欢迎参加我们将于 6 月 3 日举行的 #Android11:Beta 版发布会

应用微件设计指南

应用微件(有时简称为“微件”)是 Android 1.5 中引入的功能,并且在 Android 3.0 和 3.1 中得到了大幅改进。微件可以在用户的主屏幕上一目了然地显示应用的最及时信息或其他相关信息。标准 Android 系统映像包含多个微件,包括模拟时钟、音乐和其他应用的微件。

Android 4.0 中的示例应用微件

图 1. Android 4.0 中的示例应用微件。

本文档介绍了如何设计微件,使其在图形上与其他微件以及 Android 主屏幕的其他元素(如启动器图标和快捷方式)契合。文中还介绍了微件图片的一些标准以及一些微件图形提示和技巧。

如需了解如何开发微件,请参阅《开发者指南》的应用微件部分。

标准微件剖析

典型的 Android 应用微件主要由三个部分组成:边界框、框架以及微件的图形控件和其他元素。应用微件可以包含 Android 中的一部分 View 微件;支持的控件包括文本标签、按钮和图片。有关可用 View 的完整列表,请参阅《开发者指南》中的创建应用微件布局部分。精心设计的微件会在边界框与框架的边缘之间留出一些外边距,并在框架和微件控件的内边缘之间留出一些内边距。

微件通常在边界框、框架和控件之间留有外边距和内边距

图 2. 微件通常在边界框和框架之间留有外边距,并在框架和微件控件之间留有内边距。

注意:从 Android 4.0 开始,系统会自动在微件框架与应用微件的边界框之间留出内边距,以便与用户主屏幕上的其他微件和图标更好地对齐。要利用这种强烈建议的行为,请将应用的 targetSdkVersion 设为 14 或更高版本。

为了与主屏幕上的其他微件契合,微件会从主屏幕上的其他元素中获取对齐提示;它们也使用标准着色效果。本文介绍了所有这些详细信息。

确定微件的尺寸

每个微件必须定义 minWidthminHeight,表示默认情况下应占用的最小空间量。当用户向其主屏幕添加微件时,微件占用的宽度和高度通常会超过您指定的最小值。Android 主屏幕为用户提供了一个可用空间网格,供他们放置微件和图标。此网格可能因设备而异;例如,许多手机都提供 4x4 网格,而平板电脑则可提供更大的 8x7 网格。添加微件后,它将在水平和垂直方向进行拉伸,占用满足其 minWidthminHeight 约束条件所需的最小单元格数。正如我们在下文设计微件布局和背景图形中介绍的一样,为应用微件使用九宫格背景和灵活布局可让微件巧妙适应设备的主屏幕网格,并保持实用性和美观性。

虽然单元格的宽度和高度以及应用到微件的自动外边距量可能会因设备而异,但您可以使用下表根据所需占用的网格单元格数大致估算微件的最小尺寸:

单元格数量
(列数或行数)
可用尺寸 (dp)
minWidthminHeight
1 40dp
2 110dp
3 180dp
4 250dp
n 70 × n − 30

最好保守估计 minWidthminHeight,指定在良好默认状态下呈现微件的最小尺寸。有关如何提供 minWidthminHeight 的示例,可假设您有一个音乐播放器微件,其中显示了当前正在播放歌曲的音乐人和歌名(垂直堆叠),一个播放按钮,以及一个下一首按钮:

示例音乐播放器微件

图 3. 示例音乐播放器微件。

最小高度应为音乐人和歌名的两个 TextView 的高度,加上一些文字外边距。最小宽度应为播放下一首按钮的最小可用宽度,加上最小文字宽度(例如 10 个字符的宽度)以及任何水平文字外边距。

用于计算最小宽度/高度的尺寸和外边距示例

图 4. 用于计算 minWidth/minHeight 的尺寸和边距示例。我们选择了 144dp 作为文本标签的适当最小宽度示例。

计算示例如下:

  • minWidth = 144dp + (2 × 8dp) + (2 × 56dp) = 272dp
  • minHeight = 48dp + (2 × 4dp) = 56dp

如果微件背景九宫格中存在固有的内容内边距,则应将其相应地加到 minWidthminHeight 上。

可调整大小的微件

从 Android 3.1 开始,微件可以横向和/或纵向调整大小,这意味着 minWidthminHeight 实际上变成了微件的默认尺寸。您可以使用 minResizeWidthminResizeHeight 指定最小微件尺寸;这些值应该指定微件小于什么尺寸会难以辨认或无法使用。

这通常是集合微件(例如基于 ListViewGridView 的微件)的首选功能。

向应用微件添加外边距

如前面所述,对于指定 targetSdkVersion 为 14 或更高版本的应用,Android 4.0 会自动向主屏幕上微件的每个边缘添加标准的小外边距。这有助于在视觉上平衡主屏幕,因此在 Android 4.0 中,我们建议您不要在应用微件的背景形状之外添加额外的外边距

简单的做法是编写单一布局,为早期版本的平台应用自定义外边距,并且不为 Android 4.0 及更高版本添加额外的外边距。如需了解如何使用布局 XML 实现此目标,请参阅《开发者指南》中的向应用微件添加外边距

设计微件布局和背景图形

大多数微件都有一个实心的背景矩形或圆角矩形形状。最佳做法是使用九宫格定义此形状;每种屏幕密度对应一格;如需了解详情,请参阅支持多种屏幕。您可以使用 draw9patch 工具创建九宫格,也可以直接使用 Adobe® Photoshop 之类的图形编辑程序。采用这种方法,微件背景形状会占据整个可用空间。九宫格应该无边框,不含提供额外的外边距的透明像素,除了可能有几个用于细微阴影或其他细微效果的边框像素。

注意:与 Activity 中的控件一样,您应使用状态列表可绘制对象来确保互动控件具有不同的视觉聚焦状态和按下状态。

九宫格边框像素

图 5. 九宫格边框像素,表示可拉伸区域和内容内边距。

某些应用微件(例如使用 StackView 的微件)具有透明背景。对于这种情况,StackView 中的每个单项应使用无边框九宫格背景,外边距只有很少甚至没有边框透明像素。

对于微件的内容,您应使用 RelativeLayoutLinearLayoutFrameLayout 之类的灵活布局。正如您的 Activity 布局必须适应不同的物理屏幕尺寸一样,微件布局也必须适应不同的主屏幕网格单元格尺寸。

以下布局示例可用于一个显示文本信息和两个按钮的音乐微件。它参阅了之前关于如何根据操作系统版本添加外边距的讨论内容。请注意,要向微件添加外边距,最稳健且最具弹性的方式是将微件框架和内容封装在有内边距的 FrameLayout 中。

    <FrameLayout
      android:layout_width="match_parent"
      android:layout_height="match_parent"
      android:padding="@dimen/widget_margin">

      <LinearLayout
        android:layout_width="match_parent"
        android:layout_height="match_parent"
        android:orientation="horizontal"
        android:background="@drawable/my_widget_background">

        <TextView
          android:id="@+id/song_info"
          android:layout_width="0dp"
          android:layout_height="match_parent"
          android:layout_weight="1" />

        <Button
          android:id="@+id/play_button"
          android:layout_width="@dimen/my_button_width"
          android:layout_height="match_parent" />

        <Button
          android:id="@+id/skip_button"
          android:layout_width="@dimen/my_button_width"
          android:layout_height="match_parent" />
      </LinearLayout>
    </FrameLayout>
    

现在看一下上一部分中的示例音乐微件,您可以开始使用灵活布局属性,如下所示:

示例音乐微件的灵活布局和属性摘录

图 6. 灵活布局和属性摘录。

在每个网格单元格尺寸为 80dp × 100dp 且为所有尺寸均自动应用 8dp 外边距的示例 Android 4.0 设备上,当用户将微件添加到其主屏幕时,微件将被拉伸,如下所示:

音乐微件位于 80dp x 100dp 的示例网格上,并且系统自动添加了 8dp 的外边距

图 7. 音乐微件位于 80dp x 100dp 的示例网格上,并且系统自动添加了 8dp 的外边距。

使用应用微件模板包

在开始设计新微件或更新现有的微件时,最好先查看下面的微件设计模板。下面的可下载软件包包含九宫格背景图形、XML 和 Adobe® Photoshop 源文件,适用于多种屏幕密度、操作系统版本微件样式和微件颜色。此外,模板包中还包含图形,有助于整个微件或微件的某些部分(例如按钮)具有互动性。

微件模板摘录

图 8. 应用微件模板包摘录(中密度、深色、Android 4.0/旧版样式、默认/聚焦/按下状态)。

您可以通过以下链接获取最新的应用微件模板包压缩文件:

下载适用于 Android 4.0 的应用微件模板包 »

Show navigation Hide navigation

App Widget Design Guidelines


  • App Widget layouts should be flexible, resizing to fit their parent container
  • As of Android 3.0, app widgets can depict collections of items and provide a representative preview image for the widget gallery
  • As of Android 3.1, app widgets can be resizable horizontally and/or vertically
  • As of Android 4.0, app widgets have margins automatically applied

In this document

  1. Standard Widget Anatomy
  2. Designing Widget Layouts and Background Graphics
  3. Using the App Widget Templates Pack


  1. App Widget Templates Pack, v4.0 »

See also

  1. App Widgets
  2. AppWidgets blog post

New Guides for App Designers!

Check out the new documents for designers at Android Design.

App widgets (sometimes just "widgets") are a feature introduced in Android 1.5 and vastly improved in Android 3.0 and 3.1. A widget can display an application's most timely or otherwise relevant information at a glance, on a user's Home screen. The standard Android system image includes several widgets, including a widget for the Analog Clock, Music, and other applications.

Example app widgets in Android 4.0

Figure 1. Example app widgets in Android 4.0.

This document describes how to design a widget so that it fits graphically with other widgets and with the other elements of the Android Home screen such as launcher icons and shortcuts. It also describes some standards for widget artwork and some widget graphics tips and tricks.

For information about developing widgets, see the App Widgets section of the Developer's Guide.

Standard Widget Anatomy

Typical Android app widgets have three main components: A bounding box, a frame, and the widget's graphical controls and other elements. App widgets can contain a subset of the View widgets in Android; supported controls include text labels, buttons, and images. For a full list of available Views, see the Creating the App Widget Layout section in the Developer's Guide. Well-designed widgets leave some margins between the edges of the bounding box and the frame, and padding between the inner edges of the frame and the widget's controls.

Widgets generally have margins and padding between bounding box, frame, and controls

Figure 2. Widgets generally have margins between the bounding box and frame, and padding between the frame and widget controls.

Note: As of Android 4.0, app widgets are automatically given margins between the widget frame and the app widget's bounding box to provide better alignment with other widgets and icons on the user's home screen. To take advantage of this strongly recommended behavior, set your application's targetSdkVersion to 14 or greater.

Widgets designed to fit visually with other widgets on the Home screen take cues from the other elements on the Home screen for alignment; they also use standard shading effects. All of these details are described in this document.

Determining a size for your widget

Each widget must define a minWidth and minHeight, indicating the minimum amount of space it should consume by default. When users add a widget to their Home screen, it will generally occupy more than the minimum width and height you specify. Android Home screens offer users a grid of available spaces into which they can place widgets and icons. This grid can vary by device; for example, many handsets offer a 4x4 grid, and tablets can offer a larger, 8x7 grid. When your widget is added, it will be stretched to occupy the minimum number of cells, horizontally and vertically, required to satisfy its minWidth and minHeight constraints. As we discuss in Designing Widget Layouts and Background Graphics below, using nine-patch backgrounds and flexible layouts for app widgets will allow your widget to gracefully adapt to the device's Home screen grid and remain usable and aesthetically awesome.

While the width and height of a cell—as well as the amount of automatic margins applied to widgets—may vary across devices, you can use the table below to roughly estimate your widget's minimum dimensions, given the desired number of occupied grid cells:

# of Cells
(Columns or Rows)
Available Size (dp)
(minWidth or minHeight)
1 40dp
2 110dp
3 180dp
4 250dp
n 70 × n − 30

It is a good practice to be conservative with minWidth and minHeight, specifying the minimum size that renders the widget in a good default state. For an example of how to provide a minWidth and minHeight, suppose you have a music player widget that shows the currently playing song artist and title (vertically stacked), a Play button, and a Next button:

An example music player widget

Figure 3. An example music player widget.

Your minimum height should be the height of your two TextViews for the artist and title, plus some text margins. Your minimum width should be the minimum usable widths of the Play and Next buttons, plus the minimum text width (say, the width of 10 characters), plus any horizontal text margins.

Example sizes and margins for minimum width/height calculations

Figure 4. Example sizes and margins for minWidth/minHeight calculations. We chose 144dp as an example good minimum width for the text labels.

Example calculations are below:

  • minWidth = 144dp + (2 × 8dp) + (2 × 56dp) = 272dp
  • minHeight = 48dp + (2 × 4dp) = 56dp

If there is any inherent content padding in your widget background nine-patch, you should add to minWidth and minHeight accordingly.

Resizable widgets

Widgets can be resized horizontally and/or vertically as of Android 3.1, meaning that minWidth and minHeight effectively become the default size for the widget. You can specify the minimum widget size using minResizeWidth and minResizeHeight; these values should specify the size below which the widget would be illegible or otherwise unusable.

This is generally a preferred feature for collection widgets such as those based on ListView or GridView.

Adding margins to your app widget

As previously mentioned, Android 4.0 will automatically add small, standard margins to each edge of widgets on the Home screen, for applications that specify a targetSdkVersion of 14 or greater. This helps to visually balance the Home screen, and thus we recommend that you do not add any extra margins outside of your app widget's background shape in Android 4.0.

It's easy to write a single layout that has custom margins applied for earlier versions of the platform, and has no extra margins for Android 4.0 and greater. See Adding Margins to App Widgets in the Developer's Guide for information on how to achieve this with layout XML.

Designing Widget Layouts and Background Graphics

Most widgets will have a solid background rectangle or rounded rectangle shape. It is a best practice to define this shape using nine patches; one for each screen density (see Supporting Multiple Screens for details). Nine-patches can be created with the draw9patch tool, or simply with a graphics editing program such as Adobe® Photoshop. This will allow the widget background shape to take up the entire available space. The nine-patch should be edge-to-edge with no transparent pixels providing extra margins, save for perhaps a few border pixels for subtle drop shadows or other subtle effects.

Note: Just like with controls in activities, you should ensure that interactive controls have distinct visual focused and pressed states using state list drawables.

Nine-patch border pixels

Figure 5. Nine-patch border pixels indicating stretchable regions and content padding.

Some app widgets, such as those using a StackView, have a transparent background. For this case, each individual item in the StackView should use a nine-patch background that is edge-to-edge with little or no border transparent pixels for margins.

For the contents of the widget, you should use flexible layouts such as RelativeLayout, LinearLayout, or FrameLayout. Just as your activity layouts must adapt to different physical screen sizes, widget layouts must adapt to different Home screen grid cell sizes.

Below is an example layout that a music widget showing text information and two buttons can use. It builds upon the previous discussion of adding margins depending on OS version. Note that the most robust and resilient way to add margins to the widget is to wrap the widget frame and contents in a padded FrameLayout.



      android:layout_weight="1" />

      android:layout_height="match_parent" />

      android:layout_height="match_parent" />

If you now take a look at the example music widget from the previous section, you can begin to use flexible layouts attributes like so:

Excerpt flexible layouts and attributes for an example music widget

Figure 6. Excerpt flexible layouts and attributes.

When a user adds the widget to their home screen, on an example Android 4.0 device where each grid cell is 80dp × 100dp in size and 8dp of margins are automatically applied on all sizes, the widget will be stretched, like so:

Music widget sitting on an example 80dp x 100dp grid with 8dp of automatic margins
  added by the system

Figure 7. Music widget sitting on an example 80dp x 100dp grid with 8dp of automatic margins added by the system.

Using the App Widget Templates Pack

When starting to design a new widget, or updating an existing widget, it's a good idea to first look at the widget design templates below. The downloadable package below includes nine-patch background graphics, XML, and source Adobe® Photoshop files for multiple screen densities, OS version widget styles, and widget colors. The template package also contains graphics useful for making your entire widget or parts of your widget (e.g. buttons) interactive.

Widget template excerpts

Figure 8. Excerpts from the App Widget Templates Pack (medium-density, dark, Android 4.0/previous styles, default/focused/pressed states).

You can obtain the latest App Widget Templates Pack archive using the link below:

Download the App Widget Templates Pack for Android 4.0 »