Alternative Vertriebswege

Als offene Plattform steht Android für Flexibilität. Du kannst deine Android-Apps ganz nach deinen eigenen Vorstellungen vertreiben, entweder über einen einzelnen Vertriebsweg oder eine Kombination aus mehreren. Es spielt keine Rolle, ob du deine Apps über einen App-Marktplatz vertreibst oder sie über eine Website oder per Direktmail bereitstellst – du bist nie an eine Vertriebsplattform gebunden.

Die Vorgehensweise zum Erstellen und Verpacken deiner Apps für die Veröffentlichung ist bei allen Vertriebswegen dieselbe. Das spart Zeit und bei Bedarf können bestimmte Schritte automatisiert werden. Unter Vorbereitung auf die Veröffentlichung findest du dazu weitere Informationen.

In den folgenden Abschnitten haben wir einige der Alternativen für Vertriebsmöglichkeiten zusammengefasst.

Vertrieb über einen App-Marktplatz

Das breiteste Publikum erreichst du üblicherweise, indem du deine Apps auf einem App-Marktplatz, wie etwa Google Play, vertreibst.

Google Play ist der wichtigste Markplatz für Android-Apps und besonders nützlich, wenn du Nutzer weltweit erreichen möchtest. Du kannst deine Apps aber auf jedem beliebigen Marktplatz anbieten oder natürlich auf mehreren.

Aber nur bei Google Play kannst du den In-App-Abrechnungsdienst und den Lizenzierungsdienst nutzen. Dank des In-App-Abrechnungsdienstes ist es ganz einfach, In-App-Produkte, wie Spielsteine oder Upgrades für App-Funktionen, zu verkaufen. Mit dem Lizenzierungsdienst verhinderst du die nicht autorisierte Installation und Verwendung deiner Apps.

App-Vertrieb über E-Mail

Per E-Mail kannst du deine Apps den Nutzern schnell und einfach zur Verfügung stellen. Dazu bereitest du die App für die Veröffentlichung vor, hängst sie an eine E-Mail an und versendest sie. Wenn der Nutzer die E-Mail auf seinem Android-Gerät öffnet, wird das APK auf dem Android-System erkannt und in der E-Mail-Nachricht wird die Schaltfläche Jetzt installieren angezeigt (siehe Abbildung 1). Die App wird durch ein Tippen auf die Schaltfläche installiert. Nutzer müssen dazu der Installation unbekannter Apps explizit zustimmen, falls noch nicht geschehen, um mit der Installation fortfahren zu können.

Die Bereitstellung über E-Mail eignet sich besonders, wenn die App nur an einige vertrauenswürdige Nutzer herausgegeben werden soll. Da jeder Nutzer die E-Mail mit der App einfach weiterleiten kann, bietet diese Methode keinen Schutz vor Piraterie und der nicht autorisierten Bereitstellung.

Vertrieb über eine Website

Wenn du deine Apps nicht auf einem Marktplatz wie Google Play vertreiben möchtest, kannst du sie auf deiner Website oder einem Server – einschließlich eines privaten oder eines Unternehmensservers – zum Download anbieten. Dazu bereitest du die Apps wie gewohnt für die Veröffentlichung vor. Dann musst du die releasefähige APK-Datei nur noch auf deiner Website hosten und den Nutzern einen Link für den Download zur Verfügung stellen. Um eine auf diese Weise vertriebene App zu installieren, müssen Nutzer der Installation unbekannter Apps explizit zustimmen.

Konfiguration zur Installation von unbekannten Apps

Android schützt Nutzer vor dem versehentlichen Download und der Installation unbekannter Apps und Apps, die nicht von der vertrauenswürdigen Quelle Google Play stammen. Solche Installationen werden durch Android verhindert, bis der Nutzer explizit der Installation von Apps aus anderen Quellen zustimmt. Das Zustimmungsverfahren ist von der Android-Version abhängig, die auf dem Gerät des Nutzers ausgeführt wird:

Screenshot showing the settings screen for accepting install of unknown apps from different sources.

Abbildung 1. Im Bildschirm Unbek. Apps installieren in den Systemeinstellungen erteilen Nutzer Berechtigungen für die Installation unbekannter Apps aus einer bestimmten Quelle.

  • Auf Geräten mit Android 8.0 (API-Ebene 26) und höher müssen die Nutzer im Bildschirm Unbek. Apps installieren die Installation von Apps aus einer bestimmten Quelle aktivieren (siehe Abbildung 1).
  • Auf Geräten mit Android 7.1.1 (API-Ebene 25) und niedriger sollten Nutzer die Systemeinstellung Unbekannte Quellen aktivieren, die auf dem Gerät unter Einstellungen > Sicherheit zu finden ist.

    Hinweis: Wenn Nutzer versuchen, eine unbekannte App auf einem Gerät mit Android 7.1.1 (API-Ebene 25) oder niedriger zu installieren, zeigt das System manchmal ein Dialogfeld an, in dem der Nutzer gefragt wird, ob nur eine bestimmte unbekannte App installiert werden soll. In fast allen Fällen sollte der Nutzer nur eine unbekannte App-Installation gleichzeitig zulassen, wenn die Option verfügbar ist.

In beiden Fällen müssen Nutzer das Zustimmungsverfahren abschließen, bevor sie unbekannte Apps auf ihre Geräte herunterladen und installieren können.

Hinweis: Einige Netzwerkanbieter erlauben Nutzern nicht, Anwendungen aus unbekannten Quellen zu installieren.

Skip to content

Most visited

Recently visited

navigation

Alternative distribution options

As an open platform, Android offers choice. You can distribute your Android apps to users in any way you want, using any distribution approach or combination of approaches that meets your needs. From publishing in an app marketplace to serving your apps from a website or emailing them directly users, you’re never locked into any particular distribution platform.

The process for building and packaging your apps for distribution is the same, regardless of how you distribute them. This saves you time and lets you automate parts of the process as needed. You can read Preparing for Release for more information.

The sections below highlight some of the alternatives for distributing your apps.

Distributing through an app marketplace

Usually, to reach the broadest possible audience, you’d distribute your apps through a marketplace, such as Google Play.

Google Play is the premier marketplace for Android apps and is particularly useful if you want to distribute your apps to a large global audience. However, you can distribute your apps through any app marketplace you want or use multiple marketplaces.

Unlike other forms of distribution, Google Play allows you to use the In-app Billing service and Licensing service. The In-app Billing service makes it easy to sell in-app products like game jewels or app feature upgrades. The Licensing service helps prevent unauthorized installation and use of your apps.

Distributing your apps by email

A quick and easy way to release your apps is to send them to users by email. To do this, you prepare the app for release, attach it to an email, and send it to a user. When the user opens your email on their Android-powered device, the Android system recognizes the APK and displays an Install Now button in the email message. Users can install your app by touching the button. Users need to opt in for installing unknown apps if they haven't already to proceed with the installation.

Distributing apps through email is convenient if you’re sending them to a few trusted users, as it provides few protections from piracy and unauthorized distribution; that is, anyone you send your apps to can simply forward them to others.

Distributing through a website

If you don’t want to release your apps on a marketplace such as Google Play, you can make them available for download on your website or server, including on a private or enterprise server. To do this, you first prepare your apps for release in the normal way. Then all you need to do is host the release-ready APK file on your website and provide a download link to users.

When users browse to the download link from their Android-powered devices, the file is downloaded and the Android system automatically starts installing it on the device. However, the installation process starts automatically only if users have configured their device settings to opt in for installing unknown apps.

User opt-in for installing unknown apps

Android protects users from inadvertent download and install of unknown apps, or apps from sources other than Google Play, which is trusted. Android blocks such installs until the user opts into allowing the installation of apps from other sources. The opt-in process depends on the version of Android running on the user's device:

Screenshot showing the settings screen for accepting install of
       unknown apps from different sources.

Figure 1. The Install unknown apps system settings screen, where users grant permission for a particular source to install unknown apps.

  • On devices running Android 8.0 (API level 26) and higher, users must navigate to the Install unknown apps system settings screen to enable app installations from a particular location, as shown in Figure 1.
  • On devices running Android 7.1.1 (API level 25) and lower, users should enable the Unknown sources system setting, found in Settings > Security on their devices.

    Note: When users attempt to install an unknown app on a device running Android 7.1.1 (API level 25) or lower, the system sometimes shows a dialog that asks the user whether they want to allow only one particular unknown app to be installed. In almost all cases, users should allow only one unknown app installation at a time if the option is available to them.

In both cases, users need to complete the opt-in process before they can download and install unknown apps onto their devices.

Note: Some network providers don’t allow users to install applications from unknown sources.

This site uses cookies to store your preferences for site-specific language and display options.

Get the latest Android developer news and tips that will help you find success on Google Play.

* Required Fields

Hooray!

Browse this site in ?

You requested a page in , but your language preference for this site is .

Would you like to change your language preference and browse this site in ? If you want to change your language preference later, use the language menu at the bottom of each page.

This class requires API level or higher

This doc is hidden because your selected API level for the documentation is . You can change the documentation API level with the selector above the left navigation.

For more information about specifying the API level your app requires, read Supporting Different Platform Versions.

Take a short survey?
Help us improve the Android developer experience.
(Sep 2017 survey)