支持不同的平台版本

尽管最新版本的 Android 经常会为您的应用提供强大的 API,但您还是应继续支持旧版 Android,直至更多设备更新到新版本。本课将向为您展示如何利用最新 API,同时继续为旧版 API 提供支持。

平台版本信息中心会定期更新,以根据访问 Google Play 商店的设备数量显示运行 Android 各版本的活跃设备分布情况。一般而言,在针对最新版本开发应用的同时,最好使应用能够支持大约 90% 的活跃设备。

提示:要为多个 Android 版本提供最佳特性和功能,您应在应用内使用 Android 支持库,从而能够在旧版系统上使用一些最新的平台 API。

指定最低和目标 API 级别

AndroidManifest.xml 文件介绍了关于您应用的详细信息,并列出了其支持的 Android 版本。具体而言,<uses-sdk> 元素的 minSdkVersiontargetSdkVersion 属性分别表示您的应用兼容的最低 API 级别和作为您的应用设计和测试目标的最高 API 级别。

例如:

    <manifest xmlns:android="http://schemas.android.com/apk/res/android" ... >
        <uses-sdk android:minSdkVersion="4" android:targetSdkVersion="15" />
        ...
    </manifest>
    

随着 Android 新版本的发布,某些样式和行为可能会发生变化。为让您的应用能够充分利用这些变化并确保其适应各类用户设备的样式,您应将 targetSdkVersion 值设置为与市场上最新的 Android 版本一致。

在运行时检查系统版本

Android 会在 Build 常量类中为每个平台版本提供一个唯一的代码。请在您的应用内使用这些代码来构建条件,以确保那些依赖更高 API 级别的代码仅在系统上提供这些 API 时才会执行。

Kotlin

    private fun setUpActionBar() {
        // Make sure we're running on Honeycomb or higher to use ActionBar APIs
        if (Build.VERSION.SDK_INT >= Build.VERSION_CODES.HONEYCOMB) {
            actionBar.setDisplayHomeAsUpEnabled(true)
        }
    }
    

Java

    private void setUpActionBar() {
        // Make sure we're running on Honeycomb or higher to use ActionBar APIs
        if (Build.VERSION.SDK_INT >= Build.VERSION_CODES.HONEYCOMB) {
            ActionBar actionBar = getActionBar();
            actionBar.setDisplayHomeAsUpEnabled(true);
        }
    }
    

注意:解析 XML 资源时,Android 会忽略当前设备不支持的 XML 属性。因此您可以放心地使用只有新版系统才提供支持的 XML 属性,无需担心旧版系统遇到该代码时会中断执行。例如,如果您设置了 targetSdkVersion="11",默认情况下您的应用在 Android 3.0 及更高版本的系统上才会包含 ActionBar。之后如要为操作栏添加菜单项,则需在您的菜单资源 XML 中设置 android:showAsAction="ifRoom"。您可以放心地在跨版本 XML 文件中执行此操作,因为旧版 Android 会直接忽略 showAsAction 属性(也就是说,您不需要在 res/menu-v11/ 中单独提供一个版本)。

使用平台样式和主题背景

Android 提供的用户体验主题背景可为应用赋予底层操作系统的外观和风格。这些主题背景可在清单文件中应用于您的应用。通过利用这些内置样式和主题背景,您的应用可在每个新版 Android 系统发布时自动沿用其最新外观和风格。

如要为您的 Activity 赋予类似对话框的外观:

<activity android:theme="@android:style/Theme.Dialog">

如要为您的 Activity 赋予透明背景:

<activity android:theme="@android:style/Theme.Translucent">

如要应用您在 /res/values/styles.xml 中定义的自定义主题背景:

<activity android:theme="@style/CustomTheme">

如要将某个主题背景应用于您的整个应用(所有 Activity),请为 <application> 元素添加 android:theme 属性:

<application android:theme="@style/CustomTheme">

如需详细了解如何创建和使用主题背景,请参阅样式和主题背景指南。

Show navigation Hide navigation

Supporting Different Platform Versions

While the latest versions of Android often provide great APIs for your app, you should continue to support older versions of Android until more devices get updated. This lesson shows you how to take advantage of the latest APIs while continuing to support older versions as well.

The dashboard for Platform Versions is updated regularly to show the distribution of active devices running each version of Android, based on the number of devices that visit the Google Play Store. Generally, it’s a good practice to support about 90% of the active devices, while targeting your app to the latest version.

Tip: In order to provide the best features and functionality across several Android versions, you should use the Android Support Library in your app, which allows you to use several recent platform APIs on older versions.

Specify Minimum and Target API Levels

The AndroidManifest.xml file describes details about your app and identifies which versions of Android it supports. Specifically, the minSdkVersion and targetSdkVersion attributes for the <uses-sdk element identify the lowest API level with which your app is compatible and the highest API level against which you’ve designed and tested your app.

For example:

<manifest xmlns:android="" ... >
    <uses-sdk android:minSdkVersion="4" android:targetSdkVersion="15" />

As new versions of Android are released, some style and behaviors may change. To allow your app to take advantage of these changes and ensure that your app fits the style of each user's device, you should set the targetSdkVersion value to match the latest Android version available.

Check System Version at Runtime

Android provides a unique code for each platform version in the Build constants class. Use these codes within your app to build conditions that ensure the code that depends on higher API levels is executed only when those APIs are available on the system.

private void setUpActionBar() {
    // Make sure we're running on Honeycomb or higher to use ActionBar APIs
        ActionBar actionBar = getActionBar();

Note: When parsing XML resources, Android ignores XML attributes that aren’t supported by the current device. So you can safely use XML attributes that are only supported by newer versions without worrying about older versions breaking when they encounter that code. For example, if you set the targetSdkVersion="11", your app includes the ActionBar by default on Android 3.0 and higher. To then add menu items to the action bar, you need to set android:showAsAction="ifRoom" in your menu resource XML. It's safe to do this in a cross-version XML file, because the older versions of Android simply ignore the showAsAction attribute (that is, you do not need a separate version in res/menu-v11/).

Use Platform Styles and Themes

Android provides user experience themes that give apps the look and feel of the underlying operating system. These themes can be applied to your app within the manifest file. By using these built in styles and themes, your app will naturally follow the latest look and feel of Android with each new release.

To make your activity look like a dialog box:

<activity android:theme="@android:style/Theme.Dialog">

To make your activity have a transparent background:

<activity android:theme="@android:style/Theme.Translucent">

To apply your own custom theme defined in /res/values/styles.xml:

<activity android:theme="@style/CustomTheme">

To apply a theme to your entire app (all activities), add the android:theme attribute to the <application> element:

<application android:theme="@style/CustomTheme">

For more about creating and using themes, read the Styles and Themes guide.