欢迎使用 Android 12 开发者预览版!请尽早并且经常向我们提供反馈,帮助我们将 Android 12 打造为最佳版本!

Android 12 开发者预览版

欢迎加入 Android 12 开发者预览版计划,该计划将为您提供面向下一版本的 Android 系统提升应用的兼容性和构建应用所需的所有功能。您可以免费加入该计划,并且可以下载开发者预览版 SDK 和工具,立即开始使用

用于在 Pixel 设备和 Android 模拟器上测试应用的运行时环境。

我们将定期提供更新,以便您将可以针对最新的平台代码测试应用。

准确找到将影响应用的行为变更,并使用最新的平台功能进行构建。

您的反馈至关重要!请从这里开始报告问题,与我们分享您的想法!还可以与开发者社区中的其他开发者建立联系,分享您的体验。

时间轴、里程碑和更新

Android 12 开发者预览版和 Beta 版的时间轴

Android 12 开发者预览版计划从 2021 年 2 月开始启动,到向 AOSP 和 OEM 提供最终的公开版本时结束,最终版本预计将在今年年底发布。在开发阶段的各个关键里程碑,我们将为您的开发和测试环境提供更新。每次更新均包括 SDK 工具、系统映像、模拟器、API 参考和 API 差异。里程碑列表如下。

时间轴 Build 类型 开发者操作
2 月 开发者预览版 1 早期的基准 build,涉及新功能、API 和行为变更,重点关注开发者反馈。 API 反馈的重要窗口。 查看新的 API 和行为变更,并在此期间向我们报告任何重大问题或请求。开始早期的应用兼容性测试。
3 月 开发者预览版 2 增量更新,涉及更多的功能、API 和行为变更。 反馈依旧很重要。在您试用新 API 并测试行为变更时,请向我们提供反馈。
4 月 开发者预览版 3 针对稳定性和性能的增量更新。a12 准备好应用,迎接消费者 Beta 版。继续进行兼容性测试,在不更改目标平台的情况下发布更新。
5 月 Beta 版 1 初始 Beta 版本,面向注册试用 Android Beta 版的尝鲜者提供无线更新。 继续进行兼容性测试,留意 Android Beta 版用户的反馈。开始针对 Android 12 的早期测试。如有任何问题,请通知 SDK 和库的开发者。
6 月-7 月 Beta 版 2、3 增量 Beta 版 继续进行兼容性测试,留意 Android Beta 版用户的反馈。开始针对 Android 12 的早期测试。
8 月 Beta 版 4 平台稳定性里程碑。提供最终的 API 和行为。开放 Play 发布。 开始对应用、SDK 和库进行最终的兼容性测试。发布兼容版本。继续针对 Android 12 的工作。更新 SDK 和库,并向开发者通知任何问题。
候选版本 候选版本 build。 发布应用、SDK 和库的兼容更新。继续针对 Android 12 的工作。使用新功能和 API 构建应用。
最终版本 面向 AOSP 和生态系统发布 Android 12 版本。 发布应用、SDK 和库的兼容更新。继续针对 Android 12 的工作。使用新功能和 API 构建应用。

“平台稳定性”里程碑

Android 12 包含一项名为“平台稳定性”的里程碑,可帮助您规划最终测试和发布。该里程碑意味着,Android 12 已经确定最终的内部和外部 API、面向应用的最终行为,以及最终的非 SDK API 列表(灰名单)。我们预计 Android 12 将在 2021 年 8 月的 Beta 版 4 达成“平台稳定性”里程碑。从那以后,不会再有任何会影响应用的变更。

我们建议所有应用、游戏、SDK、库和游戏引擎开发者都将“平台稳定性”里程碑作为规划最终兼容性测试和公开发布的目标。如果以“平台稳定性”而不是最终版本为目标,在消费者能在其设备上获得新平台之前,您还可以多出几周的时间。

预览版阶段

对开发者而言,开发者预览版期间的重点在于 API 反馈应用兼容性。应用兼容性意味着确保当前版本的应用在新平台上外观正常并且运行良好。

开发者预览版 build 提供早期测试和开发环境,您可以试用新 API、确定应用中的兼容性问题,并针对新平台规划必要的迁移或功能方面的工作。在此期间,向我们提供您的反馈尤为重要。此外,您还应了解,每次更新都会有一些 API 变更。请查看迁移指南,了解如何使您的应用与新平台兼容,然后在准备就绪后以新平台为目标进行迁移。

Beta 版 1 为您提供了更全面、更稳定的环境,方便您在 Android 12 上进行构建和测试,这是我们向注册参加 Android Beta 版计划的尝鲜者提供的首个 build。在 Beta 版期间,尝鲜者将在 Pixel 设备上使用您的应用,因此我们建议您留意这些用户的反馈,并发布兼容更新以解决所有问题,而不更改应用的目标平台。此外,建议您提前为日后更改应用的目标平台做好准备。

使用 Beta 版 2Beta 版 3 时,您将获得全面程度和稳定性进一步增强的 build,可以继续进行测试和开发。

Beta 版 4 开始,Android 12 将达成平台稳定性里程碑,也就是说,系统行为和 API 均已最终确定。这时可开始进行最终测试和开发工作,以确保在面向生态系统最终发布时向用户提供准备就绪的兼容版应用。届时,Android 12 将提供标准的 API 级别。

在“平台稳定性”阶段,您需要将工作重点转移到最终兼容性测试,以及面向用户和下游开发者发布更新的应用。您还可以使用最终 API 构建应用,并优化使用了新 API 或新功能的新代码。您可以放心平台和 API 不会改变,安心规划工作。

从“平台稳定性”阶段开始,您还将能够向搭载正式 API 级别 Android 12 的设备发布应用。在“平台稳定性”阶段后,我们建议先将应用发布到 Google Play Alpha 版和 Beta 版发布版本中,这样就可以对应用进行测试,然后再通过商店进行广泛分发。

对于所有 SDK、库、工具和游戏引擎开发者,请务必在“平台稳定性”阶段开始进行测试,并尽快发布兼容的更新。在接收您的更新之前,您的下游应用和游戏开发者可能会受到限制。发布兼容的更新后,请通知开发者!

开发者预览版计划包含哪些内容?

Android 12 开发者预览版计划包含您在使用不同屏幕尺寸、网络技术、CPU/GPU 芯片组和硬件架构的各种设备中测试现有应用所需的一切功能。

SDK 和 NDK 工具

使用 Android Studio,您可以通过 SDK 管理器下载以下组件:

  • Android 12 SDK、NDK 和工具
  • 适用于移动设备的 Android 12 模拟器系统映像(仅限 64 位,请参阅版本说明

我们将根据需要在每个里程碑为这些开发工具提供更新。

如需开始使用,请参阅获取 Android 12。如需了解如何规划测试和开发工作以与 Android 12 发布周期同步,以及针对已知问题的版本说明,请参阅迁移指南

系统映像

开发者预览版包含适用于各种 Pixel 设备的系统映像,您可以使用这些设备进行开发和测试。如果您使用的是 Pixel 5、Pixel 4a 5G、Pixel 4a、Pixel 4 / 4 XL、Pixel 3a / 3a XL 或 Pixel 3 / 3 XL 设备,则可以访问下载页面获取用于开发和测试的系统映像。

如果您没有 Pixel 设备,则可以使用 Android 模拟器系统映像进行开发和测试。请使用 Android Studio,通过 SDK 管理器下载此组件:

  • 适用于移动设备的 Android 12 模拟器系统映像(仅限 64 位,请参阅版本说明

如需了解详情,请参阅获取 Android 12

Pixel 上的刷写与 OTA 更新

开发者预览版是仅面向开发者的早期基准 build。它们不适合尝鲜者或消费者的日常使用,因此我们仅通过手动下载和刷机提供这些版本。如需了解详情,请参阅获取 Android 12

将开发者预览版 build 刷写到受支持的 Pixel 设备上之后,您将自动注册接收后续开发者预览版和 Beta 版 build 直到最终版本的无线下载更新。

请注意,开发者预览版 build 不支持 Android Beta 版 OTA 计划。

预览版 API 和发布

Android 12 开发者预览版最初提供的系统和 Android 库仅用于开发用途,不具备标准的 API 级别。在此阶段,如果您想以该新平台为目标平台并使用新的 Android 12 API 进行构建,就必须通过将应用的 targetSdkVersionminSdkVersion 设为 "S" 并将其 Gradle compileSdkVersion 设为 "android-S",从而以开发者预览版的 Android 12 为目标平台。如需了解详情,请参阅针对 Android 12 更新构建配置

Android 12 开发者预览版提供预览版 API,在“平台稳定性”里程碑下发布最终版 SDK 之前,这些 API 都不是正式 API。这意味着在一段时间内,特别是该计划的最初几周内,API 可能会变更。对于 Android 12 开发者预览版的每次更新,我们都会提供变更摘要。

之后在开发者预览版中,将最终确定开发者 API,您将可以将正式版 Android 12 SDK 下载到 Android Studio 中,以正式 API 级别为目标平台,并根据正式 API 进行编译。

在开发者预览版计划期间,Google Play 禁止发布面向“S”或 Android 12 官方 API 级别的应用。当最终版 SDK 可用时,您可以针对官方 Android 12 API 级别,通过 Alpha 版、Beta 版和正式版发布版本将应用发布到 Google Play。与此同时,如果您希望向测试人员分发面向 Android 12 的应用,则可随时通过电子邮件或直接从您的网站下载实现分发。

保持最新

在整个预览版期间,您对开发者预览版和 Beta 版进行测试时,我们强烈建议将开发环境保持为最新版本。当有可用的更新时,我们会通过以下渠道通知您:

更多信息

如需详细了解 Android 12 开发者预览版,请参阅以下文档资源:

  • 迁移指南介绍使应用与 Android 12 兼容,然后以该新平台为目标平台并使用新 API 构建应用的流程。
  • 行为变更页面介绍 Android 12 中可能会影响您的应用以及您应测试的范围的更新。
  • 新功能页面概述新特性、功能和 API,并提供有关新功能的开发者指南。
  • 版本说明页面列出并介绍每个预览版或 Beta 版的已知问题和传递更改。

API 参考和差异报告

完整的开发者预览版 API 参考文档可在线获取。当新 API 处于开发阶段时,系统会为其添加水印以供查看,并将 API 级别显示为“S”。请注意,只有使用 Android 12 开发者预览版 SDK 构建应用时才可以使用这些 API。

当 Android 12 达成“平台稳定性”里程碑且最终版 SDK 可用时,API 参考文档将显示新 API 已被添加到正式 API 级别中。

如需详细了解每个版中新增、修改、弃用和移除的 API,我们建议您先查看差异报告:

差异报告中的变更包含指向相关 API 参考文档的链接。

支持资源

在使用 Android 12 开发者预览版进行测试和开发时,请使用以下渠道报告问题并提供反馈:

  • 访问反馈和问题页面获得有关如何报告问题的完整信息,并与我们分享您的想法。在此页面上,您可以前往问题跟踪器提交错误报告或功能请求,还可以快速查看一些新功能和变更。
  • Android 开发者预览版问题跟踪器是我们的主要问题跟踪器。您可通过问题跟踪器报告错误、性能问题和一般反馈。您还可以查看已知问题,并查找解决方法步骤。我们将对您的问题进行分类并发送给 Android 工程团队以供审查,并会为您提供相关进度更新通知。如需详细了解如何报告各种问题,请参阅在何处报告问题部分。
  • 开发者预览版社区,在此社区中,您可以与参与 Android 12 开发者预览版计划的其他用户和开发者建立联系。您可以在此分享观察结果或想法,并查找问题的解答。

开始使用!

如需开始使用,请在硬件设备上安装 Android 12 或设置模拟器以进行兼容性测试。如需了解详情,请参阅获取 Android 12。感谢您参与 Android 12 开发者预览版计划!

Welcome to Android 12 Developer Preview! Please give us feedback early and often, and help us make Android 12 the best release yet!

Android 12 Developer Preview

Welcome to Android 12 Developer Preview, a program that gives you everything you need to make your apps compatible and build for the next version of Android. The program is free, and you can get started right away by downloading the Developer Preview SDK and tools.

A runtime environment to test your apps on Pixel devices and the Android Emulator.

We’ll provide regular updates, so you’ll be testing against the latest platform code.

Pinpoint the behavior changes that will affect your apps, and build with the latest platform capabilities.

Your feedback is critical! Start here to report issues and let us know what you think! Connect with other developers in the Developer Community to share your experiences.

Timeline, milestones, and updates

Timeline for the Android 12 developer previews and betas

The Android 12 Developer Preview program runs from February 2021 until the final public release to AOSP and OEMs, planned for later in the year. At key development milestones, we'll deliver updates for your development and testing environments. Each includes SDK tools, system images, emulators, API reference, and API diffs. The milestones are listed below.

Timeline Build Type Developer actions
February Developer Preview 1 Early baseline build focused on developer feedback, with new features, APIs, and behavior changes. Priority window for feedback on APIs. Explore new APIs and behavior changes and report any critical issues or requests to us during this time. Begin early app compatibility testing.
March Developer Preview 2 Incremental update with additional features, APIs, and behavior changes. Priority for Feedback continues. Give us your feedback as you try the new APIs and test with behavior changes.
April Developer Preview 3 Incremental update for stability and performance. Get apps ready for consumer Beta. Continue compatibility testing, publish updates without changing targeting.
May Beta 1 Initial beta-quality release, over-the-air update to early adopters who enroll in Android Beta. Continue compatibility testing, watch for feedback from Android Beta users. Start early testing with targeting Android 12. Notify SDK and library developers of any issues.
June-July Beta 2, 3 Incremental Beta-quality release Continue compatibility testing, watch for feedback from Android Beta users. Start early testing with targeting Android 12.
August Beta 4 Platform Stability milestone. Final APIs and behaviors. Play publishing opens. Start final compatibility testing for apps, SDKs, and libraries. Release compatible versions. Continue work to target Android 12. Update SDKs and libraries and notify their developers of any issues.
When available Candidate Release candidate build. Release compatible updates for apps, SDKs, and libraries. Continue work to target Android 12. Build with new features and APIs.
Final release Android 12 release to AOSP and ecosystem. Release compatible updates for apps, SDKs, and libraries. Continue work to target Android 12. Build with new features and APIs.

Platform Stability milestone

Android 12 includes a milestone called "Platform Stability" to help you plan your final testing and releases. This milestone means that Android 12 has reached final internal and external APIs, final app-facing behaviors, and final non-SDK API lists (greylists). We expect Android 12 to reach Platform Stability at Beta 4 in August 2021. From that point, you can expect no further changes affecting your apps.

We encourage all app, game, SDK, library, and game engine developers to use the Platform Stability milestone as a target for planning final compatibility testing and public release. Using Platform Stability instead of final release gives you several additional weeks before consumers can receive the new platform on their devices.

Preview Phases

For developers, the focus during the Developer Preview is on API feedback and app compatibility. App compatibility means making sure the current version of your app looks right and runs well on the new platform.

The Developer Preview builds provide an early test and development environment you can use to try new APIs, identify compatibility issues in your app, and plan migration or feature work needed to target the new platform. It's especially important to give us your feedback during this time. You should also expect some API changes with each of these updates. Please review the migration guide for steps to make your app compatible with the new platform, and then target the new platform when you're ready.

Beta 1 gives you a more complete and stable environment for building and testing on Android 12, and it's the first build that we deliver to early adopters who are enrolled in the Android Beta program. During the Beta releases period, early adopters will be using your app on Pixel devices, so we recommend watching for feedback from those users and releasing compatible updates to address any issues, without changing the app's targeting. It's also a good time to begin preparing for changing your app's targeting later.

With Beta 2 and Beta 3 you'll get increasingly complete and stable builds for continuing your testing and development.

Starting at Beta 4, Android 12 will reach Platform Stability, meaning that system behaviors and APIs are finalized. This is the time to begin final testing and development work needed to ensure that a compatible version of your app will be ready for users at the final release to the ecosystem. Android 12 will provide a standard API level at this time.

Platform Stability is the time to shift focus to final compatibility testing and release your updated apps to users and downstream developers. You can also build with the final APIs and refine any new code that is using the new APIs or features. You can plan your work with confidence that the platform and APIs won't change.

From Platform Stability, you'll also be able to publish apps to devices running Android 12 at the official API level. After Platform Stability, We recommend publishing into the Google Play alpha and beta tracks first so that you can test your apps before distributing broadly through the store.

For all SDK, library, tools, and game engine developers, it’s very important to start testing at Platform Stability and release your compatible updates as soon as possible. Your downstream app and game developers may be blocked until they receive your updates. When you’ve released a compatible update, be vocal and let your developers know!

What's included in the Developer Preview?

The Android 12 Developer Preview program includes everything you need to test your existing apps on a variety of screen sizes, network technologies, CPU/GPU chipsets, and hardware architectures.

SDK & NDK tools

Using Android Studio, you can download the following components through the SDK Manager:

  • Android 12 SDK, NDK, and tools
  • Android 12 emulator system images for mobile devices (64-bit only, see release notes)

We'll provide updates to these development tools at each milestone as needed.

See Get Android 12 to get started. See the migration guide for information on how to plan testing and development to align with the Android 12 release cycle, as well as the release notes for known issues.

System images

The Developer Preview includes system images for a variety of Pixel devices that you can use for developing and testing. Visit the Downloads page to get a system image for development and testing.

If you don't have a Pixel device, you can develop and test using an Android Emulator system image. Using Android Studio, download this component through the SDK Manager:

  • Android 12 emulator system images for mobile devices (64-bit only, see release notes)

See Get Android 12 for details.

Flash-to-OTA Updates for Pixel

The Developer Preview releases are early baseline builds for developers only. They are not suitable for daily use by early adopters or consumers, so we're making them available by manual download and flash only. For details, see Get Android 12.

Once you've flashed a Developer Preview build to a supported Pixel device, you'll automatically be enrolled in over-the-air updates of later Developer Preview and Beta builds through the final release.

Please note that the Android Beta OTA program is not supported for Developer Preview builds.

Preview APIs and publishing

Android 12 Developer Preview initially provides a development-only system and Android library that does not have a standard API level. If you want to target the new platform and build with the new Android 12 APIs during this time, you must target the Developer Preview version of Android 12 by setting your app's targetSdkVersion and minSdkVersion to "S" and its Gradle compileSdkVersion to "android-S". For more information, see Update your build configuration for Android 12.

Android 12 Developer Preview delivers preview APIs—the APIs will not be official until the final SDK is released at Platform Stability. This means that you can expect API changes over time, especially during the initial weeks of the program. We'll provide a summary of changes with each update of Android 12 Developer Preview.

Later in the Developer Preview, developer APIs will be finalized and you'll be able to download the official Android 12 SDK into Android Studio, target the official API level, and compile against the official APIs.

During Developer Preview, Google Play prevents publishing of apps that target 'S' or the Android 12 official API level. When the final SDK is available, you can then target the official Android 12 API level and publish your app to Google Play via the alpha, beta, and production release channels. Meanwhile, if you want to distribute an app to testers that targets Android 12, you can do so via email or by direct download from your site at any time.

Keeping up-to-date

Throughout the preview, as you test on Developer Preview and Beta releases, we strongly recommend keeping your development environment up-to-date. We'll notify you when new updates are available via the following channels:

More information

To learn more about Android 12 Developer Preview, see the following documentation resources:

  • The migration guide outlines the process for making your apps compatible with Android 12, then targeting the new platform and building with new APIs.
  • The Behavior changes page describes the updates in Android 12 that may affect your apps and the areas where you should test.
  • The new features page contains an overview of new features, capabilities, and APIs, with developer guides on key new features.
  • The release notes page lists and describes known issues and transitive changes that are specific to each preview or beta release.

API Reference and diff report

The full Developer Preview API reference is available online. When the new APIs are under development, they'll be watermarked for visibility and show "S" as the API level. Note that you can only use these APIs if you are building with the Android 12 Developer Preview SDK.

When Android 12 reaches Platform Stability and the final SDK is available, the API reference will show that the new APIs were added in the official API level.

For a detailed view of new, modified, deprecated, and removed APIs in each release, we recommend starting with the diff reports:

Changes in the diff reports contain links to related API reference documentation.

Support resources

As you test and develop with Android 12 Developer Preview, please use these channels to report issues and give feedback:

  • Visit the Feedback and issues page for complete information on how to report issues and let us know what you think. From the page, you can go to the issue tracker to file bugs or feature requests, and you can take quick surveys on some of the new features and changes.
  • Android Developer Preview issue tracker is our primary issue tracker. You can report bugs, performance issues, and general feedback through the issue tracker. You can also check for known issues and find workaround steps. We'll keep you updated on your issue as it's triaged and sent to the Android engineering team for review. For details on how to report various kinds of issues, see the Where to report issues section.
  • The Developer Preview Community is a community where you can connect with other users and developers who are working with Android 12 Developer Preview. You can share observations and ideas and find answers to questions there.

Get started!

To get started, install Android 12 on your hardware device, or set up an emulator for compatibility testing. See Get Android 12 for details. Thank you for participating in the Android 12 Developer Preview program!