遷移至位置與內容 API

針對需要定位服務的應用程式,Google 建議在 Google Play 服務中使用位置與內容 API。如果應用程式使用架構位置 API,請務必遷移至 Google Play 服務,以便善用 Google 提供的最新功能。

建議選擇使用 Google Play 服務,在應用程式中取得定位服務,原因如下:

  1. Google Play 服務提供簡單的介面和更加簡潔的 API 途徑。
  2. 您指定所需的服務品質,然後 API 會為您管理基礎技術。
  3. Google Play 服務 API 已針對效能和電池用量進行最佳化。
  4. Google Play 服務 API 會主動維護。Google 會持續改進演算法,並新增更多功能。

請更新應用程式

下列步驟說明更新應用程式的過程,以便使用位置與內容 API:

  1. 在專案中設定 Google Play 服務。
  2. 更新應用程式,以使用位置資訊設定 API 驗證目前的位置資訊設定。
  3. 取代用於複雜工作的自訂邏輯,例如透過地理圍欄 API、動作辨識 API 等高階 API,嘗試識別使用者是否接近某個區域,或嘗試猜測使用者採取的行動。
  4. 從使用架構位置 API 變成使用整合式位置預測提供工具 API。
  5. 移除架構位置 API 的參照。

在專案中設定 Google Play 服務

若要為專案提供位置與內容 API,需要新增 Google Maven 存放區的參照,並宣告必要 API 的依附元件。詳情請參閱設定 Google Play 服務

使用位置資訊設定 API

只要使用位置資訊設定 API,應用程式就會提供所需的 QoS 級別,而且 API 會要求使用者適當變更系統設定。請依下列步驟操作,在應用程式中使用位置資訊設定 API:

  1. 在應用程式資訊清單中要求位置存取權
  2. 設定 LocationRequest 物件,指定所需的 QoS 層級。
  3. 使用位置資訊設定 API 檢查目前的設定。

詳情請參閱變更位置資訊設定,或參閱 Google Play 位置範例,取得示範程式碼。

以高階 API 取代自訂邏輯

高階 API (例如地理圍欄 API 和動作辨識 API) 可提供必要功能,讓應用程式能夠提供優質體驗。不過,這類功能需要複雜的邏輯,很難編程及維護。如果應用程式具備這類自訂邏輯,請將其替換成運用高階 API 的元件。

如需實作詳細資料,請參閱特定位置和內容 API 的指南。

將架構位置 API 替換為整合式位置預測提供工具 API

您可使用整合式位置預測提供工具 API 來取得位置資料,例如經緯度。整合式位置預測提供工具 API 會使用 Location 物件 (如同位置架構 API) 來表示地理位置。這個 API 提供監聽位置更新的功能,以及取得最後已知位置的功能。這些功能都讓整合式位置預測提供工具 API 更適合用來替代使用架構位置 API 的元件,而且對應用程式的其他部分的變更也最少。

取得最後已知位置是許多體驗的良好切入點,因為這是使用裝置上的任何用戶端要求的位置資料的快速作業。若要定期追蹤位置,應用程式可訂閱接收位置更新通知,藉此提供最新資料,並實現更複雜的體驗。

移除架構位置 API 的參照

除整合式位置預測提供工具 API 使用的 Location 類別參照外,將 com.google.android.location 套件中的類別參照替換為 com.google.android.gms.location 套件中的類別。您通常可以從應用程式中移除管理不同提供工具的元件 (例如 GPS 和 Wi-Fi)。位置與內容 API 會自動管理這些提供工具。

測試應用程式

若要執行使用最新版 Google Play 服務的應用程式,須備有已安裝 Play 商店應用程式的裝置,並且需要登入 Google 帳戶。在開發方面,您可以使用下列選項:

  • 透過 USB 傳輸線連接至開發環境的實體裝置。
  • 已安裝 Play 商店應用程式的模擬器。

若要進一步瞭解如何將實體裝置連接至開發環境,請參閱在硬體裝置上執行應用程式。若要建立包含 Play 商店應用程式的模擬器,請參閱建立和管理虛擬裝置

lightbulb_outline Please take our October 2018 developer survey. Start survey

Migrate to location and context APIs

Google recommends using the location and context APIs in Google Play services in apps that require location services. If your app uses the framework location APIs it’s important to migrate to Google Play services to take advantage of the latest Google-powered features.

Using Google Play services is the preferred option to get location services in your app for the following reasons:

  1. Google Play services provide a simple interface and a cleaner API surface.
  2. You specify a desired quality of service and the APIs manage the underlying technologies for you.
  3. The Google Play services APIs are optimized for performance and battery usage.
  4. The Google Play services APIs are actively maintained. Google is constantly improving the algorithms and adding more features.

Update your app

The following steps describe the process to update an app to use the location and context APIs:

  1. Set up Google Play Services in your project.
  2. Update the app to use the location settings API to validate the current location settings.
  3. Replace custom logic used for complex tasks, such as trying to identify if a user is close to an area or trying to guess what the user is doing, with high-level APIs, such as the Geofencing API or the Activity Recognition API.
  4. Replace usage of the framework location API with the fused location provider API.
  5. Remove references to the framework location API.

Set up Google Play services in your project

To make the location and context APIs available to your project you must add a reference to the Google maven repository and declare a dependency to the required APIs. For more information, see Set Up Google Play Services.

Use the location settings API

By using the location settings API, apps provide the desired QoS level and the API requests the user for the appropriate changes to the system settings. Take the following steps to use the location settings API in your app:

  1. Request location permissions in the app manifest.
  2. Set up a LocationRequest object, which specifies the desired QoS level.
  3. Use the location settings API to check the current settings.

For more information, see Changing Location Settings or see the Google Play Location samples for example code.

Replace custom logic with high-level APIs

High-level APIs, such as the geofencing API and the activity recognition API, provide features that your app can use to provide great experiences. However, such features require complex logic that can be difficult to code and maintain. If your app has such custom logic you should replace it with components that take advantage of the high-level APIs.

For implementation details, see the guides for the specific location and context API.

Replace the framework location API with the fused location provider API

You can use the fused location provider API to get location data, such as latitude and longitude. The fused location provider API uses a Location object—just like the location framework API—to represent geographic location. The API provides features to listen for location updates as well as to get the last known location. All these features make the fused location provider API a good candidate to replace the components that use the framework location API with minimal changes to the rest of the app.

Getting the last known location is a good starting point for many experiences because it’s a fast operation that uses location data requested by any client on the device. To periodically track location, your app can subscribe to receive location updates, which provides up-to-date data and enables more complex experiences.

Remove references to the framework location API

Replace references to classes in the com.google.android.location package with classes from the com.google.android.gms.location package, except references to the Location class, which the fused location provider API uses. You can usually remove the components that manage the different providers, such as GPS and Wi-Fi, from your app. The location and context APIs automatically manage these providers.

Test your app

To run an app that uses the latest version of Google Play services, you need a device that has the Play Store app installed and a Google account must be signed in. For development purposes you can use the following options:

  • A physical device connected to your development environment using a USB cable.
  • An emulator with the Play Store app installed.

For more information about connecting a physical device to your development environment, see Run Apps on a Hardware Device. To create an emulator that includes the Play Store app, see Create and Manage Virtual Devices.