguard-rules.pro'
        }
    }
}

If you haven't already built your app using minifyEnabled for code shrinking, then try that before enabling shrinkResources, because you might need to edit your proguard-rules.pro file to keep classes or methods that are created or invoked dynamically before you start removing resources.

Note: The resource shrinker currently does not remove resources defined in a values/ folder (such as strings, dimensions, styles, and colors). This is because the Android Asset Packaging Tool (AAPT) does not allow the Gradle Plugin to specify predefined versions for resources. For details, see issue 70869.

Customize which resources to keep

If there are specific resources you wish to keep or discard, create an XML file in your project with a <resources> tag and specify each resource to keep in the tools:keep attribute and each resource to discard in the tools:discard attribute. Both attributes accept a comma-separated list of resource names. You can use the asterisk character as a wild card.

For example:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<resources xmlns:tools="http://schemas.android.com/tools"
    tools:keep="@layout/l_used*_c,@layout/l_used_a,@layout/l_used_b*"
    tools:discard="@layout/unused2" />

Save this file in your project resources, for example, at res/raw/keep.xml. The build does not package this file into your APK.

Specifying which resources to discard might seem silly when you could instead delete them, but this can be useful when using build variants. For example, you might put all your resources into the common project directory, then create a different keep.xml file for each build variant when you know that a given resource appears to be used in code (and therefore not removed by the shrinker) but you know it actually won't be used for the given build variant.

Enable strict reference checks

Normally, the resource shrinker can accurately determine whether a resource is used. However, if your code makes a call to Resources.getIdentifier() (or if any of your libraries do that—the AppCompat library does), that means your code is looking up resource names based on dynamically-generated strings. When you do this, the resource shrinker behaves defensively by default and marks all resources with a matching name format as potentially used and unavailable for removal.

For example, the following code causes all resources with the img_ prefix to be marked as used.

String name = String.format("img_%1d", angle + 1);
res = getResources().getIdentifier(name, "drawable", getPackageName());

The resource shrinker also looks through all the string constants in your code, as well as various res/raw/ resources, looking for resource URLs in a format similar to file:///android_res/drawable//ic_plus_anim_016.png. If it finds strings like this or others that look like they could be used to construct URLs like this, it doesn't remove them.

These are examples of the safe shrinking mode that is enabled by default. You can, however, turn off this "better safe than sorry" handling, and specify that the resource shrinker keep only resources that it's certain are used. To do this, set shrinkMode to strict in the keep.xml file, as follows:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<resources xmlns:tools="http://schemas.android.com/tools"
    tools:shrinkMode="strict" />

If you do enable strict shrinking mode and your code also references resources with dynamically-generated strings, as shown above, then you must manually keep those resources using the tools:keep attribute.

Remove unused alternative resources

The Gradle resource shrinker removes only resources that are not referenced by your app code, which means it will not remove alternative resources for different device configurations. If necessary, you can use the Android Gradle plugin's resConfigs property to remove alternative resource files that your app does not need.

For example, if you are using a library that includes language resources (such as AppCompat or Google Play Services), then your APK includes all translated language strings for the messages in those libraries whether the rest of your app is translated to the same languages or not. If you'd like to keep only the languages that your app officially supports, you can specify those languages using the resConfig property. Any resources for languages not specified are removed.

The following snippet shows how to limit your language resources to just English and French:

android {
    defaultConfig {
        ...
        resConfigs "en", "fr"
    }
}

Similarly, you can customize which screen density or ABI resources to include in your APK using APK splits to build different APKs for different devices.

Merge duplicate resources

By default, Gradle also merges identically named resources, such as drawables with the same name that might be in different resource folders. This behavior is not controlled by the shrinkResources property and cannot be disabled, because it is necessary to avoid errors when multiple resources match the name your code is looking up.

Resource merging occurs only when two or more files share an identical resource name, type, and qualifier. Gradle selects which file it considers to be the best choice among the duplicates (based on a priority order described below) and passes only that one resource to the AAPT for distribution in the APK file.

Gradle looks for duplicate resources in the following locations:

Gradle merges duplicate resources in the following cascading priority order:

Dependencies → Main → Build flavor → Build type

For example, if a duplicate resource appears in both your main resources and a build flavor, Gradle selects the one in the build flavor.

If identical resources appear in the same source set, Gradle cannot merge them and emits a resource merge error. This can happen if you define multiple source sets in the sourceSet property of your build.gradle file—for example if both src/main/res/ and src/main/res2/ contain identical resources.

Troubleshoot resource shrinking

When you shrink resources, the Gradle Console shows a summary of the resources that it removed from the app package. For example:

:android:shrinkDebugResources
Removed unused resources: Binary resource data reduced from 2570KB to 1711KB: Removed 33%
:android:validateDebugSigning

Gradle also creates a diagnostic file named resources.txt in <module-name>/build/outputs/mapping/release/ (the same folder as ProGuard's output files). This file includes details such as which resources reference other resources and which resources are used or removed.

For example, to find out why @drawable/ic_plus_anim_016 is still in your APK, open the resources.txt file and search for that file name. You might find that it's referenced from another resource, as follows:

16:25:48.005 [QUIET] [system.out] @drawable/add_schedule_fab_icon_anim : reachable=true
16:25:48.009 [QUIET] [system.out]     @drawable/ic_plus_anim_016

You now need to know why @drawable/add_schedule_fab_icon_anim is reachable—and if you search upwards you'll find that resource is listed under "The root reachable resources are:". This means there is a code reference to add_schedule_fab_icon_anim (that is, its R.drawable ID was found in the reachable code).

If you are not using strict checking, resource IDs can be marked as reachable if there are string constants that look like they might be used to construct resource names for dynamically loaded resources. In that case, if you search the build output for the resource name, you might find a message like this:

10:32:50.590 [QUIET] [system.out] Marking drawable:ic_plus_anim_016:2130837506
    used because it format-string matches string pool constant ic_plus_anim_%1$d.

If you see one of these strings and you are certain that the string is not being used to load the given resource dynamically, you can use the tools:discard attribute to inform the build system to remove it, as described in the section about how to customize which resources to keep.

This site uses cookies to store your preferences for site-specific language and display options.

Hooray!

This class requires API level or higher

This doc is hidden because your selected API level for the documentation is . You can change the documentation API level with the selector above the left navigation.

For more information about specifying the API level your app requires, read Supporting Different Platform Versions.

Take a one-minute survey?
Help us improve Android tools and documentation.