欢迎参加我们将于 6 月 3 日举行的 #Android11:Beta 版发布会

USB 配件概览

在 USB 配件模式下,用户可以连接专用于 Android 设备的 USB 主机硬件。配件必须遵循 Android 配件开发工具包文档中所述的 Android 配件协议。这样可以让不能充当 USB 主机的 Android 设备仍能够与 USB 硬件交互。当 Android 设备处于 USB 配件模式时,所连接的 Android USB 配件会充当主机,为 USB 总线供电,并枚举所连接的设备。Android 3.1(API 级别 12)支持 USB 配件模式,并且我们还将此功能向后移植到了 Android 2.3.4(API 级别 10)中,以支持更多的设备。

选择合适的 USB 配件 API

虽然 USB 配件 API 是在 Android 3.1 平台中推出的,但是这些 API 也通过 Google API 插件库在 Android 2.3.4 中提供。由于这些 API 是使用外部库向后移植的,因此您可以导入两个软件包来支持 USB 配件模式。您可能需要根据所要支持的 Android 设备来决定应使用哪一个软件包:

  • com.android.future.usb:为了在 Android 2.3.4 中支持 USB 配件模式,Google API 插件库包含了向后移植的 USB 配件 API,并且这些 API 也在此命名空间中。Android 3.1 还支持导入和调用此命名空间中的类,以支持使用该插件库编写的应用。此插件库是 android.hardware.usb 配件 API 的一个瘦封装容器,不支持 USB 主机模式。如果您想为那些支持 USB 配件模式的设备提供最广泛的支持,请使用该插件库并导入此软件包。需要注意的是,并非所有 Android 2.3.4 设备都必须支持 USB 配件功能。是否支持此功能由各设备制造商决定,因此您必须在清单文件中对此进行声明。
  • android.hardware.usb:此命名空间包含在 Android 3.1 中支持 USB 配件模式的类。框架 API 中包含了此软件包,因此 Android 3.1 无需使用插件库即可支持 USB 配件模式。如果您只关心在硬件上支持 USB 配件模式的 Android 3.1 或更高版本设备,请使用此软件包(您可以在清单文件中声明支持)。

安装 Google API 插件库

如果您想安装该插件,可以使用 SDK 管理器安装 Google API Android API 10 软件包。如需详细了解如何安装该插件库,请参阅安装 Google API 插件

API 概览

由于该插件库是框架 API 的封装容器,因此支持 USB 配件功能的类是相似的。即使您使用的是插件库,也可以使用 android.hardware.usb 的参考文档。

注意:但是,您需要注意的是,插件库和框架 API 之间存在细微的使用差别

下表介绍了支持 USB 配件 API 的类:

说明
UsbManager 允许您枚举所连接的 USB 配件并与之通信。
UsbAccessory 表示一个 USB 配件,并包含访问其标识信息的方法。

插件库和平台 API 之间的使用差异

Google API 插件库和平台 API 之间存在两项使用差异。

如果使用插件库,则必须通过以下方式获取 UsbManager 对象:

Kotlin

    val manager = UsbManager.getInstance(this)
    

Java

    UsbManager manager = UsbManager.getInstance(this);
    

如果不使用插件库,则必须通过以下方式获取 UsbManager 对象:

Kotlin

    val manager = getSystemService(Context.USB_SERVICE) as UsbManager
    

Java

    UsbManager manager = (UsbManager) getSystemService(Context.USB_SERVICE);
    

如果使用 Intent 过滤器过滤连接的配件,则 UsbAccessory 对象会包含在传递给应用的 Intent 中。如果使用插件库,则必须通过以下方式获取 UsbAccessory 对象:

Kotlin

    val accessory = UsbManager.getAccessory(intent)
    

Java

    UsbAccessory accessory = UsbManager.getAccessory(intent);
    

如果不使用插件库,则必须通过以下方式获取 UsbAccessory 对象:

Kotlin

    val accessory = intent.getParcelableExtra(UsbManager.EXTRA_ACCESSORY) as UsbAccessory
    

Java

    UsbAccessory accessory = (UsbAccessory) intent.getParcelableExtra(UsbManager.EXTRA_ACCESSORY);
    

Android 清单要求

下表介绍了在使用 USB 配件 API 之前,您需要向应用的清单文件中添加的内容。清单和资源文件示例展示了如何声明这些内容:

  • 由于并非所有 Android 设备都保证支持 USB 配件 API,因此您应添加 <uses-feature> 元素来声明您的应用使用 android.hardware.usb.accessory 功能。
  • 如果您使用插件库,请添加 <uses-library> 元素为该库指定 com.android.future.usb.accessory
  • 如果您使用插件库,请将应用的最低 SDK 设置为 API 级别 10;如果使用 android.hardware.usb 软件包,则将其设置为 12。
  • 如果您希望应用收到 USB 配件连接通知,请为主 Activity 中的 android.hardware.usb.action.USB_ACCESSORY_ATTACHED Intent 指定 <intent-filter><meta-data> 元素对。<meta-data> 元素指向一个外部 XML 资源文件,该文件声明关于要检测的配件的识别信息。

    在 XML 资源文件中,为要过滤的配件声明 <usb-accessory> 元素。每个 <usb-accessory> 可以包含以下属性:

    • manufacturer
    • model
    • version

    将资源文件保存在 res/xml/ 目录中。资源文件的名称(不含 .xml 扩展名)必须与您在 <meta-data> 元素中指定的名称相同。下面的示例还展示了 XML 资源文件的格式。

清单和资源文件示例

以下示例展示了一个清单及其相应的资源文件:

    <manifest ...>
        <uses-feature android:name="android.hardware.usb.accessory" />
        
        <uses-sdk android:minSdkVersion="<version>" />
        ...
        <application>
          <uses-library android:name="com.android.future.usb.accessory" />
            <activity ...>
                ...
                <intent-filter>
                    <action android:name="android.hardware.usb.action.USB_ACCESSORY_ATTACHED" />
                </intent-filter>

                <meta-data android:name="android.hardware.usb.action.USB_ACCESSORY_ATTACHED"
                    android:resource="@xml/accessory_filter" />
            </activity>
        </application>
    </manifest>
    

在本例中,以下资源文件应保存在 res/xml/accessory_filter.xml 中,并指定应过滤具有相应型号、制造商和版本的任何配件。配件会将这些属性发送给 Android 设备:

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>

    <resources>
        <usb-accessory model="DemoKit" manufacturer="Google" version="1.0"/>
    </resources>
    

使用配件

当用户将 USB 配件连接到 Android 设备时,Android 系统可以确定您的应用是否对所连接的配件感兴趣。如果感兴趣,您可以根据需要设置与该配件的通信。为此,您的应用必须执行以下操作:

  1. 发现连接的配件,方法是使用 Intent 过滤器来过滤配件连接事件,或者枚举所连接的配件并找到适合的配件。
  2. 请求用户授予与配件通信的权限(如果尚未获得该权限)。
  3. 通过在适当的接口端点读取和写入数据来与配件通信。

发现配件

您的应用可以通过两种方式发现配件:使用在用户连接配件时会收到通知的 Intent 过滤器,或者枚举已连接的配件。如果您希望应用能够自动检测所需的配件,那么使用 Intent 过滤器会非常有用。如果您希望获得所有已连接配件的列表,或者您的应用没有 Intent 过滤器,那么枚举已连接的配件就非常有用。

使用 Intent 过滤器

如果要让应用发现特定的 USB 配件,您可以指定一个 Intent 过滤器来过滤 android.hardware.usb.action.USB_ACCESSORY_ATTACHED Intent。除了该 Intent 过滤器之外,您还需要指定一个资源文件来指定 USB 配件的属性,例如制造商、型号和版本。当用户连接与您的配件过滤器匹配的配件时,

以下示例展示了如何声明 Intent 过滤器:

    <activity ...>
        ...
        <intent-filter>
            <action android:name="android.hardware.usb.action.USB_ACCESSORY_ATTACHED" />
        </intent-filter>

        <meta-data android:name="android.hardware.usb.action.USB_ACCESSORY_ATTACHED"
            android:resource="@xml/accessory_filter" />
    </activity>
    

以下示例展示了如何声明指定您感兴趣的 USB 配件的相应资源文件:

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>

    <resources>
        <usb-accessory manufacturer="Google, Inc." model="DemoKit" version="1.0" />
    </resources>
    

在您的 Activity 中,您可以通过以下方式从 Intent 获取代表所连接配件的 UsbAccessory(使用插件库):

Kotlin

    val accessory = UsbManager.getAccessory(intent)
    

Java

    UsbAccessory accessory = UsbManager.getAccessory(intent);
    

或通过以下方式获取(使用平台 API):

Kotlin

    val accessory = intent.getParcelableExtra(UsbManager.EXTRA_ACCESSORY) as UsbAccessory
    

Java

    UsbAccessory accessory = (UsbAccessory)intent.getParcelableExtra(UsbManager.EXTRA_ACCESSORY);
    

枚举配件

您可以让应用枚举在其运行时发现的配件。

使用 getAccessoryList() 方法可获取已连接的所有 USB 配件的列表:

Kotlin

    val manager = getSystemService(Context.USB_SERVICE) as UsbManager
    val accessoryList: Array<out UsbAccessory> = manager.accessoryList
    

Java

    UsbManager manager = (UsbManager) getSystemService(Context.USB_SERVICE);
    UsbAccessory[] accessoryList = manager.getAccessoryList();
    

注意:一次仅支持一个已连接的配件。

获取与配件通信的权限

您的应用必须获得用户的许可,才能与 USB 配件通信。

注意:当应用使用 Intent 过滤器来发现连接的配件时,如果用户允许应用处理 Intent,则应用会自动获得权限。反之,要连接到配件,您必须在应用中明确请求权限。

某些情况下,明确请求权限可能是必要的,例如当应用枚举已连接的配件,然后希望与其中的某个配件通信时。在尝试与配件通信之前,您必须检查是否具有访问该配件的权限。否则,如果用户拒绝授予访问配件的权限,您会收到运行时错误。

要明确获取权限,请先创建一个广播接收器。此接收器监听在您调用 requestPermission() 时接收广播的 Intent。调用 requestPermission() 会向用户显示一个对话框,请求授予连接到配件的权限。以下示例代码展示了如何创建广播接收器:

Kotlin

    private const val ACTION_USB_PERMISSION = "com.android.example.USB_PERMISSION"

    private val usbReceiver = object : BroadcastReceiver() {

        override fun onReceive(context: Context, intent: Intent) {
            if (ACTION_USB_PERMISSION == intent.action) {
                synchronized(this) {
                    val accessory: UsbAccessory? = intent.getParcelableExtra(UsbManager.EXTRA_ACCESSORY)

                    if (intent.getBooleanExtra(UsbManager.EXTRA_PERMISSION_GRANTED, false)) {
                        accessory?.apply {
                            //call method to set up accessory communication
                        }
                    } else {
                        Log.d(TAG, "permission denied for accessory $accessory")
                    }
                }
            }
        }
    }
    

Java

    private static final String ACTION_USB_PERMISSION =
        "com.android.example.USB_PERMISSION";
    private final BroadcastReceiver usbReceiver = new BroadcastReceiver() {

        public void onReceive(Context context, Intent intent) {
            String action = intent.getAction();
            if (ACTION_USB_PERMISSION.equals(action)) {
                synchronized (this) {
                    UsbAccessory accessory = (UsbAccessory) intent.getParcelableExtra(UsbManager.EXTRA_ACCESSORY);

                    if (intent.getBooleanExtra(UsbManager.EXTRA_PERMISSION_GRANTED, false)) {
                        if(accessory != null){
                            //call method to set up accessory communication
                        }
                    }
                    else {
                        Log.d(TAG, "permission denied for accessory " + accessory);
                    }
                }
            }
        }
    };
    

要注册广播接收器,请将以下代码添加到您的 Activity 中的 onCreate() 方法中:

Kotlin

    private const val ACTION_USB_PERMISSION = "com.android.example.USB_PERMISSION"
    ...
    val manager = getSystemService(Context.USB_SERVICE) as UsbManager
    ...
    permissionIntent = PendingIntent.getBroadcast(this, 0, Intent(ACTION_USB_PERMISSION), 0)
    val filter = IntentFilter(ACTION_USB_PERMISSION)
    registerReceiver(usbReceiver, filter)
    

Java

    UsbManager usbManager = (UsbManager) getSystemService(Context.USB_SERVICE);
    private static final String ACTION_USB_PERMISSION =
        "com.android.example.USB_PERMISSION";
    ...
    permissionIntent = PendingIntent.getBroadcast(this, 0, new Intent(ACTION_USB_PERMISSION), 0);
    IntentFilter filter = new IntentFilter(ACTION_USB_PERMISSION);
    registerReceiver(usbReceiver, filter);
    

要显示对话框来向用户请求连接到配件的权限,请调用 requestPermission() 方法:

Kotlin

    lateinit var accessory: UsbAccessory
    ...
    usbManager.requestPermission(accessory, permissionIntent)
    

Java

    UsbAccessory accessory;
    ...
    usbManager.requestPermission(accessory, permissionIntent);
    

当用户在该对话框中作出回复时,您的广播接收器会收到包含 EXTRA_PERMISSION_GRANTED extra 的 Intent,该 extra 是代表用户回复的布尔值。在连接到配件之前,请检查此 extra 的值是否为 true。

与配件通信

您可以使用 UsbManager 来获取文件描述符,然后设置输入和输出流来向描述符读写数据,以此与配件通信。这些流表示配件的输入和输出批量端点。您应该在另一个线程中设置设备和配件之间的通信,这样就不会锁定主界面线程。以下示例展示了如何打开配件以与之通信:

Kotlin

    private lateinit var accessory: UsbAccessory
    private var fileDescriptor: ParcelFileDescriptor? = null
    private var inputStream: FileInputStream? = null
    private var outputStream: FileOutputStream? = null
    ...

    private fun openAccessory() {
        Log.d(TAG, "openAccessory: $mAccessory")
        fileDescriptor = usbManager.openAccessory(accessory)
        fileDescriptor?.fileDescriptor?.also { fd ->
            inputStream = FileInputStream(fd)
            outputStream = FileOutputStream(fd)
            val thread = Thread(null, this, "AccessoryThread")
            thread.start()
        }
    }
    

Java

    UsbAccessory accessory;
    ParcelFileDescriptor fileDescriptor;
    FileInputStream inputStream;
    FileOutputStream outputStream;
    ...

    private void openAccessory() {
        Log.d(TAG, "openAccessory: " + accessory);
        fileDescriptor = usbManager.openAccessory(accessory);
        if (fileDescriptor != null) {
            FileDescriptor fd = fileDescriptor.getFileDescriptor();
            inputStream = new FileInputStream(fd);
            outputStream = new FileOutputStream(fd);
            Thread thread = new Thread(null, this, "AccessoryThread");
            thread.start();
        }
    }
    

在线程的 run() 方法中,您可以使用 FileInputStreamFileOutputStream 对象来读写配件。使用 FileInputStream 对象从配件读取数据时,请确保您使用的缓冲区足以存储 USB 数据包数据。Android 配件协议支持最大 16384 字节的数据包缓冲区,因此为了简单起见,您可以选择始终将缓冲区声明为此大小。

注意:在较低的 API 级别,USB 全速配件的数据包为 64 字节,USB 高速配件的数据包为 512 字节。为简单起见,Android 配件协议将全速和高速数据包打包到一个逻辑数据包中。

如需详细了解如何在 Android 中使用线程,请参阅进程和线程

终止与配件的通信

当完成与配件的通信后或者配件断开连接后,请调用 close() 来关闭您打开的文件描述符。要监听断开连接事件,请创建如下所示的广播接收器:

Kotlin

    var usbReceiver: BroadcastReceiver = object : BroadcastReceiver() {
        override fun onReceive(context: Context, intent: Intent) {

            if (UsbManager.ACTION_USB_ACCESSORY_DETACHED == intent.action) {
                val accessory: UsbAccessory? = intent.getParcelableExtra(UsbManager.EXTRA_ACCESSORY)
                accessory?.apply {
                    // call your method that cleans up and closes communication with the accessory
                }
            }
        }
    }
    

Java

    BroadcastReceiver usbReceiver = new BroadcastReceiver() {
        public void onReceive(Context context, Intent intent) {
            String action = intent.getAction();

            if (UsbManager.ACTION_USB_ACCESSORY_DETACHED.equals(action)) {
                UsbAccessory accessory = (UsbAccessory)intent.getParcelableExtra(UsbManager.EXTRA_ACCESSORY);
                if (accessory != null) {
                    // call your method that cleans up and closes communication with the accessory
                }
            }
        }
    };
    

在应用内(而不是清单中)创建广播接收器,可让应用仅在运行时才处理断开连接事件。这样,断开连接事件只会发送到当前正在运行的应用,而不会广播到所有应用。

Skip to content

Most visited

Recently visited

navigation

USB Accessory

USB accessory mode allows users to connect USB host hardware specifically designed for Android-powered devices. The accessories must adhere to the Android accessory protocol outlined in the Android Accessory Development Kit documentation. This allows Android-powered devices that cannot act as a USB host to still interact with USB hardware. When an Android-powered device is in USB accessory mode, the attached Android USB accessory acts as the host, provides power to the USB bus, and enumerates connected devices. Android 3.1 (API level 12) supports USB accessory mode and the feature is also backported to Android 2.3.4 (API level 10) to enable support for a broader range of devices.

Choosing the Right USB Accessory APIs

Although the USB accessory APIs were introduced to the platform in Android 3.1, they are also available in Android 2.3.4 using the Google APIs add-on library. Because these APIs were backported using an external library, there are two packages that you can import to support USB accessory mode. Depending on what Android-powered devices you want to support, you might have to use one over the other:

  • com.android.future.usb: To support USB accessory mode in Android 2.3.4, the Google APIs add-on library includes the backported USB accessory APIs and they are contained in this namespace. Android 3.1 also supports importing and calling the classes within this namespace to support applications written with the add-on library. This add-on library is a thin wrapper around the android.hardware.usb accessory APIs and does not support USB host mode. If you want to support the widest range of devices that support USB accessory mode, use the add-on library and import this package. It is important to note that not all Android 2.3.4 devices are required to support the USB accessory feature. Each individual device manufacturer decides whether or not to support this capability, which is why you must declare it in your manifest file.
  • android.hardware.usb: This namespace contains the classes that support USB accessory mode in Android 3.1. This package is included as part of the framework APIs, so Android 3.1 supports USB accessory mode without the use of an add-on library. Use this package if you only care about Android 3.1 or newer devices that have hardware support for USB accessory mode, which you can declare in your manifest file.

Installing the Google APIs add-on library

If you want to install the add-on, you can do so by installing the Google APIs Android API 10 package with the SDK Manager. See Installing the Google APIs Add-on for more information on installing the add-on library.

API Overview

Because the add-on library is a wrapper for the framework APIs, the classes that support the USB accessory feature are similar. You can use the reference documentation for the android.hardware.usb even if you are using the add-on library.

Note: There is, however, a minor usage difference between the add-on library and framework APIs that you should be aware of.

The following table describes the classes that support the USB accessory APIs:

Class Description
UsbManager Allows you to enumerate and communicate with connected USB accessories.
UsbAccessory Represents a USB accessory and contains methods to access its identifying information.

Usage differences between the add-on library and platform APIs

There are two usage differences between using the Google APIs add-on library and the platform APIs.

If you are using the add-on library, you must obtain the UsbManager object in the following manner:

UsbManager manager = UsbManager.getInstance(this);

If you are not using the add-on library, you must obtain the UsbManager object in the following manner:

UsbManager manager = (UsbManager) getSystemService(Context.USB_SERVICE);

When you filter for a connected accessory with an intent filter, the UsbAccessory object is contained inside the intent that is passed to your application. If you are using the add-on library, you must obtain the UsbAccessory object in the following manner:

UsbAccessory accessory = UsbManager.getAccessory(intent);

If you are not using the add-on library, you must obtain the UsbAccessory object in the following manner:

UsbAccessory accessory = (UsbAccessory) intent.getParcelableExtra(UsbManager.EXTRA_ACCESSORY);

Android Manifest requirements

The following list describes what you need to add to your application's manifest file before working with the USB accesory APIs. The manifest and resource file examples show how to declare these items:

  • Because not all Android-powered devices are guaranteed to support the USB accessory APIs, include a <uses-feature> element that declares that your application uses the android.hardware.usb.accessory feature.
  • If you are using the add-on library, add the <uses-library> element specifying com.android.future.usb.accessory for the library.
  • Set the minimum SDK of the application to API Level 10 if you are using the add-on library or 12 if you are using the android.hardware.usb package.
  • If you want your application to be notified of an attached USB accessory, specify an <intent-filter> and <meta-data> element pair for the android.hardware.usb.action.USB_ACCESSORY_ATTACHED intent in your main activity. The <meta-data> element points to an external XML resource file that declares identifying information about the accessory that you want to detect.

    In the XML resource file, declare <usb-accessory> elements for the accessories that you want to filter. Each <usb-accessory> can have the following attributes:

    • manufacturer
    • model
    • version

    Save the resource file in the res/xml/ directory. The resource file name (without the .xml extension) must be the same as the one you specified in the <meta-data> element. The format for the XML resource file is also shown in the example below.

Manifest and resource file examples

The following example shows a sample manifest and its corresponding resource file:

<manifest ...>
    <uses-feature android:name="android.hardware.usb.accessory" />
    
    <uses-sdk android:minSdkVersion="<version>" />
    ...
    <application>
      <uses-library android:name="com.android.future.usb.accessory" />
        <activity ...>
            ...
            <intent-filter>
                <action android:name="android.hardware.usb.action.USB_ACCESSORY_ATTACHED" />
            </intent-filter>

            <meta-data android:name="android.hardware.usb.action.USB_ACCESSORY_ATTACHED"
                android:resource="@xml/accessory_filter" />
        </activity>
    </application>
</manifest>

In this case, the following resource file should be saved in res/xml/accessory_filter.xml and specifies that any accessory that has the corresponding model, manufacturer, and version should be filtered. The accessory sends these attributes the Android-powered device:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>

<resources>
    <usb-accessory model="DemoKit" manufacturer="Google" version="1.0"/>
</resources>

Working with Accessories

When users connect USB accessories to an Android-powered device, the Android system can determine whether your application is interested in the connected accessory. If so, you can set up communication with the accessory if desired. To do this, your application has to:

  1. Discover connected accessories by using an intent filter that filters for accessory attached events or by enumerating connected accessories and finding the appropriate one.
  2. Ask the user for permission to communicate with the accessory, if not already obtained.
  3. Communicate with the accessory by reading and writing data on the appropriate interface endpoints.

Discovering an accessory

Your application can discover accessories by either using an intent filter to be notified when the user connects an accessory or by enumerating accessories that are already connected. Using an intent filter is useful if you want to be able to have your application automatically detect a desired accessory. Enumerating connected accessories is useful if you want to get a list of all connected accessories or if your application did not filter for an intent.

Using an intent filter

To have your application discover a particular USB accessory, you can specify an intent filter to filter for the android.hardware.usb.action.USB_ACCESSORY_ATTACHED intent. Along with this intent filter, you need to specify a resource file that specifies properties of the USB accessory, such as manufacturer, model, and version. When users connect an accessory that matches your accessory filter,

The following example shows how to declare the intent filter:

<activity ...>
    ...
    <intent-filter>
        <action android:name="android.hardware.usb.action.USB_ACCESSORY_ATTACHED" />
    </intent-filter>

    <meta-data android:name="android.hardware.usb.action.USB_ACCESSORY_ATTACHED"
        android:resource="@xml/accessory_filter" />
</activity>

The following example shows how to declare the corresponding resource file that specifies the USB accessories that you're interested in:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>

<resources>
    <usb-accessory manufacturer="Google, Inc." model="DemoKit" version="1.0" />
</resources>

In your activity, you can obtain the UsbAccessory that represents the attached accessory from the intent like this (with the add-on library):

UsbAccessory accessory = UsbManager.getAccessory(intent);

or like this (with the platform APIs):

UsbAccessory accessory = (UsbAccessory)intent.getParcelableExtra(UsbManager.EXTRA_ACCESSORY);

Enumerating accessories

You can have your application enumerate accesories that have identified themselves while your application is running.

Use the getAccessoryList() method to get an array all the USB accessories that are connected:

UsbManager manager = (UsbManager) getSystemService(Context.USB_SERVICE);
UsbAccessory[] accessoryList = manager.getAcccessoryList();

Note: Currently, only one connected accessory is supported at one time, but the API is designed to support multiple accessories in the future.

Obtaining permission to communicate with an accessory

Before communicating with the USB accessory, your applicaton must have permission from your users.

Note: If your application uses an intent filter to discover accessories as they're connected, it automatically receives permission if the user allows your application to handle the intent. If not, you must request permission explicitly in your application before connecting to the accessory.

Explicitly asking for permission might be neccessary in some situations such as when your application enumerates accessories that are already connected and then wants to communicate with one. You must check for permission to access an accessory before trying to communicate with it. If not, you will receive a runtime error if the user denied permission to access the accessory.

To explicitly obtain permission, first create a broadcast receiver. This receiver listens for the intent that gets broadcast when you call requestPermission(). The call to requestPermission() displays a dialog to the user asking for permission to connect to the accessory. The following sample code shows how to create the broadcast receiver:

private static final String ACTION_USB_PERMISSION =
    "com.android.example.USB_PERMISSION";
private final BroadcastReceiver mUsbReceiver = new BroadcastReceiver() {

    public void onReceive(Context context, Intent intent) {
        String action = intent.getAction();
        if (ACTION_USB_PERMISSION.equals(action)) {
            synchronized (this) {
                UsbAccessory accessory = (UsbAccessory) intent.getParcelableExtra(UsbManager.EXTRA_ACCESSORY);

                if (intent.getBooleanExtra(UsbManager.EXTRA_PERMISSION_GRANTED, false)) {
                    if(accessory != null){
                        //call method to set up accessory communication
                    }
                }
                else {
                    Log.d(TAG, "permission denied for accessory " + accessory);
                }
            }
        }
    }
};

To register the broadcast receiver, put this in your onCreate() method in your activity:

UsbManager mUsbManager = (UsbManager) getSystemService(Context.USB_SERVICE);
private static final String ACTION_USB_PERMISSION =
    "com.android.example.USB_PERMISSION";
...
mPermissionIntent = PendingIntent.getBroadcast(this, 0, new Intent(ACTION_USB_PERMISSION), 0);
IntentFilter filter = new IntentFilter(ACTION_USB_PERMISSION);
registerReceiver(mUsbReceiver, filter);

To display the dialog that asks users for permission to connect to the accessory, call the requestPermission() method:

UsbAccessory accessory;
...
mUsbManager.requestPermission(accessory, mPermissionIntent);

When users reply to the dialog, your broadcast receiver receives the intent that contains the EXTRA_PERMISSION_GRANTED extra, which is a boolean representing the answer. Check this extra for a value of true before connecting to the accessory.

Communicating with an accessory

You can communicate with the accessory by using the UsbManager to obtain a file descriptor that you can set up input and output streams to read and write data to descriptor. The streams represent the accessory's input and output bulk endpoints. You should set up the communication between the device and accessory in another thread, so you don't lock the main UI thread. The following example shows how to open an accessory to communicate with:

UsbAccessory mAccessory;
ParcelFileDescriptor mFileDescriptor;
FileInputStream mInputStream;
FileOutputStream mOutputStream;

...

private void openAccessory() {
    Log.d(TAG, "openAccessory: " + accessory);
    mFileDescriptor = mUsbManager.openAccessory(mAccessory);
    if (mFileDescriptor != null) {
        FileDescriptor fd = mFileDescriptor.getFileDescriptor();
        mInputStream = new FileInputStream(fd);
        mOutputStream = new FileOutputStream(fd);
        Thread thread = new Thread(null, this, "AccessoryThread");
        thread.start();
    }
}

In the thread's run() method, you can read and write to the accessory by using the FileInputStream or FileOutputStream objects. When reading data from an accessory with a FileInputStream object, ensure that the buffer that you use is big enough to store the USB packet data. The Android accessory protocol supports packet buffers up to 16384 bytes, so you can choose to always declare your buffer to be of this size for simplicity.

Note: At a lower level, the packets are 64 bytes for USB full-speed accessories and 512 bytes for USB high-speed accessories. The Android accessory protocol bundles the packets together for both speeds into one logical packet for simplicity.

For more information about using threads in Android, see Processes and Threads.

Terminating communication with an accessory

When you are done communicating with an accessory or if the accessory was detached, close the file descriptor that you opened by calling close(). To listen for detached events, create a broadcast receiver like below:

BroadcastReceiver mUsbReceiver = new BroadcastReceiver() {
    public void onReceive(Context context, Intent intent) {
        String action = intent.getAction();

        if (UsbManager.ACTION_USB_ACCESSORY_DETACHED.equals(action)) {
            UsbAccessory accessory = (UsbAccessory)intent.getParcelableExtra(UsbManager.EXTRA_ACCESSORY);
            if (accessory != null) {
                // call your method that cleans up and closes communication with the accessory
            }
        }
    }
};

Creating the broadcast receiver within the application, and not the manifest, allows your application to only handle detached events while it is running. This way, detached events are only sent to the application that is currently running and not broadcast to all applications.

This site uses cookies to store your preferences for site-specific language and display options.

Hooray!

This class requires API level or higher

This doc is hidden because your selected API level for the documentation is . You can change the documentation API level with the selector above the left navigation.

For more information about specifying the API level your app requires, read Supporting Different Platform Versions.