判斷您的業務內容是否適合拆分

許多開發人員會將自身完整的網頁服務原封不動地搬到應用程式上,結果打造出過度複雜而臃腫的應用程式。其實,您可以將服務拆分為多個應用程式,為使用者建立專門獨立的進入點。

為何有效

雖然將服務拆分可以為使用者提供更符合需求的使用體驗,但也可能影響曝光率和轉換率;此外,管理多個應用程式也有其複雜度和要付出的成本,這些您都必須特別留意。如果您有多個應用程式,應該要依個別情況來決定拆分應用程式的策略:因為每個應用程式的用途和使用情境不盡相同,適合某個應用程式的做法很可能對另一個應用程式是行不通的。至於您的業務最適合什麼做法,最終還是必須由您決定。

要考量的因素

  • 應用程式的核心服務是什麼? 如果您的應用程式具備多面向的功能,那麼拆分將有助於簡化應用程式,讓使用者操作起來更輕鬆。不要根據產品發展藍圖定下拆分相關決策,因為發佈新功能不一定能吸引到使應用程式得以獨立發行的足夠支持者。
  • 應用程式是否有足夠多樣的用戶群能保證拆分策略的可行性? 您可以藉由拆分做法,針對特定族群打造專屬的應用程式體驗。
  • 使用者如何發掘應用程式? 對特定類別來說,鎖定特定的搜尋流量將有助於提高安裝轉換次數。分析應用程式使用者的轉換程序,以確認流量來源以及是否該以此做為決策考量的根據。
  • 貴機構的人手及資源是否充足? 確認貴機構有充足的人手來打造和維持多項應用程式。小型機構可能為頻寬限制所苦;大型機構如果沒有建置完善的產品管理系統,則可能面臨複雜的內部管理問題。確認您可以為新應用程式的行銷業務投入足夠的時間和金錢。
  • 測試和功能改版是您業務的重要環節嗎? 您可以藉由拆分做法輕鬆測試應用程式的新功能。這可能有助於某些大型應用程式的經常改版和即時更新,否則需要經過複雜的內部審核流程,而益增其難度。
  • 貴公司有必要維持鮮明的品牌形象嗎? 對一些經營有成的公司而言,維持鮮明的品牌形象是維護品牌價值的關鍵。
  • 邁向國際化是貴公司的首要工作嗎? 拆分做法有助降低安裝應用程式所需的空間及縮短載入時間,而這兩項要素關係著您能否在新興市場成功拓展業務。

Determine if unbundling makes sense for your business

  • Engage
  • Develop

Many developers replicate their full web experience to apps, resulting in overly complex, bloated apps. Unbundling into multiple apps provides a way to create specific, discrete entry points for users.

Why it works

For most developers, focusing on one app is the right approach and allows you to reach and engage the widest audience. For some large developers with enough resources, unbundling allows them to create tailored experiences, but they should be aware of the potential impact on discovery, conversion, and the complexity and cost of managing multiple apps. If you've multiple apps, an unbundling strategy should be determined for each app: what works for one app may not work for another, given each app's uses and context. Ultimately, you must decide on the best approach for your app and business.

Factors to consider

  • Are you trying to grow internationally? We launched the building for billions guidelines to help developers optimize their apps for people coming online for the first time around the world. By optimizing your existing APK, or by using Google Play's multiple APK feature, you can ensure you're offering the best app experience to people with devices running Android (Go edition) and other entry-level devices without needing to create two separate apps.
  • What is your app's core experience? If your app has multiple pieces of functionality, unbundling can help streamline the app and make it more intuitive for users. Don't let product roadmaps dictate decisions around unbundling. Just because you launch a new feature doesn't mean it will gain a large enough audience to survive as a stand-alone app.
  • Does your app have audiences that are distinct enough to warrant separation? Unbundling allows you to create customized app experiences for specific audiences.
  • How do people discover your app? For specific categories, niche Search traffic is instrumental to driving install conversion. Analyze your app's user conversion funnel to determine where your traffic comes from and whether this should influence your decision.
  • How is your organization staffed and resourced? Make sure you have enough people to build and maintain multiple apps. Small organizations may suffer bandwidth constraints, while larger organizations may face internal complexity if there's not a robust product management system in place. Ensure you can invest adequate time and money in marketing the new apps.
  • Is testing and feature iteration important for your business? Unbundling is an easy way to test new app features. This may help some large apps to achieve regular or timely iterations that might otherwise be difficult due to complex or time consuming internal approvals.
  • Is it important for your company to maintain distinct brands? For some established businesses, maintaining a distinct identity is important for brand equity.