Skip to content

Most visited

Recently visited

navigation

存储选项

存储快览

  • 将共享首选项用于原始数据
  • 将内部设备存储用于私有数据
  • 将外部存储用于非私有大型数据集
  • 将 SQLite 数据库用于结构化存储

本文内容

  1. 使用共享首选项
  2. 使用内部存储
  3. 使用外部存储
  4. 使用数据库
  5. 使用网络连接

另请参阅

  1. 内容提供程序和内容解析程序

Android 为您提供了多种选项来保存永久性应用数据。您所选择的解决方案取决于您的特定需求,例如数据应该是应用的私有数据,还是可供其他应用(和用户)访问,以及您的数据需要多少空间等。

您的数据存储选项如下:

共享首选项
在键值对中存储私有原始数据。
内部存储
在设备内存中存储私有数据。
外部存储
在共享的外部存储中存储公共数据。
SQLite 数据库
在私有数据库中存储结构化数据。
网络连接
在网络中使用您自己的网络服务器存储数据。

Android 为您提供了一种方法 — 使用内容提供程序将您的数据(甚至是您的私有数据)公开给其他应用。 内容提供程序是一个可选组件,可根据您希望施加的任何限制公开您的应用数据的读/写访问权限。 如需了解有关使用内容提供程序的更多信息,请参阅内容提供程序文档。

使用共享首选项

SharedPreferences 类提供了一个通用框架,以便您能够保存和检索原始数据类型的永久性键值对。 您可以使用 SharedPreferences 来保存任何原始数据:布尔值、浮点值、整型值、长整型和字符串。 此数据将跨多个用户会话永久保留(即使您的应用已终止亦如此)。

要获取应用的 SharedPreferences 对象,请使用以下两个方法之一:

要写入值:

  1. 调用 edit() 以获取 SharedPreferences.Editor
  2. 使用 putBoolean()putString() 等方法添加值。
  3. 使用 commit() 提交新值

要读取值,请使用 getBoolean()getString()SharedPreferences 方法。

以下是在计算器中保存静音按键模式首选项的示例:

public class Calc extends Activity {
    public static final String PREFS_NAME = "MyPrefsFile";

    @Override
    protected void onCreate(Bundle state){
       super.onCreate(state);
       . . .

       // Restore preferences
       SharedPreferences settings = getSharedPreferences(PREFS_NAME, 0);
       boolean silent = settings.getBoolean("silentMode", false);
       setSilent(silent);
    }

    @Override
    protected void onStop(){
       super.onStop();

      // We need an Editor object to make preference changes.
      // All objects are from android.context.Context
      SharedPreferences settings = getSharedPreferences(PREFS_NAME, 0);
      SharedPreferences.Editor editor = settings.edit();
      editor.putBoolean("silentMode", mSilentMode);

      // Commit the edits!
      editor.commit();
    }
}

使用内部存储

您可以直接在设备的内部存储中保存文件。默认情况下,保存到内部存储的文件是应用的私有文件,其他应用(和用户)不能访问这些文件。 当用户卸载您的应用时,这些文件也会被移除。

要创建私有文件并写入到内部存储:

  1. 使用文件名称和操作模式调用 openFileOutput()。 这将返回一个 FileOutputStream
  2. 使用 write() 写入到文件。
  3. 使用 close() 关闭流式传输。

例如:

String FILENAME = "hello_file";
String string = "hello world!";

FileOutputStream fos = openFileOutput(FILENAME, Context.MODE_PRIVATE);
fos.write(string.getBytes());
fos.close();

MODE_PRIVATE 将会创建文件(或替换具有相同名称的文件),并将其设为应用的私有文件。 其他可用模式包括:MODE_APPENDMODE_WORLD_READABLEMODE_WORLD_WRITEABLE

:自 API 级别 17 以来,常量 MODE_WORLD_READABLEMODE_WORLD_WRITEABLE 已被弃用。从 Android N 开始,使用这些常量将会导致引发 SecurityException。这意味着,面向 Android N 和更高版本的应用无法按名称共享私有文件,尝试共享“file://”URI 将会导致引发 FileUriExposedException。 如果您的应用需要与其他应用共享私有文件,则可以将 FileProviderFLAG_GRANT_READ_URI_PERMISSION 配合使用。另请参阅共享文件

要从内部存储读取文件:

  1. 调用 openFileInput() 并向其传递要读取的文件名称。 这将返回一个 FileInputStream
  2. 使用 read() 读取文件字节。
  3. 然后使用 close() 关闭流式传输。

提示:如果在编译时想要保存应用中的静态文件,请在项目的 res/raw/ 目录中保存该文件。 可以使用 openRawResource() 打开该资源并传递 R.raw.<filename> 资源 ID。 此方法将返回一个 InputStream,您可以使用该流式传输读取文件(但不能写入到原始文件)。

保存缓存文件

如果您想要缓存一些数据,而不是永久存储这些数据,应该使用 getCacheDir() 来打开一个 File,它表示您的应用应该将临时缓存文件保存到的内部目录。

当设备的内部存储空间不足时,Android 可能会删除这些缓存文件以回收空间。 但您不应该依赖系统来为您清理这些文件, 而应该始终自行维护缓存文件,使其占用的空间保持在合理的限制范围内(例如 1 MB)。 当用户卸载您的应用时,这些文件也会被移除。

其他实用方法

getFilesDir()
获取在其中存储内部文件的文件系统目录的绝对路径。
getDir()
在您的内部存储空间内创建(或打开现有的)目录。
deleteFile()
删除保存在内部存储的文件。
fileList()
返回您的应用当前保存的一系列文件。

使用外部存储

每个兼容 Android 的设备都支持可用于保存文件的共享“外部存储”。 该存储可能是可移除的存储介质(例如 SD 卡)或内部(不可移除)存储。 保存到外部存储的文件是全局可读取文件,而且,在计算机上启用 USB 大容量存储以传输文件后,可由用户修改这些文件。

注意:如果用户在计算机上装载了外部存储或移除了介质,则外部存储可能变为不可用状态,并且在您保存到外部存储的文件上没有实施任何安全性。 所有应用都能读取和写入放置在外部存储上的文件,并且用户可以移除这些文件。

使用作用域目录访问

在 Android 7.0 或更高版本中,如果您需要访问外部存储上的特定目录,请使用作用域目录访问。 作用域目录访问可简化您的应用访问标准外部存储目录(例如 Pictures 目录)的方式,并提供简单的权限 UI,清楚地详细介绍应用正在请求访问的目录。 有关作用域目录访问的更多详情,请参阅使用作用域目录访问

获取外部存储的访问权限

要读取或写入外部存储上的文件,您的应用必须获取 READ_EXTERNAL_STORAGEWRITE_EXTERNAL_STORAGE 系统权限。 例如:

<manifest ...>
    <uses-permission android:name="android.permission.WRITE_EXTERNAL_STORAGE" />
    ...
</manifest>

如果您同时需要读取和写入文件,则只需请求 WRITE_EXTERNAL_STORAGE 权限,因为此权限也隐含了读取权限要求。

:从 Android 4.4 开始,如果您仅仅读取或写入应用的私有文件,则不需要这些权限。 如需了解更多信息,请参阅下面有关保存应用私有文件的部分。

检查介质可用性

在使用外部存储执行任何工作之前,应始终调用 getExternalStorageState() 以检查介质是否可用。介质可能已装载到计算机,处于缺失、只读或其他某种状态。 例如,以下是可用于检查可用性的几种方法:

/* Checks if external storage is available for read and write */
public boolean isExternalStorageWritable() {
    String state = Environment.getExternalStorageState();
    if (Environment.MEDIA_MOUNTED.equals(state)) {
        return true;
    }
    return false;
}

/* Checks if external storage is available to at least read */
public boolean isExternalStorageReadable() {
    String state = Environment.getExternalStorageState();
    if (Environment.MEDIA_MOUNTED.equals(state) ||
        Environment.MEDIA_MOUNTED_READ_ONLY.equals(state)) {
        return true;
    }
    return false;
}

getExternalStorageState() 方法将返回您可能需要检查的其他状态(例如介质是否处于共享 [连接到计算]、完全缺失、错误移除等状态)。 当您的应用需要访问介质时,您可以使用这些状态向用户通知更多信息。

保存可与其他应用共享的文件

一般而言,应该将用户可通过您的应用获取的新文件保存到设备上的“公共”位置,以便其他应用能够在其中访问这些文件,并且用户也能轻松地从该设备复制这些文件。 执行此操作时,应使用共享的公共目录之一,例如 Music/Pictures/Ringtones/ 等。

要获取表示相应的公共目录的 File,请调用 getExternalStoragePublicDirectory(),向其传递您需要的目录类型,例如 DIRECTORY_MUSICDIRECTORY_PICTURESDIRECTORY_RINGTONES 或其他类型。通过将您的文件保存到相应的媒体类型目录,系统的媒体扫描程序可以在系统中正确地归类您的文件(例如铃声在系统设置中显示为铃声而不是音乐)。

例如,以下方法在公共图片目录中创建了一个用于新相册的目录:

public File getAlbumStorageDir(String albumName) {
    // Get the directory for the user's public pictures directory.
    File file = new File(Environment.getExternalStoragePublicDirectory(
            Environment.DIRECTORY_PICTURES), albumName);
    if (!file.mkdirs()) {
        Log.e(LOG_TAG, "Directory not created");
    }
    return file;
}

保存应用私有文件

如果您正在处理的文件不适合其他应用使用(例如仅供您的应用使用的图形纹理或音效),则应该通过调用 getExternalFilesDir() 来使用外部存储上的私有存储目录。此方法还会采用 type 参数指定子目录的类型(例如 DIRECTORY_MOVIES)。 如果您不需要特定的媒体目录,请传递 null 以接收应用私有目录的根目录。

从 Android 4.4 开始,读取或写入应用私有目录中的文件不再需要 READ_EXTERNAL_STORAGEWRITE_EXTERNAL_STORAGE 权限。 因此,您可以通过添加 maxSdkVersion 属性来声明,只能在较低版本的 Android 中请求该权限:

<manifest ...>
    <uses-permission android:name="android.permission.WRITE_EXTERNAL_STORAGE"
                     android:maxSdkVersion="18" />
    ...
</manifest>

:当用户卸载您的应用时,此目录及其内容将被删除。此外,系统媒体扫描程序不会读取这些目录中的文件,因此不能从 MediaStore 内容提供程序访问这些文件。 同样,不应将这些目录用于最终属于用户的媒体,例如使用您的应用拍摄或编辑的照片或用户使用您的应用购买的音乐等 — 这些文件应保存在公共目录中

有时,已分配某个内部存储器分区用作外部存储的设备可能还提供了 SD 卡槽。在使用运行 Android 4.3 和更低版本的这类设备时,getExternalFilesDir() 方法将仅提供内部分区的访问权限,而您的应用无法读取或写入 SD 卡。不过,从 Android 4.4 开始,可通过调用 getExternalFilesDirs() 来同时访问两个位置,该方法将会返回包含各个位置条目的 File 数组。 数组中的第一个条目被视为外部主存储;除非该位置已满或不可用,否则应该使用该位置。 如果您希望在支持 Android 4.3 和更低版本的同时访问两个可能的位置,请使用支持库中的静态方法 ContextCompat.getExternalFilesDirs()。 在 Android 4.3 和更低版本中,此方法也会返回一个 File 数组,但其中始终仅包含一个条目。

注意 尽管 MediaStore 内容提供程序不能访问 getExternalFilesDir()getExternalFilesDirs() 所提供的目录,但其他具有 READ_EXTERNAL_STORAGE 权限的应用仍可访问外部存储上的所有文件,包括上述文件。 如果您需要完全限制您的文件的访问权限,则应该转而将您的文件写入到内部存储

保存缓存文件

要打开表示应该将缓存文件保存到的外部存储目录的 File,请调用 getExternalCacheDir()。 如果用户卸载您的应用,这些文件也会被自动删除。

与前述 ContextCompat.getExternalFilesDirs() 相似,您也可以通过调用 ContextCompat.getExternalCacheDirs() 来访问辅助外部存储(如果可用)上的缓存目录。

提示:为节省文件空间并保持应用性能,您应该在应用的整个生命周期内仔细管理您的缓存文件并移除其中不再需要的文件,这一点非常重要。

使用数据库

Android 提供了对 SQLite 数据库的完全支持。应用中的任何类(不包括应用外部的类)均可按名称访问您所创建的任何数据库。

创建新 SQLite 数据库的推荐方法是创建 SQLiteOpenHelper 的子类并覆盖 onCreate() 方法,在此方法中,您可以执行 SQLite 命令以创建数据库中的表。 例如:

public class DictionaryOpenHelper extends SQLiteOpenHelper {

    private static final int DATABASE_VERSION = 2;
    private static final String DICTIONARY_TABLE_NAME = "dictionary";
    private static final String DICTIONARY_TABLE_CREATE =
                "CREATE TABLE " + DICTIONARY_TABLE_NAME + " (" +
                KEY_WORD + " TEXT, " +
                KEY_DEFINITION + " TEXT);";

    DictionaryOpenHelper(Context context) {
        super(context, DATABASE_NAME, null, DATABASE_VERSION);
    }

    @Override
    public void onCreate(SQLiteDatabase db) {
        db.execSQL(DICTIONARY_TABLE_CREATE);
    }
}

然后您可以使用已定义的构造函数获取 SQLiteOpenHelper 实现的实例。 要从数据库执行写入和读取操作,请分别调用 getWritableDatabase()getReadableDatabase()。二者都会返回一个表示数据库的 SQLiteDatabase 对象,并提供用于 SQLite 操作的方法。

您可以使用 SQLiteDatabase query() 方法来执行 SQLite 查询,这些方法可接受各种查询参数,例如要查询的表、投影、选择、列、分组和其他参数。 对于复杂的查询,例如需要列别名的查询,应该使用 SQLiteQueryBuilder,它将提供多种便捷的方法来构建查询。

每个 SQLite 查询都会返回一个指向该查询找到的所有行的 Cursor。 您始终可以使用 Cursor 机制来浏览数据库查询结果,以及读取行和列。

如需演示 Android 中的 SQLite 数据库使用方法的示例应用,请参阅 记事本可搜索字典应用。

数据库调试

Android SDK 包含一项 sqlite3 数据库工具,利用此工具可以浏览表内容,运行 SQL 命令,以及在 SQLite 数据库上执行其他实用功能。 请参阅从远程 shell 检查 sqlite3 数据库,了解如何运行此工具。

使用网络连接

您可以使用网络(如果可用)来存储和检索有关您自己的网络服务的数据。 要执行网络操作,请使用以下包中的类:

This site uses cookies to store your preferences for site-specific language and display options.

Hooray!

This class requires API level or higher

This doc is hidden because your selected API level for the documentation is . You can change the documentation API level with the selector above the left navigation.

For more information about specifying the API level your app requires, read Supporting Different Platform Versions.

Take a one-minute survey?
Help us improve Android tools and documentation.

to top

Storage Options

Storage quickview

  • Use Shared Preferences for primitive data
  • Use internal device storage for private data
  • Use external storage for large data sets that are not private
  • Use SQLite databases for structured storage

In this document

  1. Using Shared Preferences
  2. Using the Internal Storage
  3. Using the External Storage
  4. Using Databases
  5. Using a Network Connection

See also

  1. Content Providers and Content Resolvers

Android provides several options for you to save persistent application data. The solution you choose depends on your specific needs, such as whether the data should be private to your application or accessible to other applications (and the user) and how much space your data requires.

Your data storage options are the following:

Shared Preferences
Store private primitive data in key-value pairs.
Internal Storage
Store private data on the device memory.
External Storage
Store public data on the shared external storage.
SQLite Databases
Store structured data in a private database.
Network Connection
Store data on the web with your own network server.

Android provides a way for you to expose even your private data to other applications — with a content provider. A content provider is an optional component that exposes read/write access to your application data, subject to whatever restrictions you want to impose. For more information about using content providers, see the Content Providers documentation.

Using Shared Preferences

The SharedPreferences class provides a general framework that allows you to save and retrieve persistent key-value pairs of primitive data types. You can use SharedPreferences to save any primitive data: booleans, floats, ints, longs, and strings. This data will persist across user sessions (even if your application is killed).

To get a SharedPreferences object for your application, use one of two methods:

  • getSharedPreferences() - Use this if you need multiple preferences files identified by name, which you specify with the first parameter.
  • getPreferences() - Use this if you need only one preferences file for your Activity. Because this will be the only preferences file for your Activity, you don't supply a name.

To write values:

  1. Call edit() to get a SharedPreferences.Editor.
  2. Add values with methods such as putBoolean() and putString().
  3. Commit the new values with commit()

To read values, use SharedPreferences methods such as getBoolean() and getString().

Here is an example that saves a preference for silent keypress mode in a calculator:

public class Calc extends Activity {
    public static final String PREFS_NAME = "MyPrefsFile";

    @Override
    protected void onCreate(Bundle state){
       super.onCreate(state);
       . . .

       // Restore preferences
       SharedPreferences settings = getSharedPreferences(PREFS_NAME, 0);
       boolean silent = settings.getBoolean("silentMode", false);
       setSilent(silent);
    }

    @Override
    protected void onStop(){
       super.onStop();

      // We need an Editor object to make preference changes.
      // All objects are from android.context.Context
      SharedPreferences settings = getSharedPreferences(PREFS_NAME, 0);
      SharedPreferences.Editor editor = settings.edit();
      editor.putBoolean("silentMode", mSilentMode);

      // Commit the edits!
      editor.commit();
    }
}

Using the Internal Storage

You can save files directly on the device's internal storage. By default, files saved to the internal storage are private to your application and other applications cannot access them (nor can the user). When the user uninstalls your application, these files are removed.

To create and write a private file to the internal storage:

  1. Call openFileOutput() with the name of the file and the operating mode. This returns a FileOutputStream.
  2. Write to the file with write().
  3. Close the stream with close().

For example:

String FILENAME = "hello_file";
String string = "hello world!";

FileOutputStream fos = openFileOutput(FILENAME, Context.MODE_PRIVATE);
fos.write(string.getBytes());
fos.close();

MODE_PRIVATE will create the file (or replace a file of the same name) and make it private to your application. Other modes available are: MODE_APPEND, MODE_WORLD_READABLE, and MODE_WORLD_WRITEABLE.

To read a file from internal storage:

  1. Call openFileInput() and pass it the name of the file to read. This returns a FileInputStream.
  2. Read bytes from the file with read().
  3. Then close the stream with close().

Tip: If you want to save a static file in your application at compile time, save the file in your project res/raw/ directory. You can open it with openRawResource(), passing the R.raw.<filename> resource ID. This method returns an InputStream that you can use to read the file (but you cannot write to the original file).

Saving cache files

If you'd like to cache some data, rather than store it persistently, you should use getCacheDir() to open a File that represents the internal directory where your application should save temporary cache files.

When the device is low on internal storage space, Android may delete these cache files to recover space. However, you should not rely on the system to clean up these files for you. You should always maintain the cache files yourself and stay within a reasonable limit of space consumed, such as 1MB. When the user uninstalls your application, these files are removed.

Other useful methods

getFilesDir()
Gets the absolute path to the filesystem directory where your internal files are saved.
getDir()
Creates (or opens an existing) directory within your internal storage space.
deleteFile()
Deletes a file saved on the internal storage.
fileList()
Returns an array of files currently saved by your application.

Using the External Storage

Every Android-compatible device supports a shared "external storage" that you can use to save files. This can be a removable storage media (such as an SD card) or an internal (non-removable) storage. Files saved to the external storage are world-readable and can be modified by the user when they enable USB mass storage to transfer files on a computer.

Caution: External storage can become unavailable if the user mounts the external storage on a computer or removes the media, and there's no security enforced upon files you save to the external storage. All applications can read and write files placed on the external storage and the user can remove them.

Getting access to external storage

In order to read or write files on the external storage, your app must acquire the READ_EXTERNAL_STORAGE or WRITE_EXTERNAL_STORAGE system permissions. For example:

<manifest ...>
    <uses-permission android:name="android.permission.WRITE_EXTERNAL_STORAGE" />
    ...
</manifest>

If you need to both read and write files, then you need to request only the WRITE_EXTERNAL_STORAGE permission, because it implicitly requires read access as well.

Note: Beginning with Android 4.4, these permissions are not required if you're reading or writing only files that are private to your app. For more information, see the section below about saving files that are app-private.

Checking media availability

Before you do any work with the external storage, you should always call getExternalStorageState() to check whether the media is available. The media might be mounted to a computer, missing, read-only, or in some other state. For example, here are a couple methods you can use to check the availability:

/* Checks if external storage is available for read and write */
public boolean isExternalStorageWritable() {
    String state = Environment.getExternalStorageState();
    if (Environment.MEDIA_MOUNTED.equals(state)) {
        return true;
    }
    return false;
}

/* Checks if external storage is available to at least read */
public boolean isExternalStorageReadable() {
    String state = Environment.getExternalStorageState();
    if (Environment.MEDIA_MOUNTED.equals(state) ||
        Environment.MEDIA_MOUNTED_READ_ONLY.equals(state)) {
        return true;
    }
    return false;
}

The getExternalStorageState() method returns other states that you might want to check, such as whether the media is being shared (connected to a computer), is missing entirely, has been removed badly, etc. You can use these to notify the user with more information when your application needs to access the media.

Saving files that can be shared with other apps

Generally, new files that the user may acquire through your app should be saved to a "public" location on the device where other apps can access them and the user can easily copy them from the device. When doing so, you should use to one of the shared public directories, such as Music/, Pictures/, and Ringtones/.

To get a File representing the appropriate public directory, call getExternalStoragePublicDirectory(), passing it the type of directory you want, such as DIRECTORY_MUSIC, DIRECTORY_PICTURES, DIRECTORY_RINGTONES, or others. By saving your files to the corresponding media-type directory, the system's media scanner can properly categorize your files in the system (for instance, ringtones appear in system settings as ringtones, not as music).

For example, here's a method that creates a directory for a new photo album in the public pictures directory:

public File getAlbumStorageDir(String albumName) {
    // Get the directory for the user's public pictures directory.
    File file = new File(Environment.getExternalStoragePublicDirectory(
            Environment.DIRECTORY_PICTURES), albumName);
    if (!file.mkdirs()) {
        Log.e(LOG_TAG, "Directory not created");
    }
    return file;
}

Saving files that are app-private

If you are handling files that are not intended for other apps to use (such as graphic textures or sound effects used by only your app), you should use a private storage directory on the external storage by calling getExternalFilesDir(). This method also takes a type argument to specify the type of subdirectory (such as DIRECTORY_MOVIES). If you don't need a specific media directory, pass null to receive the root directory of your app's private directory.

Beginning with Android 4.4, reading or writing files in your app's private directories does not require the READ_EXTERNAL_STORAGE or WRITE_EXTERNAL_STORAGE permissions. So you can declare the permission should be requested only on the lower versions of Android by adding the maxSdkVersion attribute:

<manifest ...>
    <uses-permission android:name="android.permission.WRITE_EXTERNAL_STORAGE"
                     android:maxSdkVersion="18" />
    ...
</manifest>

Note: When the user uninstalls your application, this directory and all its contents are deleted. Also, the system media scanner does not read files in these directories, so they are not accessible from the MediaStore content provider. As such, you should not use these directories for media that ultimately belongs to the user, such as photos captured or edited with your app, or music the user has purchased with your app—those files should be saved in the public directories.

Sometimes, a device that has allocated a partition of the internal memory for use as the external storage may also offer an SD card slot. When such a device is running Android 4.3 and lower, the getExternalFilesDir() method provides access to only the internal partition and your app cannot read or write to the SD card. Beginning with Android 4.4, however, you can access both locations by calling getExternalFilesDirs(), which returns a File array with entries each location. The first entry in the array is considered the primary external storage and you should use that location unless it's full or unavailable. If you'd like to access both possible locations while also supporting Android 4.3 and lower, use the support library's static method, ContextCompat.getExternalFilesDirs(). This also returns a File array, but always includes only one entry on Android 4.3 and lower.

Caution Although the directories provided by getExternalFilesDir() and getExternalFilesDirs() are not accessible by the MediaStore content provider, other apps with the READ_EXTERNAL_STORAGE permission can access all files on the external storage, including these. If you need to completely restrict access for your files, you should instead write your files to the internal storage.

Saving cache files

To open a File that represents the external storage directory where you should save cache files, call getExternalCacheDir(). If the user uninstalls your application, these files will be automatically deleted.

Similar to ContextCompat.getExternalFilesDirs(), mentioned above, you can also access a cache directory on a secondary external storage (if available) by calling ContextCompat.getExternalCacheDirs().

Tip: To preserve file space and maintain your app's performance, it's important that you carefully manage your cache files and remove those that aren't needed anymore throughout your app's lifecycle.

Using Databases

Android provides full support for SQLite databases. Any databases you create will be accessible by name to any class in the application, but not outside the application.

The recommended method to create a new SQLite database is to create a subclass of SQLiteOpenHelper and override the onCreate() method, in which you can execute a SQLite command to create tables in the database. For example:

public class DictionaryOpenHelper extends SQLiteOpenHelper {

    private static final int DATABASE_VERSION = 2;
    private static final String DICTIONARY_TABLE_NAME = "dictionary";
    private static final String DICTIONARY_TABLE_CREATE =
                "CREATE TABLE " + DICTIONARY_TABLE_NAME + " (" +
                KEY_WORD + " TEXT, " +
                KEY_DEFINITION + " TEXT);";

    DictionaryOpenHelper(Context context) {
        super(context, DATABASE_NAME, null, DATABASE_VERSION);
    }

    @Override
    public void onCreate(SQLiteDatabase db) {
        db.execSQL(DICTIONARY_TABLE_CREATE);
    }
}

You can then get an instance of your SQLiteOpenHelper implementation using the constructor you've defined. To write to and read from the database, call getWritableDatabase() and getReadableDatabase(), respectively. These both return a SQLiteDatabase object that represents the database and provides methods for SQLite operations.

You can execute SQLite queries using the SQLiteDatabase query() methods, which accept various query parameters, such as the table to query, the projection, selection, columns, grouping, and others. For complex queries, such as those that require column aliases, you should use SQLiteQueryBuilder, which provides several convienent methods for building queries.

Every SQLite query will return a Cursor that points to all the rows found by the query. The Cursor is always the mechanism with which you can navigate results from a database query and read rows and columns.

For sample apps that demonstrate how to use SQLite databases in Android, see the Note Pad and Searchable Dictionary applications.

Database debugging

The Android SDK includes a sqlite3 database tool that allows you to browse table contents, run SQL commands, and perform other useful functions on SQLite databases. See Examining sqlite3 databases from a remote shell to learn how to run this tool.

Using a Network Connection

You can use the network (when it's available) to store and retrieve data on your own web-based services. To do network operations, use classes in the following packages: