Privacy Sandbox on Android 开发者预览版现已推出!了解如何开始使用,并继续提供反馈

归因报告:跨应用和跨网站衡量

使用集合让一切井井有条 根据您的偏好保存内容并对其进行分类。

提供反馈

Attribution Reporting API 设计方案所述,该 API 支持在一部 Android 设备上对以下触发器路径进行归因:

  • 从应用到应用:用户在某个应用中看到广告,然后在该应用或已安装的其他应用中完成转化。
  • 从应用到网站:用户在某个应用中看到广告,然后在移动浏览器或应用浏览器中完成转化。
  • 从网站到应用:用户在某个移动浏览器或应用浏览器中看到广告,然后在应用中完成转化。
  • 从网站到网站:用户在某个移动浏览器或应用浏览器中看到广告,然后在同一设备上的同一浏览器或其他浏览器中完成转化。

此处的网站是指应用中显示的网站内容。网站内容可以显示在移动浏览器应用的上下文中,也可以作为嵌入式网站显示在非浏览器应用中。

上述触发器路径可转换为以下要求:

  • 对于 AdTech:更新 API 调用和报告以支持应用到网站路径
  • 对于应用和浏览器:可将网站归因来源和网站触发器的注册传递给 Android

本文档将介绍如何扩展 Attribution Reporting API 以支持应用到网站、网站到应用和网站到网站触发器路径。此外,本文档还将介绍 AdTech 和应用需要做出哪些更改才能满足支持这些触发器路径的要求。

针对 AdTech 的变更

注册 AdTech

AdTech 需要注册才能使用 Attribution Reporting API。注册流程的细节仍在开发中,欢迎您提供反馈。

注册流程最终确定后,如果收到未注册的注册调用,则 API 将舍弃注册。

在注册时,广告技术平台应确保将所有可能用于跨应用和跨网站注册归因来源和触发器的服务器网址纳入到注册流程中。系统支持多个服务器注册网址,但仅支持一个报告来源。此报告来源来自其中一个服务器注册网址的网域。

针对注册和归因的变更

注册归因来源时,AdTech 目前会指定一个目标位置字段,即发生触发器事件的应用软件包的名称。为了实现应用到网站衡量,我们计划支持一个应用目标位置字段(应用软件包名称)和一个网站目标位置字段 (eTLD+1)。

注册网站归因来源或触发器时,API 不支持重定向,因为每个托管网站内容的应用都可以拥有自己的权限模型。每个应用负责跟踪重定向(如果支持),并为每个重定向跳转调用网站上下文 API

此外,这种集成可让 AdTech 在网站归因来源中使用应用专有归因逻辑。例如,您现在可以在网站归因来源中指定安装后归因回溯期。

接收应用和网站报告

Android Attribution Reporting API 可以发送针对应用转化和网站转化的报告。如果 AdTech 不希望跨网站和应用途径保持一致的触发器数据和汇总键/值,可以使用这些报告来区分网站转化和应用转化:

  • 对于事件级报告,我们将支持通过一个目标位置字段来指定触发器发生在网站上(目标位置为 eTLD+1)还是发生在应用上(目标位置为应用软件包名称)
  • 对于可聚合报告,目标位置将以明文形式发送。

网站到网站衡量的影响

应用会选择何时将注册传递给 Attribution Reporting API。下面是一些注意事项:

  • Attribution Reporting API 是否可以在该设备上使用?我们将向应用公开一个新信号,它将返回该设备上是否可以使用 Attribution Reporting API 的信息。请参阅“应用变更”部分,详细了解应用如何将注册传递给 Attribution Reporting API。
  • 应将归因来源和触发器的哪个部分传递给 API?这将由每个应用或 AdTech(如果应用允许)决定。如果应用有自己的效果衡量解决方案,可以考虑改用该解决方案。最后,将所有来源和触发器注册传递给 Android Attribution Reporting API(如果可用)有助于跨应用和跨网站实现最准确的归因。

以下示例展示了浏览器应用如何协同 Attribution Reporting API 提供准确的衡量结果(无论用户在浏览器应用中点击广告还是在非浏览器应用中点击广告):

3 天内的用户点击和转化示例
图 1. 跨浏览器和跨应用的来源和触发器注册示例
  • 第 1 天,用户在浏览器应用中点击了某广告。
    • 浏览器应用可以选择使用自己的效果衡量解决方案,或将网站广告点击的注册传递给 Attribution Reporting API。
  • 第 2 天,用户在非浏览器应用中点击了某广告。
    • 通过 API 将该点击注册为归因来源。浏览器应用无法看到此点击,因为事件发生在其他应用中。
  • 第 3 天,用户在浏览器应用中完成转化。
    • 如果浏览器应用使用自己的效果衡量解决方案注册点击和转化,并将该信息传递给 Attribution Reporting API,那么 AdTech 不太可能跨效果衡量解决方案删除重复的转化报告。此外,AdTech 可能既使用浏览器应用速率限制又使用 Attribution Reporting API 速率限制。因此,我们的建议是,如果 API 可用,应用应传递所有广告事件和转化以在该 API 上注册。

针对应用的变更

我们将支持跨应用和网站途径进行归因,具体方法是允许应用使用一组新的网站上下文 API 调用,将网站归因来源和网站触发器的注册传递给 Android 上的 Attribution Reporting API。

完成下面几部分中的注册步骤后,应用/网站归因来源和触发器会存储在设备上,且 Attribution Reporting API 可以跨应用和网站途径执行来源优先的最终接触归因。

如需查看有关浏览器如何与 Android Attribution Reporting API 集成以实现跨应用和跨网站衡量的示例,请参阅 Privacy Sandbox for the Web 的方案。在该方案中,浏览器将添加以下请求标头:

  • Attribution-Reporting-Eligible 用于广播是否提供对归因的操作系统级支持。在本用例中,该标头指示 Android Attribution Reporting API 是否可用。
  • 如果可用,AdTech 可以选择性地使用 Attribution-Reporting-Register-OS-Source 进行响应,从浏览器应用发起对 registerWebSource() 的二次 API 调用。
  • AdTech 还可以使用 Attribution-Reporting-Register-OS-Trigger 标头对触发器注册进行响应,从浏览器应用发起对 registerWebTrigger() 的二次 API 调用。

归因来源注册

注册归因来源时,应用可以调用 registerWebSource(),这需要以下参数:

  • 归因来源 URI:平台会向此列表中的每个 URI 发出请求,以提取与归因来源相关联的元数据。

    每个 URI 都应随附一个布尔值 Debug 标志,用于指明是否应将 AdTech 提供的调试密钥纳入报告中。

  • 输入事件InputEvent 对象(如果是点击事件)或 null(如果是查看事件)

  • 来源位置:来源的发生位置(发布商网站)。

  • 操作系统目标位置:发生触发器事件的应用软件包名称。

  • 网站目标位置:发生触发器事件的 eTLD+1。

  • 已验证目标位置:用于在用户点击时进行导航的操作系统或网站目标位置 URI/intent。

当该 API 向归因来源 URI 发出请求时,AdTech 应使用 HTTP 标头 Attribution-Reporting-Register-Source 返回归因来源元数据进行响应。此标头使用与应用到应用归因来源注册相同的字段,但有一些更改:

  • 该 API 会根据应用指定的目标位置来验证 AdTech 指定的目标位置。如果这两个目标位置不同,该 API 会舍弃归因来源注册。

    应用应在调用网站上下文 API 之前验证网站目标位置。对于点击,应用应检查指定的目标位置是否与用户导航到的目标位置相一致。

  • 该 API 会忽略 Attribution-Reporting-Redirects 中提供的任何重定向 URI。应用应自行跟踪重定向,并为每个重定向调用 registerWebSource(),以便可以根据需要应用自己的权限政策。

触发器(转化)注册

对于触发器注册,应用可以调用 registerWebTrigger(),这需要以下参数:

  • 触发器 URI:平台会向此列表中的每个 URI 发出请求,以提取与触发器相关联的元数据
  • 目标位置:触发器的发生位置(广告客户网站)

隐私权和安全注意事项

对应用于报告的隐私保护机制的影响

如主要设计方案所述,API 对报告应用了隐私保护速率限制。一些限制将划分到源应用和目标应用中。注册网站归因来源或触发器时,速率限制将按源网站或目标网站(而非应用)划分。

如果应用使用单独的速率限制,则除了 API 的速率限制以外,攻击者还可以占用应用专有的速率限制。为缓解此问题,应用应确保未同时在应用的效果衡量解决方案和 Android Attribution Reporting API 中注册特定的归因来源。

建立网站上下文信任

在网站上下文 API 调用中,API 会信任应用以检测和指定源位置和目标位置。这可能会涉及隐私权和安全性方面的潜在注意事项:

  • 攻击者可以声称托管其自有网站,以尝试绕过任何针对来源可以传输的信息量的速率限制
  • 多个攻击者可以相互协作来分别注册各自的归因来源,并同时声明同一个来源网站。这可能会导致来源网站达到广告技术平台速率限制,并阻止实际来源网站注册合法的归因来源。

我们正在考虑缓解这些问题。一种方式是限制哪些浏览器或应用可以调用针对浏览器或应用的 registerWebSource() 以证明注册中使用的来源网站即为向用户显示的实际网站。我们还在研究用于验证网站内容的技术解决方案。欢迎您提供相关反馈,包括具体用例以及哪些类型的应用需要调用 registerWebSource()

任何应用都可以调用 registerWebTrigger(),因为如果没有来源端冲突,则触发器端的隐私权和安全注意事项将不适用。

用户控制功能

只要可以在注册时定义用户控制功能或权限政策,应用就可以继续支持这些用户控制功能或权限政策。例如,如果应用允许任何网站级或用户级权限,则应评估这些权限并确定是否调用网站上下文 API。

此外,我们将支持来自应用的新 API 调用,以删除设备上为该应用存储的所有归因来源、触发器和待处理报告。例如,如果应用允许用户清除浏览记录,则用户可能希望调用 API 来删除用户设备上为该应用存储的归因来源、触发器和待处理报告。

未来的注意事项和待解决的问题

Attribution Reporting API 的应用到网站互操作性正在开发中。我们希望就以下几个想法向社区征求反馈:

  1. 在支持 Android Privacy Sandbox 的设备上,您将如何结合使用浏览器衡量解决方案与 Attribution Reporting API?您更倾向于将所有信息都传递给 Android 吗?
  2. 对于应用和网站流量,方案中的速率限制是否合理?
  3. 对于每个归因来源和触发器,都可能会收到 2 个 ping(一个来自浏览器/应用,另一个来自 Attribution Reporting),是否存在任何顾虑?
  4. 您是否希望为 Android API 注册提供不同的服务器端点(相对于浏览器/应用 API 注册)?
  5. 我们可以如何帮助您更轻松地跨不同 API 进行调试?
  6. 此方案目前未包含与应用和网站目标位置相关联的验证。未来,我们或许可以使用 Digital Asset Links 来检查关联以验证这些目标位置。这会阻止您的任何用例吗?使用 Digital Asset Links 执行此验证是否合理?
  7. 对于浏览器/应用,如果您希望注册网站展示或与 Android Privacy Sandbox Attribution Reporting API 进行任何其他集成,请与我们联系
  8. 注册归因来源时,必须指定一个目标位置。在“网站到应用”用例中,您可能需要指定应用链接。您会使用什么格式来指定此应用链接?
  9. 在注册应用到网站归因来源时,需要使用 Android Attribution Reporting API 从应用注册该来源事件。例如,如果用户在应用中点击某条广告,然后在浏览器或浏览器的自定义标签页中打开点击的广告,那么应在应用中(而不是在浏览器上下文中)注册点击(来源事件)。如果您对此有疑虑,或者有其他用例不属于描述受支持流程的此问题所涵盖的类别,请与我们联系。

Privacy Sandbox on Android Developer Preview is here! Learn how to get started, and continue to provide feedback.

Attribution reporting: cross app and web measurement

Stay organized with collections Save and categorize content based on your preferences.

Provide feedback

As described in the Attribution Reporting API design proposal, the API enables attribution of the following trigger paths on a single Android device:

  • App-to-app: The user sees an ad in an app, then converts in either that app or another installed app.
  • App-to-web: The user sees an ad in an app, then converts in a mobile or app browser.
  • Web-to-app: The user sees an ad in a mobile or app browser, then converts in an app.
  • Web-to-web: The user sees an ad in a mobile or app browser, then converts in either the same browser or another browser on the same device.

Web here is defined as web content shown in an app. Web content can be shown in the context of a mobile browser app or as embedded websites shown in non-browser apps.

The above trigger paths translate to the following requirements:

  • For adtechs: updates to API calls and reporting to enable app-to-web paths
  • For apps and browsers: ability to pass registration of web attribution sources and web triggers to Android

This document explains how the Attribution Reporting API is extended to support app-to-web, web-to-app, and web-to-web trigger paths. It also describes the changes that adtechs and apps need to make to satisfy the requirements for supporting these trigger paths.

Changes for adtechs

Adtech enrollment

Adtechs will need to enroll to use the Attribution Reporting API. The details of the enrollment process are still in development, and we welcome your feedback.

Once the enrollment process is finalized, the API will discard the registration if an unenrolled registration call is received.

When enrolling, ad tech platforms should ensure they are enrolling with all the server URLs that they might use across app and web to register attribution sources and triggers. Multiple server registration URLs are supported, but only one reporting origin is supported. This reporting origin is derived from the domain of one of the server registration URLs.

Changes to registration & attribution

When registering an attribution source, adtechs currently specify a destination field which is the app package name where the trigger event occurs. To enable app-to-web measurement, we plan to support one app destination field (app package name) and one web destination field (eTLD+1).

When registering web attribution sources or triggers, the API does not support redirects because each app hosting web content could have its own permissions model. Each app is responsible for following redirects (if supported) and calling the web context APIs for each redirect hop.

Additionally, this integration enables adtechs to use app-specific attribution logic on web attribution sources. For example, you can now specify post-install attribution windows on a web attribution source.

Receiving app and web reports

The Android Attribution Reporting API can send reports for both app and web conversions. If adtechs do not wish to align trigger data and aggregation keys/values across web and app surfaces, they can differentiate between a web and an app conversion:

  • For event-level reports, we will support a destination field that specifies whether the trigger happened on web (destination is a eTLD+1) or app (destination is an app package name)
  • For aggregatable reports, the destination will be sent in cleartext.

Web-to-web measurement implications

Apps choose when to pass registration to the Attribution Reporting API. There are several considerations here:

  • Is the Attribution Reporting API available on that device? We will expose a new signal to apps which returns whether the Attribution Reporting API is available on that device. See the app changes section for more details on how apps can pass registration to the Attribution Reporting API.
  • What portion of attribution sources and triggers should be passed to the API? This will be a decision made by each app, or the adtech if the app permits a choice. If the app has their own measurement solution, they may want to consider using that instead. Ultimately, passing all source and trigger registrations to the Android Attribution Reporting API, when available, enables the most accurate attribution across app and web.

The following example shows how browser apps can work with the Attribution Reporting API to provide accurate measurement when the user clicks on an ad in both a browser app and a non-browser app:

Examples of user clicks and conversions over a 3-day period
Figure 1. Example of source and trigger registration across a browser and an app
  • On day 1, the user clicks on an ad in the browser app.
    • The browser app can choose to use their own measurement solution or pass registration of the web ad click to the Attribution Reporting API.
  • On day 2, the user clicks on an ad in a non-browser app.
    • The click is registered as an attribution source with the API. The browser app has no visibility into this click because the event occurred within a different app.
  • On day 3, the user converts in the browser app.
    • If the browser app both registers the click and conversion using their own measurement solution and passes that information to the Attribution Reporting API, it's unlikely that an adtech can deduplicate conversion reports across measurement solutions. Additionally, an adtech could consume both the browser app rate limits and the Attribution Reporting API rate limits. Therefore, we recommend that apps pass all ad events and conversions to be registered on the API, when the API is available.

Changes for apps

We will support attribution across app and web surfaces by allowing apps to pass registration of web attribution sources and web triggers to the Attribution Reporting API on Android using a new set of web context API calls.

After completing the registration steps in the following sections, app and web attribution sources and triggers are stored on the device, and the Attribution Reporting API can perform source-prioritized, last-touch attribution across app and web surfaces.

See Privacy Sandbox for the Web's proposal for an example of how browsers can integrate with Android's Attribution Reporting API to enable cross app and web measurement. In the proposal, the browser will add the following request headers:

  • Attribution-Reporting-Eligible broadcasts whether OS-level support for attribution is available. In this case, the header indicates whether Android's Attribution Reporting API is available.
  • If available, adtechs can optionally respond using Attribution-Reporting-Register-OS-Source, which initiates a secondary API call from the browser app to registerWebSource().
  • Adtechs can also respond to trigger registrations using the Attribution-Reporting-Register-OS-Trigger header, which initiates a secondary API call from the browser app to registerWebTrigger().

Attribution source registration

When registering an attribution source, apps can call registerWebSource(), which expects the following parameters:

  • Attribution source URIs: The platform issues a request to each URI in this list in order to fetch metadata associated with the attribution source.

    Each URI should accompany a boolean Debug flag to indicate if the debug keys provided by the adtechs should be included in the report or not.

  • Input event: Either an InputEvent object (for a click event) or null (for a view event)

  • Source origin: Origin on which the source occurred (publisher website).

  • OS destination: An app package name where the trigger event happens.

  • Web destination: An eTLD+1 where the trigger event happens.

  • Verified destination: OS or web destination URI/Intent which was used for navigation on user click.

When the API makes a request to the Attribution Source URI, the adtech should respond with the attribution source metadata in an HTTP header, Attribution-Reporting-Register-Source. This header uses the same fields as app-to-app attribution source registration, with a few changes:

  • The API validates the destination(s) specified by the adtech with the destination(s) specified by the app. If destinations are different, the API discards the attribution source registration.

    Apps are expected to validate web destinations before calling the web context API. For clicks, apps should check that the destination specified matches the destination to which the user is navigating.

  • The API ignores any redirect URIs provided in Attribution-Reporting-Redirects. Apps should follow redirects on their own and call registerWebSource() for each redirect, so that they can apply their own permissions policies as needed.

Trigger (conversion) registration

On trigger registration, apps can call registerWebTrigger(), which expects the following parameters:

  • Trigger URIs: The platform issues a request to each URI in this list in order to fetch metadata associated with the trigger
  • Destination origin: Origin on which the trigger occurred (advertiser website)

Privacy and security considerations

Impact on privacy-preserving mechanisms applied to reports

As described in the main design proposal, the API applies privacy-preserving rate limits to reports. Some limits are partitioned across source and destination apps. When a web attribution source or trigger is registered, the rate limit is partitioned by the source or destination site instead of the app.

If the app maintains separate rate limits, it would be possible for an adversary to consume app-specific rate limits in addition to the API's rate limits. To mitigate this, apps should ensure that a given attribution source isn't registered on both the app's measurement solution and the Android Attribution Reporting API.

Establishing trust for web context

In the web context API calls, the API places trust in the app to detect and specify the source and destination origins. This can open up potential privacy and security considerations:

  • An adversary can claim to be hosting websites it owns in an attempt to bypass rate limits around the amount of information any source can transfer.
  • Multiple adversaries can collude to register separate attribution sources, claiming the same source site. This could cause the source site to hit ad tech platform rate limits and prevent the actual source site from registering legitimate attribution sources.

We are considering mitigations for these situations. One option would be to limit which browsers or apps can call registerWebSource() to browsers or apps that attest that the source site used in registration represents the actual site being shown to the user. We are also looking into technical solutions to validate web content. We welcome your feedback on use cases and which types of apps need to call registerWebSource().

Any app could call registerWebTrigger() because the privacy and security considerations on the trigger side aren't applicable without source-side collusion.

User controls

Apps can continue to support user controls or permissions policies as long as they can be defined at registration time. For example, if apps allow any site-level or user-level permissions, the app should evaluate those and determine whether to call the web context APIs.

Additionally, we will support a new API call from apps to delete any attribution sources, triggers, and pending reports stored for that app on the device. For example, if apps allow the user to clear their browsing history, they may want to call the API to delete attribution sources, triggers, and pending reports stored for that app on the user's device.

Future considerations & open questions

The app-to-web interoperability for the Attribution Reporting API is a work in progress. We'd like to seek feedback from the community on a few ideas:

  1. On an Android Privacy Sandbox supported device, how will you use browser measurement solutions with the Android Attribution Reporting API? Will you prefer to pass everything to Android?
  2. Are the proposed rate limits reasonable for app and web traffic?
  3. Are there any concerns with potentially receiving 2 pings for each attribution source and trigger, one from the browser/app and one from the Attribution Reporting API?
  4. Will you want to provide a different server endpoint for Android API registrations (versus browser/app API registrations)?
  5. How can we help make debugging across different APIs easier for you?
  6. The proposal currently does not include validation that app and web destinations are affiliated. In the future, we may be able to validate these destinations by checking associations using Digital Asset Links. Would that block any of your use cases? Does it make sense to use Digital Asset Links to do this validation?
  7. For browsers/apps, please reach out if you would be interested in registering web impressions, or any other integrations with the Android Privacy Sandbox Attribution Reporting API.
  8. When registering an attribution source, you must specify a destination. In the web-to-app case, you may want to specify an app link. What formats will you use to specify this app link?
  9. When registering an app-to-web attribution source, that source event would need to be registered from the app with the Android Attribution Reporting API. For example, if the user clicks on an ad and the click is opened in a browser or a browser’s custom tab, that click (source event) should be registered from the app rather than in the browser context. Please reach out if you have concerns about this, or if there are other use cases that don't fall into the categories covered in this issue describing supported flows.