Android Privacy Sandbox 開發人員預覽版隆重登場!瞭解如何開始使用,並繼續提供意見回饋

Android 版 Privacy Sandbox 簡介

提供意見

行動應用程式已成為人們生活中不可或缺的一環。Google Play 上目前有超過 90% 的應用程式都可免費使用,而且有數十億使用者透過這類應用程式存取重要的內容和服務。應用程式之所以可免費使用,關鍵就在於數位廣告。不過,為了確保應用程式生態系統健康,業界必須持續推動數位廣告運作模式轉型,才能進一步保護使用者隱私,進而達成使用者、開發人員和企業的多贏局面。

三年前,Google 宣布了 Privacy Sandbox 計畫,在網路上進一步保護使用者的隱私。而現在我們提議為 Android 導入 Privacy Sandbox,持續強化使用者隱私保護,讓使用者安心存取免費內容和服務。

我們希望能夠透過 Android 版 Privacy Sandbox 發展有效強化隱私權保護機制的廣告解決方案,除了讓使用者知道自己的隱私受到完善防護,同時也為開發人員和企業提供適當的工具,協助他們在行動裝置上達成目標。在設計、開發及測試這些新解決方案期間,我們打算繼續支援現有廣告平台功能 (包括廣告 ID) 至少兩年。未來如有任何異動,我們會事先發布重大公告。

為達成最終目標,Android 版 Privacy Sandbox 提議導入兩項重要解決方案:SDK 執行階段和一組隱私維護 API

SDK 執行階段

Android 平台採用應用程式沙箱的概念,確保應用程式程式碼能在程序邊界妥善執行,同時維持程式碼的安全性邊界。應用程式往往包含 SDK 形式 (例如廣告 SDK 或數據分析 SDK) 的第三方程式碼。透過重複使用現有第三方程式碼,應用程式開發人員將可專注為應用程式增添獨特性,同時利用各領域專家的心血結晶,這樣不僅能實現原本靠自己就能輕鬆達成的目標,還可讓應用程式更為出眾。

在 Android 中,SDK 會在主應用程式的沙箱中執行,並會沿用主應用程式的權限,還可存取主應用程式的記憶體和儲存空間。這個架構雖然讓 SDK 和應用程式能夠彈性整合,但也可能導致未揭露的使用者資料收集和分享行為。此外,應用程式開發人員未必充分瞭解第三方 SDK 的功能和所存取資料的規模,因而難以妥善規劃應用程式的資料收集和分享做法。

在 Android 13 中,我們打算新增一項平台功能,讓第三方 SDK 可在專屬執行階段環境中執行。SDK 執行階段具有經過修改的執行環境,以及定義完善的 SDK 權限和資料存取權,可在收集和分享使用者資料時提供更完善的防護和保證。

如要進一步瞭解 SDK 執行階段,請參閱設計提案

隱私維護 API

為了在不仰賴跨應用程式 ID 的情況下支援核心廣告使用情境,Android 版 Privacy Sandbox 提議導入一組 API,以更能保障隱私的方式進行廣告個人化和評估作業。

這些 API 結合各種技術來保護使用者隱私,例如保留經過選擇的私人資料並在裝置上進行處理、將資料進行匯總和隨機化處理,以及在裝置上選擇廣告等。為了確保相關做法和預期結果的一致性,這些 API 的設計與網頁版 Privacy Sandbox 的對應機制設計大致相符,但同時也將瀏覽器和應用程式技術的差異納入考量。

初始設計提案將涵蓋下列 3 個核心使用情境:

  • Topics 會根據使用者裝置上的應用程式,推斷出稱為「主題」的概略興趣信號。廣告 SDK 可將這些主題當做輸入內容,向相關使用者放送廣告。
  • Android 的 FLEDGE 導入新的廣告顯示方法:根據應用程式開發人員定義的「自訂目標對象」和應用程式內互動情形來放送廣告。這項解決方案會將這些資訊和相關聯的廣告儲存在本機,並提供一個工作流程架構,方便使用自動化調度管理方式選取廣告。
  • 歸因報表 可用於評估轉換、進行機器學習最佳化 (例如建構預測轉換率模型) 和偵測無效活動。

瞭解詳情及提供意見

SDK 執行階段和隱私維護 API 的開發作業將做為 Android 開放原始碼計畫的一部分進行,讓相關人員能充分瞭解這些解決方案的設計和實作方式。

在這個過程中,Android 將與整個業界及應用程式生態系統攜手合作,打造更注重隱私權、支援豐富多元價值交換的行動平台,讓使用者、開發人員和廣告客戶都能受惠。隨著 Android 版 Privacy Sandbox 不斷演進,我們也會經常提供最新消息,並確保整個生態系統能針對提案內容提供意見

Privacy Sandbox on Android Developer Preview is here! Learn how to get started, and continue to provide feedback.

Introduction to the Privacy Sandbox on Android

Provide feedback

Mobile apps have become a fundamental part of people's lives. Currently, over 90% of the apps on Google Play are free, providing access to valuable content and services to billions of users. Digital advertising plays a key role in making this possible. But in order to ensure a healthy app ecosystem — benefiting users, developers and businesses — the industry must continue to evolve how digital advertising works to improve user privacy.

Three years ago, Google announced the Privacy Sandbox initiative to help improve user privacy on the web. Our proposal is to bring the Privacy Sandbox to Android, providing a clear path forward to improve user privacy without putting access to free content and services at risk.

Our goal with the Privacy Sandbox on Android is to develop effective and privacy enhancing advertising solutions, where users know their privacy is protected, and developers and businesses have the tools to succeed on mobile. While we design, build and test these new solutions, we plan to support existing ads platform features—including advertising ID—for at least two years, and will provide substantial notice ahead of any future changes.

To achieve the end goal, the Privacy Sandbox on Android proposes to introduce two key solutions; an SDK Runtime and a set of privacy-preserving APIs.

SDK Runtime

The Android platform uses the concept of app sandboxing to maintain robust execution and security boundaries for app code, along process boundaries. It's a common practice for apps to include third party code in their apps, often in the form of SDKs such as ads SDKs or analytics SDKs. This reuse enables app developers to focus on their app's differentiation while leveraging the work of subject matter experts to scale their execution beyond what they could easily do on their own.

In Android, SDKs are executed within the host app's sandbox, and inherit the same privileges and permissions of their host app, as well as access to the host app's memory and storage. While this architecture enables SDKs and apps to flexibly integrate, it also creates the potential for undisclosed user data collection and sharing. Moreover, app developers may not be fully aware of the extent of a third party SDK's functionality and the data it accesses -- making it challenging to account for the data collection and sharing practices of their app.

In Android 13, we plan to add a new platform capability where third-party SDKs can run in a dedicated runtime environment. The SDK Runtime would have a modified execution environment and well-defined permissions and data access rights for SDKs, providing stronger safeguards and guarantees around user data collection and sharing.

Learn more about the SDK Runtime in the design proposal.

Privacy-preserving APIs

In order to support core advertising use cases without reliance on cross-app identifiers, the Privacy Sandbox on Android proposes a set of APIs that enable ads personalization and measurement in a more private way.

These APIs protect user privacy through a combination of techniques such as retaining selected private data and processing on-device, aggregation and randomizing of data, and on-device ad selection. These API designs align closely with the corresponding efforts by the Privacy Sandbox for the Web to ensure consistency in the approach and the desired outcome, while taking into account the differences in browser and app technologies.

The initial design proposals will include 3 core use cases:

  • Topics infers coarse-grained interest signals, called topics, based on the apps on a user's device. Advertising SDKs may use these topics as an input to serve ads to relevant users.
  • FLEDGE on Android introduces a new way to show ads based on "custom audiences" defined by app developers and the interactions within their app. The solution stores this information and associated ads locally, and provides a framework to orchestrate ad selection workflows.
  • Attribution Reporting supports the measurement of conversions, machine learning optimization use cases like predicted conversion-rate model building, and invalid activity detection.

Learn more and share feedback

The SDK Runtime and Privacy-Preserving APIs will be developed as part of the Android Open Source Project, providing transparency into the design and implementation of these solutions.

Android will collaborate with the entire industry and app ecosystem on the journey to a more privacy-first mobile platform, and one which supports a rich diversity of value-exchange that benefits users, developers, and advertisers. As the Privacy Sandbox on Android evolves, we will ensure that frequent updates are provided and the entire ecosystem will be able to provide feedback on the proposals.